We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel So Mauritius is "So Special !"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sofitel So Mauritius is "So Special !"”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Our initial booking at Sofitel So Mauritius was from June 27 - July 07. However, because we were so impressed due to everything that we experienced in the hotel that really exceeded all our expectations, we extended our stay two more nights up to July 09. Our rate was bed and breakfast which was quite reasonable. The breakfast is fantastic and served outdoor in a very nice environment overlooking the ocean and the endless pool. The rooms are nicely designed in a simple, modern and relaxing fashion. Each room has an access to the hotel's private beach. But what's extremely so exceptional is The Butler Team, we had our special butler "Riad" who added an additional dimension not only to our stay in the hotel but to the entire trip. The butler team's theme is "share your dreams with your butler" and we believe that "Riad" had made this true! All what we needed is to share our wishes with him at the beginning of every day and all our wishes turned to be true at the end of the day!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khaled G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are pleased that your experience among us was really exceeding your expectations.

Having breakfast in your relaxed private garden or in Le Flamboyant overlooking the Indian Ocean is an amazing experience.

We are also happy that you appreciated the interior design. All our spacious suites and villas with their private garden have been decorated by Kenzo Takada giving you the comfort and relaxation you really look forward in our resort.

The entire team and specially the So butlers are dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to share more of your dreams.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    194
    77
    33
    19
See reviews for
253
701
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

When we arrived the resort took our breath away, it is so nice. the villa, we had a beach villa was so spacious and probably the best in mauritius. we were so impressed with the accomodation. the room has a resort info book, the time for breakfast was stated till 11.00am , we arrived at 10.20am for breakfast and were greeted by the hostess Mellissa , not by a good morning but by a rude glance and were told ' you have 10 mins to eat your breakfast' . when we said we thought it was till 11.00am she said no maybe at the weekend and again repeted we had to eat quickly, within 10mins.
we did not eat much and left quickly without even having anything warm to eat on our first morning.
we complained to the manager and were told breakfast was till 11.00am.
the food at the restaurant was excellant however and a special thanks to chef michael lee and vishal who took very good care of us.
it was them in particular who made our stay extra special. the spa was also excellant and the treatments very good.
mellissa however, never apologised and when the GM came for dinner with his guests she was very friendly to them, a oscar winning peformance was put on for them, but for the rest of us, she did not care at all.
she needs to learn from vishal how to welcome people and all other staff were very good except for her, i would have rated this 5 star had it not been for her.
all in all a wonderfull resort spoilt by one person , so would hesitate to go back for that reason.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice. the beach villas are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shah702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at So Mauritius. The resort is indeed a breathtaking place from the highlands of the greeting pavilion you get the plunging view of the sea and the rooms are all made to give you the comfort and delights of relation with its Kenzo Takada design.

We are indeed sorry to hear about your encounter with one of our team that left you a bad impression of the moments you shared with us. However rest assured that relevant training is being conducted to ensure that all our guest receive the same level of service. Excellence and quality of service are our passion and we hope that for your next visit we can prove that we have indeed met your expectations.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to enjoy the beauty and calmness of the resort.


Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc
Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

This is another top notch resort in this island, very friendly staff, the room is very nice, has a small jacuzzi at the outdoor, very nice swimming pool and a nice stretch of beach. The restaurant of high standard in terms of food quality, presentation and taste, the service too is good. A mus visit place when you are in Mauritius. Very ideal for couples and family. A bit far from Port Louise though but near to the airport .

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank munes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are so pleased to read you had a fabulous stay with us at So Mauritius. Thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing with us your stay.

All our suites and villas have their own private garden with an external baths or plunge pools and a terrace, as well as a private patio including a private external shower. Every single one of them has been designed to ensure privacy of our guests.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to enjoy the beauty and calmness of the resort.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Dear hotel we would like to thank all your team for unforgettable time that we spent in Mauritius. We were really pleased with the professionalism of SO staff and their art of proactive indentifying all our expectations and satisfying all our needs. Thanks to So Mauritius we realized what real luxury is. Amazing villa! Outstanding facilities! Big thanks to our personal butlers who dealed with all our requests on the highest level. Thanks for arrangement of various and cool outside activities. We were really amazed with the number of different adventures and unforgettable views concentrated in the island. We would like to give So special thanks to club car drivers Raj and Rakesh for giving us professional drive and positive mood! So special thanks to restaurants team. Joachim, Irshaad thanks a lot for your kind support! Huge thanks to So fitness and So SPA for continuous improving of our bodies, making them fit and shiny :) So So Special thanks to butler Riad for his outstanding senses of hospitality and many wonderful surprises! So special

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

Thank you for your valuable comments on your unforgettable stay among us.

The So Spa and So Fit are indeed geared to give you the most healthy, caring treatments and activities to shape your body and soul.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius!

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have been spending one week in this paradise. I have tried lots of nice places in mauritius though the So sofitel is really making me fall again in love with mauritius. Especially dinesh who was my butler and really gave me one more reason to think i dont need a husband ;-)
Food was excellent and despite the so so weather i was able to really enjoy my time between the spa and cool activities (i can make fabulus molecular cocktails thanks to shane who taught during a rainy afternoon)
Definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wannabecanadian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur,

We are So happy to hear that you felt in love with Mauritius island thanks to the So Mauritius. Our so Special butlers are dedicated to make our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay with us and ensure that every moment is unique.

We hope that you will make and enjoy magnifique molecular cocktails for your love ones and that they will enjoy tasting a bit of Mauritius.

Anticipating your next visit

Warmest regards

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Sofitel So was one of the Hotels we definitely wanted to try having hear so much about it and about the Kenzo interior design.

Reaching the arrival reception was quite a labyrinth as we had to leave our car on the upper parking & get a buggy to go to the reception. After the initial confusion, things gow however better.

The rooms were contemporary; I had a small feeling of being on a Greek island with these modern white buildings, which wasn't too bad. The interior was minimalist, clean and well designed with nice colours. What I disliked with the bathroom was that the IRS villas found at the back on higher levels had views in the bathroom which can be unpleasant sometimes. Also the small jacuzzi in front of the room was dirty and we definitely didn't want to give it a try. Another -ve point is that there is no verandah in front of the room and the small verandah or balcony is a must in Mauritan Hotels I guess as you do spend a lot of time outdoor. The sea is also quite far and you just see overgrown plants in front.

Having said so, the interior of the restaurant is very well designed as well and the a la carte menu was ok. So was the breakfast in the morning. Food was good but not terrific.

There is a huge lap pool with a horizon edge but with no view of the sea directly! The region is so windy that they had to keep the big trees between the pool and the sea to shield the pool. I however had a very good time in the pool as it was long and large and I quite liked it. The atmosphere around the pool was a bit boring as the pool is somewhat disconnected and scattered from the bar & restaurant area.

In overal, we had a good time and the room was comfortable and nice. There are however so many great 5 star Hotels around for the same price that we cannot not compare and pinpoint the negative aspects of this Hotel. The interior designs of the rooms, the spa and common spaces are however very well done and rather unique and contemporary!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Didier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

Thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing with us your stay at the SO Mauritius.

We are pleased to read that you appreciated the interior design of all the suites and villas, spa, restaurants and bars designed by Kenzo Takada. It is indeed unique, contemporary and very confortable that you may not find elsewhere.

All our suites and villas have their own private garden with a external baths or plunge pools and a terrace, as well as a private patio including a private external shower. Every single one of them has been designed to ensure privacy of our guests. We are sorry to hear you could not enjoy all these treasures to its true value.

The international well-known Thai architect Lek Bunnag has designed the So Mauritius to ensure that the lush vegetation remains untouched.

The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy their stay and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments.

Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was my first time in Mauritius and my first time at a Sofitel So hotel and I have to say that it was simply fabulous!

Since the arrival to the hotel, staff always greeted me with a warm "bonjour", a friendly smile and great service... I was guided to my Kenzo suite and all the formalities were taken care of by the assigned butler... The hotel as a whole is very nice and located on the beach front with large and comfortable suites + beach villas... The beds in the room were so comfortable and the suite in its self is very spacious!

The two restaurant options have really great food choices (both International and Mauritius cuisine) and service was once again impeccable. At Le Takamaka bar, molecular drinks is what differentiates them, but if you like mojitos the Hibiscus Mojito and the Mango Litchi Mojito are the best I have ever tried! Completely recommend it!

If you are looking for a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Mauritius, this is the hotel to be!! The Bel Ombre area, where the hotel is located, offers beautiful crystal clear beaches and it is still not too crowded with hotels and resorts, so you can really feel relaxed here...

I will definitely choose the Sofitel So Mauritius when I am back in the island!

Room Tip: All suites are quiet and have a private garden, but if you would like a closer access to the beach y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Bonjour Madame, Bonjour Monsieur

We are so pleased to read you had a fabulous stay with us at So Mauritius!

All our spacious suites and villas are designated by Kenzo Takada and equipped with the unique MyBed concept, an ideal combination to ensure sweet dreams and unforgettable nights.

The hospitality of entire SO Mauritius team allows you to enjoy every second of your stay.
Our talented executive chef, the kitchen and the food & beverage teams are dedicated to ensure that you discover the blend of the Mauritian and French hospitality and cuisines.

After having enjoyed our unique mojitos, we hope you will come back in order to try new creations !

Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon at SO Mauritius to enjoy the beauty and calmness of the resort.


Warmest regards,

Bastien Blanc

Area Manager Indian Ocean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,710 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Property: Sofitel So Mauritius
Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing