We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature and guides as friends!!”
Review of Porini Rhino Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Rhino Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Lyngør
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to nature and guides as friends!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

On the safari we had this Sep/Oct. we stayed at 3 camps: Porini Rhino, Lewa Safari and Saruni Samburu. As the 3 are very different there is no real way of comparing them; instead one has to find out which type of camp suits your safari style.
We are looking for "close to nature", "real tented camps", "guides that know their terrain and wildlife" and "puts their guest in the forefront, knowing about photo angles and light conditions".
ALL THIS WE FOUND AT THIS CAMP!! Daniel and Emanuel became close friends, and David with his staff assured that all functioned PERFECTLY!!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All equal tents, we like to be close to the open fields so view of game is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doktorhuset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
90
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Made reservations through Sally online in the UK from NZ - she is great! no hassle to get anything organised.
The camp and people who worked there were fantastic! Friendly, great service - David runs a great camp
Tents are really comfortable - wildlife at your door
Driver/guides Mike and Benjamin made the trip wonderful - went out of their way to show us as many animals as possible and had an awesome knowledge base.
Great meals and a campfire each night
Really RECOMMEND this for a great experience
A waterhole just in front of the camp had wildlife galore and on arrival 5 giraffes showed up!
AWESOME

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacs10Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our safari reservations were made directly through the Porini Website. We thank Robyn who responded to all our queries promptly and efficiently and for helping us with all the safari arrangements.

We visited the Porini Amboseli, Rhino and Lion Camps in the first week of June 2013 - just before the peak season of the Northern American and European summer holidays (but the animals did not know the holidays had not begun!). We had a wonderful time at all the Porini Camps. The staff and managers at all the Camps were friendly, courteous and ever ready to make us comfortable. All gamedrives were in open-sided Four-wheel drives (Toyota Landcruisers and Land Rovers) which afforded unobstructed views and easy photography.

Keep in mind that these are tented camps located in conservancies. As such the conservation of the environment is of paramount importance. The Camp Managers all pointed out that the camps will not leave behind any “footprint” if the camps were moved or removed. There is minimum impact on the natural animal habit by human presence. So, don’t go looking for TVs, spas, swimming pools and discos!

Each Camp has only a small number of tents and can accommodate only a few guests at a time. The beds in the tent were very comfortable. Each tent included a flush toilet and shower (hot water for the “bucket shower” is readily available on request). To our surprise, we had no problem having a complete and cleansing shower in 20 litres of hot water, after a day of game-watching. The meals were excellent, and the camps provided packed lunches whenever the game-drives went over lunchtime. The Camp Managers were very helpful and attentive. They provided the facility to charge camera batteries overnight.

The guide and driver were great. They were eager to locate as many animals as they could and they were very knowledgeable too. They were very alert to our need to take photos and wait patiently until everyone agrees to “sava-sava” and continue on the game-drive. The guides/drivers were also very conscious of the need to make periodic toilet breaks so that there never was a need to ask!

All of the “Big Five” (elephant, buffalo, lion, rhino and leopard) are here in addition to zebra, wildebeest, impala, gazelle, hartebeest, waterbuck, wildebeest, topi and giraffe.

We had many sightings of the endangered black rhino. An added bonus was the visit to the Ol Pejeta Rhino Sanctuary, where we got to see the critically endangered (extinct in the wild) Northern White Rhino (as opposed to the more common Southern White Rhino). We now know that the difference between a “White” and “Black” Rhino is not their colour! We were also able to feed the blind black rhino Baraka roaming in his own 140 acres of the Sanctuary, and talk to his very caring and loving keeper, Mohammed.
A big THANK YOU to David (Camp Manager), Michael and Benjamin (our spotter and driver) for a great time at the Porini Rhino Camp.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LloydP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family of 10(adults,kids & grand kids) spent 2 nights here and it was truly a memorable experience. Camp director Davis and his staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.
Little John was a very knowledgeable guide and knew where and when to find the best viewing experience. This was not a warm weather camp. Make sure you have a fleece or jacket. The staff will provide ponchos for the game drives. The hot water bottles in your were a neat extra.
The food was super;not an easy chore when you have picky kids,gluten free adults & vegetarians.
I loved the location for the fire pit right in front of the lodge tent. We had a fun time sharing game drive stories with the other campers. The tents were very comfortable with plenty of space. The showers were a neat cultural experience(did have plenty of hot water). What a neat safari experience!!
Hal McKay
Richardson,Tx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalRichardson_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Porini Rhino Camp was our first stop in our 9 days safari and it stood out in comparison with the other two accommodations in terms of everything: Great location, decent food, very proper service, comfortable tents with nice decor and etc.,(You might find details in the other ones' reviews) All were just perfect and I'm still missing them. But what I'm missing most is the people there, they are no doubt the greatest assets of Porini and one of the most wonderful team I've ever met. I wish it was the final stop to give our holiday a perfect ending, but now I have a good excuse to be back again.

David the camp manager arranged everything for us perfectly. One night I went to the manager's office to charge my camera, I had a chance to see David drawing a table in the paper with pen and rulers, filling safari and other arrangements details of each tent for the following day, carefully focused. Somehow I knew the reason why this camp had been managed so well.

Daniel and Emmanuel are not only our highly knowledgeable guides but also our English teachers. I barely knew anything about safari before I came (shame!), even not knowing the English for very common animals. (My friends were somewhat worse, they asked for the tigers.) Daniel and Emmanuel had been very patient to us. After 3 days safari with them, I could name most of the animals with a Chinese+Maasai accent. (And my friends knew they should go to India for tigers!) Thank you Daniel for being such an attentive, knowledgeable and professional guide, cool and fun too! Thank you Emmanuel for the walk and the numerous times you patiently help me point out in the guide book of each kind of animal we just saw. Thank you both for the songs and chatting. We had a wonderful time!

I should thank the chief too for providing us such decent food, to Hesbon for your exceptional service, we were flattered. And to Benjamin, your brother Kuku missed you a lot!

There’s a tall strong Maasai guard I don’t know his name, thank you for escorting us to the tent and your sweet waving good-bye! Thanks to the other Maasai staff ‘behind the scene’. Thank you all for making our stay so happy and memorable!

Next time I go to Kenya, I’ll definitely plan at least half year ahead to make sure all my stays are with Porini Camps.
Ling

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Rhino Camp was an amazing experience. The staff of Maasai were friendly, and, in the case of our daily guide Little John, very knowledgeable and fun to be around.

It was surprisingly cold! Be prepared - if your packing guide says to bring a fleece, BRING IT! I didn't possibly think the equator in late August could be down-right chilly, but 2 nights out of the 3 we were there it got down into the lower 50's (1 night it dipped to 48). I somehow missed that the camp was somewhere around 6,000'. But a great touch: when you get back to your tent from dinner there are hot water bottles warming the bed! The beds were surprisingly comfortable, plenty of room to move around in the tents.

The food was all very good, but a head's up to American readers: you will find the portion size a little less than we're used to. That is not a bad thing at all as who among us can't stand to lose a pound or 2? Meal time is quite lively, a chance to chat with others who are new arrivals, folks who spent the day in other vehicles, etc. And the wine or beer will keep flowing as long as you want to hang out and drink it.

And of course, the main attraction is the wildlife. Which was plentiful! The first drive on the 1st day we found a mama lion who had just made a kill bring the meal back to her 3 cubs for feeding. Sat in the truck no more than 20' away watching the whole thing.

Bring a good camera. I don't mean your iPhone or iPad (give me a break)... if you can afford it, bring the best DSLR with the longest lens you can manage (I shot with a Nikon D7100 with a 70-300mm zoom and there were times when I wished I'd had the ability to go out to 400mm), or at minimum a quality point and shoot with a 15 to 20x optical zoom (as back up we also had a Lumix ZS20, which we also used for some great panorama shooting). These are pictures you're going to look at for a lifetime so the camera you bring is not something to skimp on.

Anyway... this camp is top-notch. We also stayed 3 nights at the Porini Mara camp and preferred this one over the Mara camp by a wide margin. There is no doubt that if we ever return to Kenya to do another safari we will likely include the Rhino camp in our planning.

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and I think they are all pretty much the same. We had Tent #4, loved the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed two nights at Porini Rhino Camp during our 8 day honeymoon safari. It was our first safari - and first trip to Africa - and our experience far exceeded our expectations. Everything about the camp - the accommodations, the staff, the food - was wonderful. The guides were exceptional - pleasant, knowledgeable, accommodating. We were very impressed with the country and with its people - and with the Maasai community in particular. We loved the intimacy of the Porini camps and the lack of crowds. Much of the time we saw no other vehicles when we were out on our game drives. I would highly recommend the company and the camp! (But take warm clothes; it was quite chilly!) We are already planning to go back for our tenth anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bgibson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
13.1 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 57 in Laikipia County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
20.6 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sere Enkang House
Sere Enkang House
#4 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Rhino Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Rhino Camp

Property: Porini Rhino Camp
Address: | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porini Rhino Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Rhino Camp is located in the exclusive 90,000 acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia Kenya. The camp consists of six spacious guest tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms. The camp is environmentally-friendly with solar powered lighting and no generator. Game drives in open - 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included. All the Big Five have been seen on game drives from the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Rhino Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Porini Rhino Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing