We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great camp”
Review of Porini Rhino Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Rhino Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great camp”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It was a bit cold but that is due to the elevation and time of year…BUT…the Oi Pejeta is a huge area with LOTS of animals…the camp itself was great as well as the good…Dave the manager was very nice and looked after your every needs…Love that they place a hot water bottle in your bed before you go to sleep since it is a bit cool at night…love that touch :-)…Saw the White Rhinos and I THINK I was the black Rhino….

Room Tip: Noise level was high due to the gusts of wind that would flap the tent…again though because it was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RPG-DEPICTIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
91
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I have a new standard for all future trips -- Porini Perfection. We did 9 nights with Porini, starting with Nairobi Tented Camp, 2 nights at Amboseli, 2 nights and Rhino and 4 nights at Lion, in late June/early July. We love the conservancy/eco concept, the execution and the people. The welcome is genuine, the tents are spacious, well-outfitted with comfortable beds, decent lighting, storage space, etc. The food was great! Tasty and there were always fresh vegetables. The bucket shower is not hard to get used to, and the water was always hot and ready when needed. The guiding was fantastic and the wildlife viewing in the conservancies is just amazing, with so few other cars around. The visits to the community are well integrated, and I can't imagine a better way to experience these different areas of Kenya.

Yes, you have do some hand-washing (esp for a 9-night stay!) and we were happy to do that, respecting the eco principles and appreciating the provision of laundy soap and clothesline. Stuff dries fast, and we packed a few more clothes than one might have to if going to other lodges where laundry is available. A small sacrifice when everything else is just perfect.

At Rhino camp, you are welcomed by David, who is gracious, warm, and funny. The perfect camp manager, and I think he would do anything for anyone, he's just amazing and his warmth and humour colored the entire experience. The camp is beautifully situated with great views from every tent. The range of wildlife here was amazing with new giraffes (reticulated), zebras (Grevy's and hybrids) and wild dogs, which were a thrill to see. It was a very special (and very sad) opportunity to see one of the last remaining Northern White Rhinos. We also enjoyed the visit to the Sweetwater's chimp sanctuary; the visit was very nicely organized and the work they are doing is so important. It was at this camp that we really appreciated Porini's commitment to conservation, as we had the opportunity to see different approaches (integration of cattle grazing/conservation of rare species).

We thought the meals were very good at all Porini camps, and probably the very best at this one. We loved our time at Rhino Camp; it provided such an interesting contrast to both Amboseli and the Mara. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband, twin teenage daughters, and I loved our stay at Porini Rhino camp! It was the little details that really stood out for us here. Lunch out under the trees, campfires overlooking the watering hole, delicious dinners elegantly presented, and clean, comfortable tents with incredible views. David was a perfect host and Dennis along with Little John were amazing guides. Our game drives were very cold, but we saw hundreds of animals. Rhinos, wild dogs, and cheetah sightings were highlights for us. We also loved our afternoon walks with Little John. We learned so much about the Masai Culture, local plants, and animals from him. Meeting and having dinner with the Gamewatchers' Managing Director, Jake Grieves-Cook was also an experience we will never forget!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our second Porini camp in our 2 week safari. When we left our first camp, Porini Amboseli, I was so sad and a bit nervous that we maybe had just had the best experience at the start of the trip...how could the other camps match the great time we had at Amboseli??

Turns out Rhino Camp could and did! Camp manager David is a dream to be with, his smile lights up a room and makes you feel so welcome. Everyone at camp was friendly, with special shout outs to Benjamin and Hesborn (sp?)!! And of course our guides, Daniel and Little John, were fantastic to spend the day with, both in terms of tracking animals and just hanging out with.

One our favorite things about spending our time in 4 different camps was getting to see the very different terrains. Rhino Camp was so different from Amboseli, so many areas of dense brush as well as wide open spaces. Was also soooo cold at night...of course we were there in the winter! Thank goodness for those amazing ponchos and the hot water bottles!

We went on two walks with Little John, Benjamin and our protection (Maasai w/ spears). On our second walk, we approached one of the watering holes (there are a few of these permanent watering areas for the herds that are allowed to pass through the Conservancy). We spent as much time looking at leeches and some other crazy aquatic bug-thing as we did watching a herd of buffalo, it was amazing! Especially lovely was watching one of the Maasai guys rescuing the honey bees that were drowning in the water. The connection with the environment is very evident throughout the Porini experience...from the reusable utensils and plates on picnics to watching an imposing man with a spear save honey bees from drowning...this is what makes traveling with Porini so amazing!

And the animals!! So many different animals all tucked in and out of the brush. On one drive, our jaws were permanently dropped as we watched every kind of animals gathering all in one spot! Seriously, rhinos, elephants, baboons, waterbuck, ostrich, gazelle, warthogs, buffalo and giraffes all in one area...it was amazing!

Room Tip: Tent Four is across from watering hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim98115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I'm so glad our first safari was spent at Rhino Camp. The camp itself was so peaceful. Only six tents and our tent number four was across from the watering hole. How fun to wake up from a nap and see zebra and giraffe! In the morning we were awoken with a tray of tea, coffee and cookies. The food was very good. We had riverside breakfast during a break in our game drive, and lunch was served at a table outdoors under the tree. Before a wonderful dinner in the "mess hall" (very charming dining area) we had drinks around the campfire. The vehicles are completely open on the sides and there's not a bad seat. Also, with Rhino Camp being the only camp at that end of the conservancy, we rarely saw another group.

I was surprised at the number and variety of the animals that we saw. So many elephants and giraffes, a large pack of wild dogs, black rhino, Southern white rhino and the very rare Northern white rhino.

A fantastic trip but it was the staff that made it extra special. As camp manager, David was the perfect host. He was always present to chat with the guests--he knew everyone's name! He had great animal encounter stories and a great laugh. This man really loves his job and it shows! Michael and Benjamin made an excellent guide team. Great driving, thorough information about the animals and their behavior, excellent spotting skills and a great senses of humor. They would stop to watch animals for as long as we wanted and never showed impatience, even when I took my hundredth picture of an elephant. (Another) Benjamin and the rest of the camp staff made as feel special and never left us wanting.

I will always cherish our time at Rhino Camp and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: We had tent # 4 which faced the watering hole. Great for viewing animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmjordan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I enjoyed every bit of the trip to Porini Rhino Camp in Ole Pejeta. Our drive from Nairobi led by Naeem, one of the best drivers I have ever met and on our way we saw elephants and rainbow on the background such an amazing scene. The service that we received from the team at the camp under the stewardship of the Manager David, is out of this world, the drives led by very knowledgeable guides Daniel and Benjamin made sure that we saw the elephants and lions, that we really wanted to see, plus the Rhino Sanctuary where we saw Baraka the visually impaired Rhino and the Chimpanzee place. The terrain was not so smooth as it had rained, but can confirm that the vehicle is well maintained and up to the task. The food was so tasty never enjoyed main meal and dessert like I did and service by Hesbon & Benjamin was top notch. Breakfast at one of the camp sites near Ewaso Ngiro river. Our guides within the camp Benjamin and the others were so helpful. We kept confusing names as there are several Benjamin's and Daniel's. We danced to Maasai tunes after our walk and did abit of Javelin which was memorable. Cannot forget mentioning how strategic PRC is as you can view outside your tent animals at the water point. I salute the entire team Naeem, Chantelle, David and others who kept us engaged all the time, we even forgot that we had no TVs and radios. I say thank you to Game Watchers for making the trip so successful and the entire team of PRC you are so SPECIAL I will be back and would encourage others to VISIT thank you Matthew

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Cheetahs, a male lion eating a zebra at sunrise, elephants and of course plenty of rhinos! Another wonderful Porini experience thanks to David's leadership and the skills of Benjamin guiding us and Michael driving. The Ol Pejeta reserve is absolutely huge and offers plenty of opportunities for wildlife viewing across many species. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
0.0 mi away
Lewa Safari Camp
Lewa Safari Camp
#2 of 56 in Laikipia County
226 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Le Rustique
Le Rustique
#5 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
5 reviews
18.9 mi away
Loisaba Tented Camp
Loisaba Tented Camp
#11 of 56 in Laikipia County
36 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Rhino Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Rhino Camp

Property: Porini Rhino Camp
Address: | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porini Rhino Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Rhino Camp is located in the exclusive 90,000 acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia Kenya. The camp consists of six spacious guest tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms. The camp is environmentally-friendly with solar powered lighting and no generator. Game drives in open - 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included. All the Big Five have been seen on game drives from the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Rhino Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Porini Rhino Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing