We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week in September and overall we had mixed feelings when we left. Let's start with the positives:

1. Location: The hotel is located on the wild south coast which is less crowded than the North and there are no other hotels for miles on either side so the beach really is a private beach with very little traffic (i.e. no hawkers)

2. Service: We found the service in the hotel to generally be pretty good. Special mention has to be made for Anne Lise who was just brilliant (efficient, remembered our b-fast order after the 2nd day etc) and Raj (our butler) who was helpful and always around without being intrusive

3. Spa: We had a couple of treatments at the spa and found them to be very good and the spa reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel.

The negatives were:

1. Location: The south coast is extremely windy and I had read reports telling me as much but I was surprised by the strength of the wind. It was impossible to sit on the beach without being blown away and you needed to find a few strategic spots that were sheltered in order to be able to enjoy the beach.

2. Service: While the resort itself was well looked after and maintained the beachfront was totally neglected. There were no members of staff to check in on guests and getting meals at the beach did not seem to be an option.

3. Restaurants: The hotel only has 2 restaurants and really only one (Le Flamboyant) that is open for dinner. For those who are on a full board package the options are incredibly limited therefore in terms of dining venues. Who wants to eat the same restaurant for 7 nights in a row? The Shanti Maurice and Heritage Le Telfair which are both nearby have multiple restaurants so the Sofitel So seems to be under-delivering in this area. We also found the room service menu to be very limited and the quality of the food to be pretty mediocre. (By contrast, we found the food at the restaurant for dinner very good).

4. Rooms: The rooms while adequate could have been better. We found having a tub outdoors was a complete waste unless you wanted to be bitten by mosquitos and surrounded by bugs. The garden was also similarly a waste and the rooms could have been extended instead.

5. Swimming pool: The resort has an oddly shaped swimming pool which is next to the beach but sheltered by trees so you can't actually see the sea. Once we found out how windy it was on the beach we realised why they had planted trees in front of the pool. For a resort of this size they really should at least have had 2 pools and they have the space to do it so not sure why not.

Overall, we found that the hotel was fine but were expecting more and left feeling slightly disappointed. I would not return to the Sofitel So given the negatives above given the range of choices in Mauritius.

As a final word of advice, we had hired a car and therefore did not take the full board option but most restaurants in Mauritius (outside of the hotels) are only open for lunch so we ended up eating in the hotel more than we intended. As a result, I think a half board package may be a better option for people as long as they are prepared to eat in the same restaurant.

Also do ask the butler to arrange a "Mauritius turndown" one night. It's really worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samueloShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Bonjour from the Sofitel So Mauritius,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your last stay with us.

Indeed, you left the resort with mitigated feeling having experienced the best and less good part of a holiday break. We take good note of your concerns and contsructive comments to enrich the So Experience.

We hope that your next visit will be more intense with magnifique moments with us!

With So Warm Regards,

The So Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel So Mauritius
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

So Mauritius is Just So Amazing,

it has everything you could possibly ask for, the hotel is designed by Kenzo it is fresh, colorful, and luxurious all at the same time. the rooms are in good size and you can easily move around, and the bathrooms are like a piece of art.

it has all the facilities you could need while on vacation, the white sandy beaches are lovely, and the main restaurant is the best place to enjoy a meal in the open with amazing views of the sea.

i would definitely recommend this hotel for families, couples, and friends who wants to have an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NatashaShesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Bonjour from So Mauritius !

We are delighted to hear from you following your So Stay.

We wanted you and all our guests, to have So unforgettable moments, which you can take away back home and having great memories. High level of service, culinary experience, comfort and decorated suites by Kenzo Takada, that all little but important touches that make a memorable stay with us. We will address your thanks to our So ambassadors who contributed to make your stay So Amazing.

We all look forward to welcome you again and your family and offering So Intense time with us.

Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

It's beyond our expectation to spend 5 nights among our 10-days-holiday in Mauritius, and definitely a wise decision to start with Sofitel So by beginning of our resorts' tour... Either by the swimming pool to bathe in the sunlight or by the long beach to breathe in the air, soothing by the wind on the coast, we enjoyed ourselves a lot by the lagoon off the shore, esp. when snorkeling we did see more fishes of various kinds and diverse colors than any other area of the Mauritian beach.
So breathtaking the mother nature could grant Sofitel such a unique view; So amazing that the coral under the water could be so vivid; We will be surely coming back, and we would like to enjoy the couple's SPA one more time...

Room Tip: Prestige Suite HB would be my same old choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings from So Mauritius !

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We understand that you are sea lover and admire the nature in its pure state and the So Mauritius has been the right choice for to have So memorable experience and relaxation!

Thank you again for sharing these unique emotions and it will be pleasure for me and my team to welcome you back for So memorable and So Intense visit!

Sincerely,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel So Mauritius hotel and highly recommend it after previous stays in the busier Grand Baie area. Sofitel So Mauritius is a luxury boutique hotel on the south coast of Mauritius. We stayed in early September and whilst the hotel seemed reasonably busy during the evening, during the day it was very quiet - the stunning beach has good snorkelling (free equipment loan of course) and most of the time was completely empty. One thing you may want to be aware of is that the wind is stronger and waves bigger at this location. The hotel restaurant is excellent and the staff very helpful. The hotel is expensive (but worth it in my view) - you may wish to look for a deal incuding dinner as 'a la carte' prices are expensive and there are no nearby alternatives.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RichardO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your last stay and for having shared your comments with us!

We are So delighted that you have enjoyed the best relaxing part of Mauritius and away from the busy places you knew before.
We wanted you, as all our guests, to have unforgettable SO moments, which you can take away with you, to have positive emotions and thoughts when you come back home.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Sofitel So Mauritius for SO much more discoveries!

So Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location and resort property, very friendly service staff. Excellent menues and appealing preparation of food. On the flip side ,we recommend to the management to communicate any irregularities like the closure/renovation of the La Plage Restaurant prior to your guest's arrival in So Mauritius..that would be So honest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaiSin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Sir/ Dear Madam,

Thank you for stay with us at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

It is a pleasure for my team and myself to read that you have had a So wonderful stay and enjoyed the great location, food and service. We hope that the souvenirs of Mauritius and its ‘So Ambassadors’ will be engraved in your memories for long.
I apologize for miscommunication in regards to closing for the La Plage restaurant prior to your stay.
It will be my pleasure to welcome you back at the Sofitel So Mauritius and present you our new look of beach restaurant.

With So Kind Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We received few days before our check-in a document asking the customers several settings. Though this is an excellent initiative, it was not treated, nor received, at time of check-in by the butler (and therefore a bit useless...). For example, we never got the requested non-allergic pllows.

There was also a bit of amateurism, again at check-in: the "golf car" took us to the room, then, after some visible hesitation, back at reception to settle the check-in, and then finally back to the room.

The weather was not good for us, since in the South it is pretty windy. We would advise the North of Mauritius.

We could not use the great beach.

However the general setting is very nice.

As for the food, it is excellent. Though, sometimes a bit "surfait". Some French traditional dishes are re-interpreted "nouvelle cuisine", but it is a bit misleading if you expect the traditional version. One example is the Steak Frites Béarnaise. It did not really come with fries (only 4:) and the béarnaise sauce was only within a teaspoon!
Desserts are excellent, especilly the chocolate ones ;)

The setting of the restaurant is great. Excellent service, with smiles, and small interesting discussions. A big thanks also to the bar responsible, who gave us a great unexpected surprise in our suite room.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. However the first morning our omelette never reached our table. It took so long, that we requested twice. Obvioulsy, it was forgotten. One morning, we had a group of 4 persons, looking, and repairing an electrical point nearby our table. This kind of operation should be done outside the breakfast hours. Asian-style breakfast is light for such hotel. Mainly western occidental.

The Suite room was very good, as it should always be. However there was no kettle for tea (it was quickly provided though after request).

Few strange things though: the provided fatboy near the outside shower was dirty; the outside frontside private small garden is basic with an outside bathtube thqt does look clean enough for us; the seaview is too hidden; inside the room, as a decoration, you have large additional "pillow" sideboards to the bedroom that can be unexpectly detached, since they are on wheels (be aware not to be hurt).

The swimming pool is original. However not so easy to swim in, since on both sides, you could easily touch or hurt large not-so-visible steps inside the pool. You can not see reall them due to the dark blue colour of the pool.

The spa is very well designed. Good hamman. Nice relaxing area.

The hotel provides bicycles in order to ride outside the resort, but it is clearly for teenagers or adults with small size. The bicycle I ride looks ridiculous compared to my size, while it was the biggest one they have. I almost had an accident.

With nice weather, we will recommend this hotel, it has a clear 4,5 note for us.

For us, at such price level, it is a bit weird that at least one transfer to airport is not included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Greetings from So Mauritius

We thank you for your detailed review and comments.

I would first apologize for some inconveniences on pre-organisation of your arrival at the hotel. I will ensure with my team that corrective actions are taken regarding your observations on the above.

Thank you for recommendation given to us, we hope that the Mauritian smile, the culinary So experience, So Spa and our Prestige Suite all these So nice souvenirs will be taken back with you back home.

It is with So much pleasure that we shall have the honour to welcome you back to the Sofitel So Mauritius for some unforgettable So Moments.

With So Regards,

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The resort is great. We spent five nights in September in Sofitel So and everything was wonderful. You will find Kenzo design everywhere in the resort and in your room. The room is very big and contains two outdoor space, with outdoor shower and tub.
Our butler is Riad. He is very nice and helps us a lot during our stay. He meet us everyday and asked if we need anything or have any arrangement during the day. Another butler Dinesh also helped us a lot.
The resort is located in the south and about 1 hour drive from the airport. It's a very calm and peaceful place, great place for couples.

Room Tip: The room is full of the Kenzo Elements. The 'My bed' gave me good night sleep and it is very...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekesama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you first of all for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your So Honeymoon break and for your feedback!

Indeed, the So is a ‘great place for honeymoon’, which is a unique get away with a real communion with the nature. Sofitel So prides itself for its personalised butler service and attention with regards to their guests to enhance their So Experience.
I will ensure that your comments are shared with our So ambassadors for their effort in service.

We look forward to welcome you back at the So Mauritius to revive the So honeymoon moments in this So place to be !

Kind Regards

Piotr Kupiec
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,805 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
1.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: £238 - £795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing