We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This trip was all about the little things which made up a great stay. We turned up at the airport to be met by the resort BMW rather than the taxi I ordered which was a great start and very nice touch. The resort itself is beautiful, located in a very quiet part of Mauritius. Rooms are beautifully designed, with private outdoor spaces and plenty of room for a couple sharing. Food was broadly good, but menu choices wore thin on day 7, but who's complaining? The service here is all about the little touches - the concessions made to guests on a personal level. You get the feeling that the staff have been empowered to make decisions rather than ask a manager etc. Nothing is too much trouble. I have to single out Veenash in the bar as being the epitome of this. Great place. Great staff (and clearly great management).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Bonjour from So Sunny Mauritius!

We thank you so much for visiting us recently and for posting your flattering and enthusiastic review of your experience with us !
We were delighted to read we were able to bring enjoyment to every component of your experience - namely the outdoor spaces, the gastronmy and the design as well as functionality of your suite.
We agree that the heart of our resort is our team of ambassadors whom we thrive at So making as empowered as Managers to provide service from the heart, through initiatives and decisions to make every single guests feel happy and fully relaxed through their time with us!

I will share your kind words with the entire team .

We look forward to your next stay @ Sofitel So Mauritius !
Best Regards,
Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    191
    75
    33
    19
See reviews for
241
691
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have just arrived home from a 7 night stay at So sofitel Mauritius Bel Ombre. This hotel was designed by Kenzo, so everything works, well, just SO well. The rooms are very, very cool. From the rain shower outside to the amazing beds. Everything is spotless & the hotel has been open now for 2 & a half years, it still looks as fresh as the day it opened.
The staff are extremely well trained and will look after your every need. Each room comes complete with your very own butler. Well, thats overstating them a tad, lets just say, your very own assistant who will help you, nice touch though.
I would advise this is a very quiet resort, very peaceful and tranquil. Too quiet for me, when I mentioned this, they arranged for me to go to another hotel that night where there was a band and a late night club...WOW... fantastic customer service. I also mentioned the menu was the same 3 nights in a row...guess what they did, they got the Chef to cook us our very own food for the next 3 nights...WOW... fantastic customer service.
I cannot fault the staff at this resort, they went above & beyond at every request. As for the hotel, if you are after peace & quiet on a 5 star level, just book it, it is SO worth it.

Room Tip: They are all fantastic rooms :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Bonjour form So Mauritius!

Thank you for leaving such lovely comments.

Our suites and villas designed by Kenzo Takada with a unique décor surely create the perfect venue for relaxation and comfort.
Ambassadors at SO Mauritius put their whole heart to serve with passion and delight guests by personalized attention through our service from the heart attitude. We are glad you felt it and thank you for the good feedback on those.
We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to share good times with you for your next vacation.

Sincerely Yours,

Mr Bastien Blanc
Area Manager Indian Ocean
Sofitel So Mautitius
Bel Ombre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

I just recently stayed at Sofitel Bel Ombré with my family and truly had the most memorable experience. We stayed in a beatific Villa that perfectly fit my family of 4. The rooms were impeccable and the beds were probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in. The bathrooms were beautiful, well kept and the bathroom amenities were fantastic, not your usual hotel soap and shampoo. We were lucky enough to experience butler service during our stay and the entire butler team were extremely helpful, always checking on us and making sure we were happy and enjoying our stay in Mauritius. thank you Arshad!! They made various suggestions on things we could do in and out of the hotel. We are steps away from the beach as well and that was just perfect!! I was a bit nervous traveling with children as mine are quite young but the hotel offers Villa des Enfants with lots of things I do and there is babysitting service as well,ask for Prisca, she was the best! Food was just wonderful! 2 restaurants with complete different styles of food and a room service menu that was just as delicious! My favorite was the hearts of Palm with mustard vinaigrette...amazing!!! lastly, you can't go to this hotel without visiting the spa! I recently read its one of the too spas in 2013 from Conde Nast and it doesn't disappoint!! The treatments are varied and perfect to relax and the spa is mostly outdoors so you really feel at peace and the entire look of the spa is very serene! Next time, I will not bring my kids, every though they were welcomed. I feel it's a place to getaway to have some quiet! Lovely hotel, lovely staff!! Thank you!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Bonjour,

On behalf of the team , I want to thank you and express that we are SO happy to know that you had an intense experience while spending your time at SO Mauritius. Glad to hear we were able to make it a memorable one.
We strive to ensure we provide the best holiday ever for the whole family, every single member needs to find its pleasure in the options of activities the hotel provides. It is nice to hear that our Ambassador exceeded your expectations in this sense.
Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with all of the Hotel’s Ambassadors.
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely Yours,

Mr Bastien Blanc
Area Manager Indian Ocean
Sofitel So Mautitius
Bel Ombre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have been to many places and have stayed in significant number of hotels. It was my first time in Mauritius and I enjoyed it a lot. The hotel, Sofitel So Mauritius impressed me. The service was just perfect. Staff was friendly and helpful. Especially, I would like to thank butler Kanen, for his help and attention. The atmosphere during the whole stay was amazing, the team made me feel home. I definetely wish to go back to the hotel. Thank you very much to the team for the unforgettable holiday they have made.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yulia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Bonjour from So Mauritius,
We are So glad to hear that you have found it to be a good choice to stay at SO Mauritius for the first time being in Mauritius and that you had an intense experience with us !
The “So Butler” service is a key attribute which gives life to the spirit of personalized service which we want our guests to experience throughout their time with us. Rest assured that we will specially address your thanks to Kanen for his kindness and dedicated attention but also the whole team for your appreciation of our dedication to provide SO tailored service.
Hope to have opportunity to meet you again at SO Mauritius!
Sincerely Yours,
Mr Bastien Blanc
Area Manager Indian Ocean
Sofitel So Mautitius
Bel Ombre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013


just returned from a 10 days vacation there. I wanted to thank all the team who made me feel in paradise. Excellent food (marlin salad is a must), magic spa (nestled in greenery, very peaceful) and butler service which i had never experience at this level. (Thank you riad for all the little touches which made my days and night extra special ! The mauritius turndown with candles and an outside bath is from another world)
Basically a fab stay with excellent mauritian service

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meraviniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Bonjour !

Just a short note to thank you for taking the time sharing with us your experience.
We wanted you, as all our guests, to have unforgettable moments, which you can take away with you, and can help you having positive thoughts even when back at work.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to SO Mauritius for even more SO Intense moments.

Cordially,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I discovered this hotel by chance, a friend mentioning to me in Cannes few months ago.
The place is a real jewel. Spent 10 days being taken care of. The surrounding is so peaceful. The team even went out with me for shopping ! Thank you to pentia and arshad.
Delicious food, I especially recommend the fajata with curries ! So yummy !
The spa is fabulous by design and divine for the massages. Hot oil massage is not to miss.
The manager was present and even invited us for an aperitif and to discuss our different discoveries.
I wish we could have stayed longer... As now back home the stress is coming. Back...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geneva2012hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Bonjour,

Just one recommendation : don’t come back to reality and make of SO Mauritius your second home !

The Mauritian specialties are full of flavors and always a real discovery. Nothing is better than a fresh Fajata ! Yummy indeed.

Our SO Spa is all around the concept of outside/inside, being fully open onto the garden, giving this feeling of bliss that only nature can provide, and we are glad it helped you gaining back some positive energy.

We look forward to welcoming you again to SO Mauritius for another gastronomic experience.

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My Mauritius friends and I decided on a night out for dinner. This restaurant and bar is so chic, under a huge what looks like a thatched roof right on the ocean. It just so happened to be Russian New Years and the restaurant was filled with the most curious clientele, babuschka (sp?) held a whole new meaning. Then there was the most fabulous fireworks I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Greetings from all of us at SO Mauritius !

Just a short note to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.
Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with all of the Hotel’s Ambassadors who make our team SO special.

I look forward to welcoming you again to SO Mauritius for another SO Intense experience.
Sincerely,

Bastien Blanc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,625 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,394 reviews
32.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,263 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Property: Sofitel So Mauritius
Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing