We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond our wildest dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I am sorry about the delay in posting this review. We stayed at the Sofitel So Mauritius in February as a family group of 6 adults, 2 children and an 8 month old baby. Prior to arrival I had advised our travel company 'The Holiday Place' that our booking was complicated as some family members were flying in from Singapore and that two families were leaving early. We requested rooms in the same area of the hotel.
On arrival (not all on the same flight) we were shown our villas by our personal butlers! Wow what a start. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were amazing and almost beyond description. There was total privacy without being hemmed in. I would advise readers to look at the photo's posted by other reviewers. We each had a private garden area with outdoor double bath as well as an enclosed outdoor garden shower to the rear. Indoors, as well as the bedroom area there was a dressing area, and separate shower and toilet all provided with lovely products and masses of good quality towels etc. The baby had been provided with a wonderful selection of Johnson's baby products as well as toys. The family with 2 children even had a private plunge pool. All the rooms were as requested in close proximity to each other and within very easy walking distance of the beach.

Food - what can I say? It was excellent and varied with super service from all the staff, with particular attention paid to the children and the baby. We were on a half board package which included local drinks with meals and also from 12 noon to 6 pm. Again, once the staff realised we were on the package (no wrist bands at this hotel thank goodness), they were very attentive often bringing drinks to the beach or pool as well as platters of fresh fruit to nibble on. With regard to the baby, whenever needed, they were more than happy to provide pureed food, all freshly prepared and beautiflly presented regardless of where we were within the hotel at no extra cost.

Beach - plenty of beach loungers and towels. Our recommendation would be to take rubber swimming shoes as there is coral and it would be easy to hurt yourself without these. Snorkels and fins are available from the hotel, although we prefer to use our own. The snorkelling inside the reef is fabulous and safe. There is guidance available as to where to swim and boats are not allowed in the swimming areas. One tip, don't bother with the 'free' water skiing. It's run by another hotel and is poorly organised. The beach is very long and you can walk for miles.

Pool - lovely, again with ample loungers and towels etc. My husband has a back problem and the staff brought him a straight back chair without a problem. The pool is well designed and suitable for all abilities of swimmer. If you swim in the early evening watch out for the fruit bats flying around!

Children's club - our grandchildren used this on a couple of occasions and were made very welcome and came away with more gifts!

Spa - not particularly cheap, but a lovely experience as a holiday treat.

Grounds - just fabulous, beautifully tended by an army of gardeners.

Location of the hotel - very quiet, if you want to go elsewhere, you need to arrange a trip or hire a car. Don't go to the Sofitel So Mauritius if you are looking for a busy night life.

Weather - we had quite a lot of rain, but the hotel provides large umbrellas as well as a buggy transport service if required. On the one day when the rain was torrential, various indoor activites were available including pancake making which the children loved!

Overall, a wonderfull holiday and thank you to ALL the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms near the beach restaurant. These were very quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to seize this opportunity to thank you for the time spent to write this review.

We enjoyed having you with us and very pleased that our services have met with your expectations.

Your comments will be shared with our ambassadors which I'm sure will motivate them to perform even better .
We just hope you will take back the good memories of the beach, food, spa and all the facilities you have enjoyed during this stay: the ‘service beyond your wildest dreams’

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Sofitel So Mauritius,

So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent 7 wonderful, relaxing and unforgettable nights.
My husband and myself booked this hotel for our 20th years anniversary and felt on a honeymoon all over again:
- luxurious, wild and amazing location
- friendly, helpful but "almost invisible" staff (a special thank to Ashrad, Anne Lise, Sophie, Johnny and Prithiviraj) that will go to any length just to make you feel welcomed
- stunning architecture and colourful decor
- top cuisine, mixing local and international recipes with a french artistic touch
- lounge bar with evening music (great Sweet Ladies......)
I must say one of the best hotel experience ever
Thank you So much...

Room Tip: We had the 202.....a stunning Beach Villa right in front of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Btravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Madam,

There are not enough words to convey our appreciation for your review! Receiving feedback such as yours from our treasured guests is highly motivational. Please be ensured that I will convey your views to our hotel team especially to Arshad, Anne Lise, Sophie, Johnny and Prithiviraj.

Affording our guests a fittingly comfortable and having so memorable experience is just what aimed for in our hospitality quest.
Thank you once again for choosing Sofitel So Mauritius and we hope to be given the honour of hosting you again soon!

So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We spent four nights at Bel Ombre. The rooms are large, ultra modern with big, bright, bold colors. The bed was massive and was surrounded by these movable side cushion/seats that you had to either crawl over to get in bed or move out of the way. Really stupid and non-functional. For the cost of the room and its enormous size, it lacked a comfortable chair to sit in with a proper reading light. The room had a patio with an ugly outdoor bath tub made of concrete and lined with small ceramic tiles that I avoided due to all the mosquitos and a small, rather ugly table and two chairs. Never used the outdoor lounge chairs on the grass because of the flying insects. Did, however, enjoy the beach, enjoyed looking for shells and enjoyed our lunch at the outdoor beach cafe. The food in this restaurant was far better than the food in the main dining room. The breakfast buffet was very nice, but the dinner menu was the same every evening. The menu and food were unremarkable. Forget ordering a mixed cocktail or wine, the prices are absurd!
For a Sofitel property, we came away a bit disappointed. The food and drinks were off, the room was decorated in an interesting style that was cold and uncomfortable. The staff was friendly but lacked a comfort in interacting with the guests.

The spa was very nice. The spa therapists could use more training on creating a quiet environment with quiet movements and different techniques for deep massage. The amount of time spent putting oil on the head and massaging the scalp is a bit overdrawn and unpleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.

I understand the your point of view on ‘comfort’ and ‘décor’ and I apologise for the deception of the facilities and services offered to you a during your stay with us.

Your comments regarding the culinary experience, exhaustive prices for wine card and spa experience will be shared with our teams to show concern about creating the best experience for each of our guests.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in our property and that when you next stay with us, we will able with our collaborators to show you the true So Experience.
So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa,
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Magnifique hôtel. Rooms are spacious and private pool!!!! Beautiful view. Restaurant is very Nice. Amazing breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful with us. Nice Island for lovely stay.the concierge is very professionnal

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Mjl R,
Many thanks indeed for such a fantastic review.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with and that our team has been delivering to our valued guests a high quality of service to make it the most memorable.
Your comments will be shared with our collaborators to encourage them thriving for excellence.
Again thank you for your encouraging feedback.
We are thoroughly looking forward to your next stay.

So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The welcome was different, you can already feel the difference of the 5 stars plus. Instead of the usual lobby where we have to fill in the forms, we were given towels to get refreshed and then driven in the golf cart directly to our rooms.

I was impressed by the room, what I like most was the feather bed, fluffy comfort, like a cocoon. The front view was a garden with an open- air tub, there were showers inside and outside and i like the color of the room.

I like the deep blue color of the swimming pool, the big trees behind it, makes me feel so close to nature. As for the food, I did not have to walk a lot and I really enjoyed the fish soup of the dinner and the fish, catch of the day for lunch :)

While the men were busy talking, we 4 ladies had a wonderful time dancing near the bar. Thanks Sofitel So Mauritius, Bel Ombre, Savanne District, Mauritius, for the sweet and memorable stay :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank King Youn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you for your amazing feedback.

I am glad to read your valuable feedback while you enjoyed every moment with us which ended to a 'sweet and memorable stay '.

Along with my team, I hope you will keep good memories of the moments shared among us and shall be pleased to welcome you again in his luxuriant paradise.

We look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The resort totally over my expectation.I lived here for a week.First of all I should thank Poonam and Sarah. They made us feel like home. Sarah gave us a perfect instruction during we arrived at the hotel. Poonam's chinese really help us a lot during our vocation. This is the best service I ever met.
The good side:
(1)Room decoration is the same as photo.
(2)Service is perfect.Everybody is smiling.
(3)As a Chinese customer, Poonam really help us a lot

The bad side :
(1)Breakfast is not so good. Everyday we have same breakfast , so I didn't have my breakfast in the last day!
(2) The food in FLAMBOYANT really frustrated us. No matter the Chinese set menu or French style menu. I thought 5 stars resort should have better food.
(3)Always strong wind in the beach ! Sand there is worse than the public beach near the hotel !
(4)Pool is too small !

Room Tip: Rooms and service are excellent. Food could be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xiaomeng y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your holidays and your feedback with regards to your experience.

It is indeed a pleasure read your review and your constructive comments which will be well considered in order to enhance your SO Experience. With pleasure, we will address your thanks to our well deserve collaborators who have been very helpful and offered you a high service quality.

We hope you will keep nice memories of your stay with us and look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and my sister have just had the most relaxing two weeks holiday we have ever had. All of the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble for them. The apartment was absolutely beautiful and had everything you could need. Food was very good nothing was to much trouble if we didn't like something they would make us something different. All resturant staff excellent.

The Spa is the best one I have ever been too and I've been to a lot of them. Staff again all excellent but must give a special mention to Jess with her magic hands. I had had a bad neck for six months she put it right with one treatment.thank you

I must give a special mention to Kevin who works round the pool and beach nothing was ever too much trouble for him he knew what you needed even before you knew yourself. Always there with drinks towels he even came to find you at the beach to make sure you had drinks . Thank you

Butlers were very good but Sarah was always happy and willing to please.

Which only leaves Adriano in the gym who was excellent. My sister has a bad hip Adriano worked with her everyday and helped her to be much more Mobile which enabled her to have a much better holiday. In his words you have to have activity to get flexibility and mobility. This man really knows his job and has made a very big impact on my sisters well being. So a very big thank you Adriano for all your help from us both.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your feedback with regards to your previous stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

It is with much attention that we read your comments; the team is purely dedicated to the satisfaction of our guests and do their best to make their stay as much enjoyable as possible. It is with pleasure and pride that we shall address our thanks to those you mentioned for instance Jess, Sarah and Adriano.

We look forward to have another opportunity to serve you for a more pleasant stay as the first one.

Sincerely yours,

Mr Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
1.7 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
8.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,008 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
9 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
30 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: £173 - £720 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SO Sofitel Mauritius is located on the southern tip of the island, in Bel Ombre, in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, a So Spa, a So Fit and a SO Kids Club The resort also has a tennis court, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing