We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mukima House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nanyuki Town
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Joskaki Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Maxoil Hotel(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Maiyan(Nanyuki Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberdare Country Club(Aberdare National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
34
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat place to staystaff are extremely friendlymount kenyaamazing placebeautiful propertystunning viewsdambirdsgrounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This house is something so unexpected and beautiful. The building itself is so stunning and the rustic wood and beautifully finished rooms blow your mind. The size and space of the house makes it such a wonderful place just to explore and think. In the main bedroom get up early to watch the sun rise over MT. Kenya and see the wildlife starting their days on the lawn in front of the beautiful lake. After your amazing breakfast and fresh coffee you can lounge by the pool of start your safari in any of the many parks surrounding this house.
I could go on and on about this amazing place - the people are friendly, the service excellent, the house exquisite. I am so blessed to have stayed here and experienced this wonderful place. COULD NOT RECOMMEND MORE!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hough00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MukimaHouse, Manager at Mukima House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review of the house, we hope to have you back there soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

What a beautiful, relaxing, luxurious spot! I highly recommend staying here. The food was delicious, the service was top notch. This is a wonderful place to stay. The property manager was really helpful in booking excursions for us and made good recommendations.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. Try to stay in a room with a view of Mount Kenya!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are happy that you had such a wonderful time at Mukima House, we love hearing from you! Thank you and see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What a perfect place! The ever shifting views of Mount Kenya, the beautiful house, the friendly and efficient staff and the excellent food. Pool and sauna. Safari opportunities within an easy drive. This is not one of those everyday toked up tourist places, but the true Out of Africa experience! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tetranomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MukimaHouse, Public Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

An Out of Africa experience - we love it! Thank you for such a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed up in Mukima for a wedding and had the most fabulous time. Such a beautiful spot with a gorgeous view of the mountain, chattering birds to keep us company in the garden and even a friendly buffalo to prop ourselves up against during the reception! The authenticity of the original building is still apparent but kept alive with fresh design. A great place to chill, have a party or use as a base to explore what the Northern parts of Kenya have to offer.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MukimaHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you Jessie for your lovely review - we are so grateful and happy you had a nice time at Mukima House! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were at Mukima House for a wedding just before Christmas. The setting is absolutely beautiful; gardens with a striking yellow fever tree, the dam beyond and on a fine day amazing views of Mount Kenya in the distance. We stayed in one of the beautifully presented Ridge Houses and were so well looked after. Mukima is a wonderful place for a wedding; the ceremony held in the garden overlooking the dam, with the wedding breakfast under a beautiful awning attached to the house, all decorated with fantastic local flowers and amazingly colourful fabrics made this occasion quite unforgettable! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food delicious! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MukimaHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Mukima House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your great review - it seems like you are back there in your head already! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews