We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous room design and decoration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel So Mauritius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel So Mauritius
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Gorgeous room design and decoration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I absolutely loved the room layout and decoration. I thought it was gorgeous and same for the decor at the restaurant and reception area. This is great design! However I couldn't say same for the exterior look... The butler Raj was very efficient and sorted out a few matters, namely the coffee maker that wasn't working properly, brought in a kettle that was missing and coordinated my requests with gym instructor. I would suggest some attention to details to make it become really great. For example the shower head of the outdoor shower was clogged (it was fixed thereafter) and the bean bag there was not too inviting. In general the service was very good and staff was very responsive. As regards to the food, it was good. Another positive note is the spa: great amenities and service there. If you are looking for calm and rest, this hotel is for you. However if you are looking for lots of activities and wish for a great beach, it is better to go to the North or West of the island. In summary, we enjoyed. Both my son and I thought the So room (and its amenities) plus the butler service were the highlights of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeleneAhPong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Mrs Ah Pong,
It is with great pleasure that we receive your comments following your So experience with us!
We thank you for your feedback and constructive comments with regards to the services from our different services. Your special thanks will be addressed to Raj, your dedicated Butler during your stay. Indeed, the personalized service through our butlers and the stunning decor of Kenzo Takada location are among our unique selling for which we recommend our guests to come and enjoy; we are thus glad that you were sensitive to these.
We thank you for you again for encouragement and trust in our services and facilities for these fabulous recommendations.
We look forward to welcome you for another visit the luxuriant South Paradise!
So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    736
    175
    70
    29
    17
See reviews for
216
635
24
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had a short visit in July. The weather was very windy, but it is Winter in Mauritius, saying that it didn't impact our stay at all.
Rooms were beautiful, the bed was SO comfortable, never slept so well before. I agree with the comments about getting in and out of bed. It didn't bother us at all but I would imagine my parents in their 70's may struggle a little. Very modern room with a cool outside shower and great bath outside on the patio. We were offered to have the bath ran for us with candles and petals. Nice touch. The turndown service on the last night was awesome and so memorable. I don't want to spoil it for anyone reading who goes, but it was great!
The TV had Internet connection with a wireless keyboard which was good. Wi if everywhere and no cost. Free range of films too.
The fridge was not working or the keyboard when we arrived but the butler Raj and Bob sorted these for us.
Good food, cool modern bar and restaurant. Service there was a bit slow on our first night but much better on the second.
The spa was excellent. We had a back massage and it was the best massage I have ever had.
Lovely beach, quite deserted. Bean bags everywhere on the sand. We found a large swing out of the wind and in the sun. It was a large platform with a huge bean bag on it. We loved it. We went everyday for a walk on the beach and found the swing. Even fell asleep on it one day!
We came away from our 3 days break extremely relaxed. We must give the credit to the hotel for that. It was exactly what we were looking for. Thank you

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OVERSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Mauritius!

We sincerely thank you for your feedback following your stay with us!

It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed that the So relaxing days over this place surrounded by nature and calm but as well satisfied by the services from our different services.
When comes the surprise factor during a stay or even during the last night, we think that these intense moments always remain memorable with a dedicated team who thrive for your utmost satisfaction!
We thank you again for your good thoughts and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a break in the South the island.

Sincerely,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Different concept from other common hotels. Very impressive. Immense.

Best points: FOOD was excellent yummy yummy, good service overall, Nice SPA.

Not so good: The pool outside the room is not well maintained, not welcoming! very windy in winter!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Natasha S,

We warmly thank you for your feedback.

We are grateful that you raised some positive and negative comments following your experience with us .

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the facilities provided but nonetheless are conscious the pool is not attractive during winter season and not encouraging to make use of it; please rest assured we are working on that point to enhance your experience with us.

We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again, for a longer stay this time, to take advantage of the south of the island.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have recently returned from a superb holiday at 'So Mauritius. We have travelled to many countries in the world and this is the best beach resort hotel that we have had the privilege to visit. Throughout the hotel the staff are first class, happily putting them selves out to resolve any problems. The accommodation is pleasantly different. Very comfortable beds, plenty of room and a lovely outlook onto the gardens. The food is very good. Being on a gluten free diet my wife usually has problems with restaurants, but Chef Jacque and his staff were very informed and very helpful. We really enjoyed our 'special' meal served in the kitchen. It gave us an insight
into the workings of a hotel kitchen. It was fun eating food with kitchen utensils instead of knives
and forks.
We hope to be able to come to your hotel in the future........... Charles and Ann

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Tyas,

We thank you for your fantastic review.

It is with pleasure that we shall share your impressions in terms of offerings and services provided to enhance your experience with us. Your feedback will be addressed to our team in order to continually motivate them for the quest of excellence and to keep our guests delighted as such. We are very happy the little attention to your allergy has been taken care of and that this has impressed you.
We are honoured that you have rated the hotel as ‘Best Beach Resort’ and shall be pleased to welcome you back for more ‘intense unique Moments’ in the wild south of the island.
So Kind Regards,
Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from here on honeymoon and we both had an amazing time the staff couldn't do enough for you the hotel is very relaxing and had beautiful surrounding. The bar staff are so friendly and happy to chat and share there knowledge. Jayme Dave Ben and Jonathan are all great bar staff and make great cocktails. The restaurant staff are very efficient and pravish was very good and looked after us very well. The butler raj, arshad and hus team were brilliant catering for our every need and going beyond what we call there job to aid and make our stay as memorable as possible. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone and it's not going to be long before we visit again. Mr and Mrs Howell

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Krishowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Howell,

It is with great pleasure that we read your comments above. This proves that you had made the right decision while selecting the Sofitel So Mauritius for your holiday.

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the ambassadors to keep the same level of service being always customer oriented.

So, we do hope that your next vacations will be planned in the Southern part of the island and that you may enjoyed as much as the your first visit.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira De Sousa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was by far the most amazing place I have ever stayed and the staff are incredible. Had 3 butlers at our beck and call who could not do enough for you. The rooms are clean and spacious. And the food...sensational. Didn't want to leave and would go back there tomorrow

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindyl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lindyl72,

What an amazing comment about your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius!
It is a real pleasure to know that you did enjoy our facilities and most importantly the service and found the hotel as ‘’ The Best hotel experience’. We are very grateful for that and proud to know that we stand out from other hotel services.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Antonio Ferreira De Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

First Class hotel located in the pristine south of Mauritius. Very professional and pleasant feel throughout - the personal butler service is a nice feature. The room was spacious with an excellent bathroom and a good shower. Breakfast/dinner service and food were both of very high standards. The tropical gardens and private beach areas are superb and after comparing other luxury hotels around the island, this could easily be one of the very best overall. There is a convenience store and money exchange/ATM in the nearby Chemin Grenier. Will definitely stay again as it can't really get much better. Thank you to all the Mauritian staff who made the stay very special - you know who you are! :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baoluo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, General Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to such a positive review!
Your great words have passed on to our ambassadors and we all express our gratitude.
We are pleased that you well enjoyed the property and its services and also in the neighbourhood. We hope that you will keep good memories of your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

So Kind Regards,

Antonio Ferreira de Sousa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,276 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
#1 of 2 in Chemin Grenier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
32.1 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel So Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel So Mauritius

Property: Sofitel So Mauritius
Address: Royal Road, Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61008
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel So Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre is located on the southern tip of the island in the most naturally beautiful place. The resort has 92 rooms, suites and villas, 2 restaurants, 2 bars, So Spa, So Fit. The resort also has a tennis court, kids club, outdoor swimming pool, 520 mts of beach, natural lagoon and corals, boat house with water activities and 24 hr personal butler service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Travelbag, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel So Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel So Mauritius Bel Ombre Hotel Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing