We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ASANTE SANA !”
Review of Porini Rhino Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Rhino Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Congratulations to everybody at Rhino Camp, first to Paul for his exquisite company and for making us feel so very special, to Desmond for his warm and discrete presence, to our unforgettable guides Daniel and Benjamin and to all those "working behind the scene". Our stay was beyond all expectations, and I will never forget that night the lion decided to spend a dozen meters away from our tent... After all, we were on HIS territory, weren't we ?

We definitely WILL be back !

Best wishes to all, Thierry and isabelle (from Paris)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2010

During my safari I stayed at all of the Porini Camps and found it impossible to choose any one over the others. Each has its own characteristics, unique setting and different climate, but all are united through excellent food, airy and spacious super sized tents and the quality of their staff, be it in the mess tent or in the field, where the spotters and guides are second to none.
After staying for the first night, and commenting on the rather chilly temperatures, the staff added two extra hot water bottles in my bed for the second night, and it made a difference. How thoughtful this was, the added touch all these camps excelled in.
Gameviewing was excellent on both days, we saw rhinos galore and visiting the recently arrived Northern White Rhinos was the icing on the cake, the visit of course arranged by the Porini staff. The extended walks across the conservancy were unique again, and the towering presence of Mt. Kenya, visible on both days, made a spectacular back drop. I hope this concept takes further roots to give more options to discerning travellers unwilling to join the minibus trails and having crowds drown out the sounds of nature. Porini's camps are all located on well chosen spots, rich of game, ecofriendly in their operation and offer the one thing which is becoming rarer and rarer, privacy, oneness with nature and superb hospitality. If I could go back today to any of them I would ...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Safariafficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

PORINI RHINO CAMP – OL PEJETA

It was no surprise to find Rhino Camp as comfortable as Selenkay, though the weather was cold and very wet so we were delighted with our hot water bottles and hot showers and jugs of hot water delivered with our early morning tea!
With just 6 tents the meals were ‘communal’ and, as we were staying for 3 nights we ate with lovely Ben, the relief manager, until our last night when a very pleasant family had arrived.
We had seen on our road journey from Nanyuki four of the Big Five – lion, cheetah, elephant and, of course, rhino!!
We did have a Guard to accompany us back and forth to our tent, and the setting with Mount Kenya on our gamedrives is special and one travels short distances to be amongst the wildlife.
As with all Porini camps safety is a priority and we well remember a delicious, cooked bush breakfast under a magnificent acacia tree chosen to give us shade from the sun. At its base it had some bushes and we were enjoying each other’s company so much we hadn’t noticed a large family of elephant approaching! It became a very quiet group who speedily climbed into its vehicle and enjoyed the spectacle……..though the elephants were quite unaware!
Because of the torrential rain that came most afternoons our charter flight could not land at the airstrip and we had to go to Nanyuki to meet it. Yet again the professionalism of our driver and guide came to the fore and we enjoyed a further ‘game drive’ in their care.

Best of all camps we’ve every visited throughout Kenya are the capes provided by Gamewatchers! Yes, most quality camps provide blankets and/or capes but at Porini camps they are together…….the capes having blanket linings!! SO comforting we kept ours with us all the time – just in case!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elephant-lover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as part of a twenty-fifth wedding anniversary trip. Service is outstanding. We were the only people in the camp at the time and they really made it romantic and special. They even baked us a special anniversary cake.
The experince is very secluded, green and authentic. There are only six tents in the camp. It is on a river, you can hear the lion roar at night.
The tents are spacious, simple but elegant. The staff are very attentive. Masai warriors guard your tent at night, so if something scares you you just call out or whistle.
The reserve is very scenic, at the foot of Mt. Kenya. There is a huge selection of game, quite visible.
This reserve is particularly famous for Rhino which abound, particularly the rare and shy black rhino.
There is a Jane Goodall chimp sanctuary which is also a very special experience.
Also we didn't see a single mosquito while wer ethere, bacuse it is so high up.
Food is excellent

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Porini Rhino was the second of the Porini Camps we visited, same principles but quite different in the environment. The high standards of service, accommodation and food was continued from the Amboselli Porini including the personal attention... the challenge was the weather and the associated driving conditions.... very welcome rain followed us from the Amboseli camp. No dampening of enthusiasm however as we donned ponchos provided by Porini and amidst flying mud and a sliding safari vehicle we saw an amazing array of wildlife... including the expected Rhinos but the clincher were cheetah ... not just Cheetah.. but cheetah on a kill... unbelievable and incredible luck.
This camp also provides access to the chimpanzee sanctuary ... a sanctuary negotiated by Jane Goodall for chimps rescued from a variety of horrors imposed by various "human beings?". It is a most interesting sanctuary that adds to the experience of Porini Rhino Camp.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I had the most incredible time at this camp - seeing cheetah, black rhino and countless other types of game. A family group of 6 of us were lucky enough to do the 8 day safari with Porini, spending 2 days at each. All were fantastic and I enjoyed each so much I'll be posting positive reviews for every one!

The Rhino camp was the smallest and my personal favourite - even the rain made it fun and a good contrast to the dryer camps in the Mara and Amboseli. Food was excellent, service outstanding and guide and spotters first class. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilCullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddictedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanyuki Town
26.1 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
7.6 mi away
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
Kicheche Laikipia Camp
#6 of 56 in Laikipia County
240 reviews
13.1 mi away
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
Sweetwaters Serena Camp
#1 of 8 in Mount Kenya National Park
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
Soames Hotel & Jack's Bar
#1 of 15 in Nanyuki Town
87 reviews
3 mi away
Jambo Mutara Camp, Laikipia
Jambo Mutara Camp, Laikipia
#21 of 56 in Laikipia County
20 reviews
0 mi away
Moof Africa Organic Hostel / Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Rhino Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Rhino Camp

Address: | Ol Pejeta Conservancy, Nanyuki Town, Nanyuki Municipality, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Laikipia County > Nanyuki Municipality > Nanyuki Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Nanyuki Town
Price Range: £578 - £935 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porini Rhino Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Rhino Camp is located in the exclusive 90,000 acre Ol Pejeta Conservancy in Laikipia Kenya. The camp consists of six spacious guest tents, comfortably furnished with en suite bathrooms. The camp is environmentally-friendly with solar powered lighting and no generator. Game drives in open - 4x4s with qualified guides, bush walks, sundowners and night game drives are all included. All the Big Five have been seen on game drives from the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Rhino Camp Hotel Nanyuki
Porini Rhino Camp Kenya/Nanyuki Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing