We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr and Mrs Howell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mr and Mrs Howell”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from here on honeymoon and we both had an amazing time the staff couldn't do enough for you the hotel is very relaxing and had beautiful surrounding. The bar staff are so friendly and happy to chat and share there knowledge. Jayme Dave Ben and Jonathan are all great bar staff and make great cocktails. The restaurant staff are very efficient and pravish was very good and looked after us very well. The butler raj, arshad and hus team were brilliant catering for our every need and going beyond what we call there job to aid and make our stay as memorable as possible. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone and it's not going to be long before we visit again. Mr and Mrs Howell

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Krishowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Howell,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments above. This proves that you had made the right decision while selecting the Sofitel So Mauritius for your holiday.

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the ambassadors to keep the same level of service being always customer oriented.

So, we do hope that your next vacations will be planned in the Southern part of the island and that you may enjoyed as much as the your first visit.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    194
    77
    33
    19
See reviews for
253
700
25
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was by far the most amazing place I have ever stayed and the staff are incredible. Had 3 butlers at our beck and call who could not do enough for you. The rooms are clean and spacious. And the food...sensational. Didn't want to leave and would go back there tomorrow

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindyl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lindyl72,

What an amazing comment about your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius!
It is a real pleasure to know that you did enjoy our facilities and most importantly the service and found the hotel as ‘’ The Best hotel experience’. We are very grateful for that and proud to know that we stand out from other hotel services.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First Class hotel located in the pristine south of Mauritius. Very professional and pleasant feel throughout - the personal butler service is a nice feature. The room was spacious with an excellent bathroom and a good shower. Breakfast/dinner service and food were both of very high standards. The tropical gardens and private beach areas are superb and after comparing other luxury hotels around the island, this could easily be one of the very best overall. There is a convenience store and money exchange/ATM in the nearby Chemin Grenier. Will definitely stay again as it can't really get much better. Thank you to all the Mauritian staff who made the stay very special - you know who you are! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baoluo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to such a positive review!
Your great words have passed on to our ambassadors and we all express our gratitude.
We are pleased that you well enjoyed the property and its services and also in the neighbourhood. We hope that you will keep good memories of your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had an amazing time in Mauritius, the hotel and its surroundings are beautiful and the staff are all very helpful in ensuring our stay felt special. Our butler, Sanjay, in particular was very helpful in planning our itinerary, making sure we made the most of our visit in Mauritius. The rooms were lovely, and spacious and the deco (by Kenzo) speaks for itself. Food was fabulous with a wide variety to choose from in the buffet as well as an Ala carte menu that was excellent. Our visit to the spa was fantastic! The relaxation area (the cold & hot bath and sauna) is heaven; And our spa treatments were so relaxing and luxurious. The bar had live music every night, providing a very soothing finish to the end of the day, not to forget with a cocktail or two. I have nothing but praise for this hotel, all the staff from our butler to the waiters/waitresses, receptionist and the golf cart drivers are all so friendly and made our stay feel very personalised and memorable. Thank you!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Madam,

What an amazing review about your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius, thank you! It is indeed always a real pleasure to receive such a positive feedback from our guest.

I am delighted to know that our butler team in the villa helped you throughout all your stay and delivered a quality of service above your expectation specially those you have mentioned: it seems that you really have experienced the true Mauritian hospitality!

Be assured that I will share your very positive words with all teams and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I feel I could write a lot on this wonderful hotel and it's stand out people, which despite the hotel being surrounded by nature's finest (it truly is a lush paradise) -it is the staff that are the stars of this show. To be honest Mauritius is so painfully beautiful that it would be hard to be in any resort and not enjoy it, but the Sofitel So takes your experience to the next level.

My fiancé and I travel extensively and we have never been to a hotel in which the staff communicate so quickly and effectively with one another. I would finish asking for something and straight away the staff member would be calling one another to get things done. This was a big observation and a credit to the hotel and its management.

This resort is about quality, from the food, to the decor, to the gardens even to the clientele of people. It is very personalised and you won't find 1000 sun loungers by a big pool serving sugar water drinks. It's melodic and thought out. It is a haven and sanctuary.
The outdoor showers in the room are heaven as is the outdoor bath where you can spend your eves listening to the waves rolling in whilst looking at the stars.

We played tennis everyday, took the bikes the hotel provides out around the area and hired a car to go to 7 colored earth and a waterfall and just to explore. Our butler Raj, who was just so attentive and couldn't do enough for us, arranged this for us as well as so many other things he did for us. We truly can't thank him enough and he is a true asset and ambassador to the hotel.

Although the weather wasn't warm everyday and it rained a few days there is still plenty to do especially if you love nature. We looked at everything as an adventure and made the most of it. A walk in theain is very therapeutic!

The spa is fantastic! The area is a haven, the hot and cold baths after was a treat too. Don't leave without having a treatment and time in the relaxation area.

Any minor niggles we had were cleared up immediately. The hotel manager, Piotr was extremely down to earth and warm, which reflects upon how the staff treat all the guests too.

The food is probably the best I have eaten. The head chef , Jaques Ledu along with his team , create masterpieces and you understand what to eat with your eyes means. A big thank you to the chef as he accommdated my dietary needs and suprised us daily with such delicious art! Just go for the food if not anything else, it is that good!

The bar with live music which changes daily is a nice pre dinner idea. The cocktails are half price before certain times and you should defiantly sit there, try the (strong) local rum whilst listening to some soulful jazz.

Our waiter on many occasions Ajay was standout. Friendly, knowledgable and attentive. We enjoyed every dinner due to his great nature and service.

I feel bad as I do not remember everyone's name but I hope management are able to pass our thanks to all the service staff in all outlets we dined. Not one of them was short of spectacular. Always helpful and always smiling. The gym staff on the same par. All staff!

Thank you to Rajeev who welcomed us so wonderfully and saw us off.

You won't regret staying here and if you do then you must be hard to please!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,

What a wonderful detailed comment about your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius, on behalf of the team we thank you very much!
I am very happy to learn that our team delivered a high quality of service during all your stay. Service is one of our priorities and it is always a real pleasure to have feedback from our guest and I would like to thank you for mentioning it.

It is also very important for us that you enjoyed your stay through the service proposed such as the spa, the bar, the gym and the outstanding gastronomy of our Chef Jacques through dining experiences.

Thank you again for your great feedback and we do sincerely hope that your honeymoon break will be everlasting and will be engraved in your most cherished memories.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back during your next Mauritius visit.

So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beuningen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at So Sofitel Mauritius! The staff is excellent and friendly. We had nothing to complain on our honeymoon. In this hotel it's all about luxury and service. And they make it happen! The surroundings are beautiful and everything is well maintained. Only criticism is that the suites miss some color inside, they are very "clean" decorated by the famous designer Kenzo. Every day there is a choice of buffet or a la carte dinner in two restaurants. There are plenty of opportunities to entertain, for example, a spa, water sports, etc.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you for having chosen the Sofitel So Mauritius for your holiday being on honeymoon.
It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments and those are indeed highly appreciated and will be shared with our entire team who strive to provide a high level of service. We are very proud to have made you experienced a luxurious five star service and provide to you the real get away of the place to be!
We do hope that you will cherish the memories and moments shared at the So Mauritius … and that you will be back to celebrate some forthcoming wedding anniversaries with us in this luxuriant paradise.
So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Made to feel special from the moment you arrive by every member of staff you meet. Your enjoyment is their priority. Rooms very spacious, clean and modern. Outdoor bath and shower very novel - just ignore the insect life. Food was fabulous - five star in our opinion - with any personal preferences catered for if possible. We were spoilt rotten all week and received many surprises from the staff. We feel we should mention the staff that helped to make our wek amazing: Sanjay, Parveesh, Kevin, Dave, Quinssey and our butler Sarah. We send Poitra the manager our good wishes and thanks for making our week so special. The only thing we would comment on is the price of drinks. They were very high which put many off using the bar before and after dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mrs Linda C,
We thank you for your impressive comments following your stay with us.
Indeed, with pride and pleasure, we read that you have well enjoyed the property, its facilities and services provided, specially the sense of being pampered during your entire stay from the Hotel Manager to our helpful ambassadors.
Your comments are highly appreciated and will be shared with our entire team who strive to provide a high level of service.
We do hope that these memories and moments shared at the So Mauritius will be engraved in your memories.
It will be our honour to welcome you back in the luxuriant south of the Island!
So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,709 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Property: Sofitel So Mauritius
Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing