We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to be!!”
Review of Porini Rhino Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Rhino Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, Surrey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is the place to be!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a first visit to Phino Porini and it certainly won't be the last. It was an absolutely joy to find an old friend, David in charge. We knew him from Mara Porini, so it was wonderful to catch up. He doesn't change, still great fun with a fabulous sense of humour. His genuine manner is reflected in the way his staff react. They seems to really enjoy working there and their commitment to the camp is passed down to all their clients. The tents were as usualy very comfortable and the mess area was as we imagined it would be. The game drives were excellent and our trackers were knowledgeable and great fun. The food was good and plentiful and the whole ethos of the camp was A1. We will return.

Room Tip: They are all within striking access of the mess tent. If you are geriatric like me, then choose a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lainey6477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
90
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

After spending 10 days on safari in 3 camps in Tanzania, this Camp was by far the best.
The location, David the Manager and the friendly professional massai staff, the driver and his local knowledge on Safari every day , the pride of lions, the lion cubs absolutely amazing, the white and black rhinos, elephants, leopards,zebras,wild dogs we saw the lot plus an abundance of birds. Giraffes , warthogs at the waterhole across from our tent in the morning.
Extremely comfortable , excellent food . Cannot prais this camp enough, it has everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiegal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

With just 6 very comfortable tents, which have wonderful views in front of a water hole this is the place to be. The Porini camps are all setup in a way that is more in harmony with its environment, both nature and its people, which was one of the reasons we choose it. We were met by a very warm and humorous and professional camp manager David and a friendly happy staff that took real good care of us. We were guided by Daniel which was very good. He obviously loves what he does. The food in this camp was a delight. This conservancy has an important function in keeping the Rhino alive for the future. We have had close encounters with a beautiful lion pride, a large pride of wild dogs, and many other animals. We specifically enjoyed having bush breakfast or sundowners with stunning views of the plains. We have become Porini fans and look forward to spend more time in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James290774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our second stay at Rhino camp and we had a wonderful time with everything we would expect from a stay in a Porini Camp - please see my other reviews - from fantastic food through superb comfort to perfect customer service.

The wildlife was pretty wonderful as well!!! Black Rhino, White Rhino, Wild Dogs, Leopard and so much more.

Thanks to David, Michael, Benjamin and every single member of staff for being there and for being what any traveller would want or need even when things take a turn for the worse as the rains in the far off mountains reached the camp during the night..........................

Thankfully nobody was hurt and no personal possessions lost or damaged as flood water swept through camp - Never have waters this high been recorded before. The camp will be as good as new very soon and even though this was likely a one off event the tents are being moved to higher ground. We had to stay elsewhere for one night but were really pleased to return for our last night and felt totally safe in every way..

We really feel that we are part of the Porini Family and so look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Matt and Ali

Room Tip: They are all perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattyc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma CIty, OK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Rhino camp was our third Porini camp during our Safari this past October '13 As in all the camps, the camp manager, David, met us upon arriving. He had a smile that made you start the day well and end the day well. The camp is hidden nicely in a ravine along a small river. Across the river was a large watering hole where throughout the day you would see any number of wildlife. At night you would hear the hippo's. Our tent faced towards the watering hole and it was always a surprise to see what our first wildlife viewing would be in the morning.
Our driver Michael and spotter Emanuel were wonderful. They had more energy and was always willing to stay out longer or go back out as soon as we were ready. There was never a time schedule of when we had to be back or when the meals would be served. I loved the vehicles that the Porini camps use. The majority of them are open sided vehicles with stadium seating so everyone has an outside full view. I will admit, at night on our sundowners and night drives it did get cold but having this type of vehicle during the daytime was much better than the vehicles the I saw from the rest of the camps in this Conservancy.
The wildlife was abundant. One night we were surrounded by a pride of 12 lions just at sunset.
The staff at Rhino camp just as at the other Porini camps are outstanding. Even though you might only be staying in camp a couple of nights, they learn your names immediately. The food was prepared to perfection. I am diabetic and Gluten intolerant and they understood my special diet needs and scored high in their delivery. Congrats to David for overseeing this excellent camp.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okietraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had an amazing experience at Ol Pejeta. We had an incredible time and would thoroughly recommend this holiday. Our teenage children really loved it too. David the camp manager was a great host and he and all of the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were really well looked after. After we left we discovered that we had left something behind; David not only it found it be but arranged for it to be delivered to us a few days later when we got back to Nairobi. What a service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LD0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What was best - hard to say as so much crammed into 3 days. Wild dogs a highlight and so very special to see the large litter. The rhinos were also so special - we saw them both in the wild and in the marvellous conservation centre trying to save the Northern Whites. Fantastic work which deserves every success. But so much more - lions calling, mating and with cubs; to say nothing of watching two lionesses stalking a warthog, giving chase and actually killing their prey. something we were very privileged to experience. We were the only vehicle watching and this feeling of a real wild experience was unique throughout the trip. Two sightings of a mother cheetah with two young cubs (still with the silky baby fur) was another highlight. Elephants, giraffes, large numbers of buffalo and both types of zebra and the hybrid between them plus large numbers of antelope of different species meant that the grazers were also a highlight.
Fantastic guide and driver meant that we really did not miss any game and the drives themselves were like being on the East Africa Rally - an experience in itself.
It was so good to see that the conservancy is run with and by the Maasai with cattle grazing (including the indigenous Ankole Cattle) running alongside wild game.
Everyone associated with the trip was so friendly and courteous. The camp manager. David. went out of his way to make everything perfect and the experience of the safari tents and the welcome sundowners at the end of the day added yet another wonderful touch. A truly great experience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_ywebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
215 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 7 in Mount Kenya National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#2 of 14 in Nanyuki Town
71 reviews
21.1 mi away
Lions Court Lodge
Lions Court Lodge
#16 of 36 in Nanyuki Town
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
Sanctuary at Ol Lentille
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Rhino Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Rhino Camp

Property: Porini Rhino Camp
Address: | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porini Rhino Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Rhino Camp is located in the exclusive 90,000 acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia Kenya. The camp consists of six spacious guest tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms. The camp is environmentally-friendly with solar powered lighting and no generator. Game drives in open - 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included. All the Big Five have been seen on game drives from the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Rhino Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Porini Rhino Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing