We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villas, terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heritage The Villas
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely villas, terrible service”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was my second time to the villas and disappointingly, will likely be the last. The villas and chateau staff are generally top rate; it’s the adjoining Awali and Telfair hotels that reduce the overall experience.

The pick of the restaurants at both the properties, for us, was Ginger, made all the better by the manager there. Avoid Annabelle’s, it feels as though this is the place everyone goes when they missed out booking anywhere else, which for a restaurant supposedly bordering on fine dining is not a good trait to have.

I’m not sure if the hotels were busier than when we stayed the first time however, unless we booked all activities and dinner in advance (3-4 days), there was almost no chance of securing a spot.

Overall the facilities are very good throughout the whole property, it’s just the execution is severely lacking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for showing us your loyalty by choosing Heritage The Villas again.
We are really honored that despite some inconveniences, you have taken the time to share with us your experience. Rest assured that we will take the necessary measures to improve all the areas that you mentioned.

I am now confident that if you choose to visit us again, you will feel the difference, and enjoy fully your stay.

Best regards
Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
112
21
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I like Trip Advisor so find this a tougher-than-normal review to write. Tough because in terms of location, climate and faculties-wise, this resort is truly spectacular. Really. Paradise incarnate. No if's or but's. So why tough to write?...its the old chestnuts ''service". Comes up on TA time and time again as THE main element behind a 5* rating:

The entire resort - Heritage Villas...as well as sister hotels Alawi and Telfair - simply missed it. Its not really the place to dig into root-causes but my impression is that good, well-meaning staff were in sufficiently trained and had poor language skills. Maybe an example helps:

8:00 PM Me: I'd like the South African Merlot wine with dinner please.
8:01 PM Waitress:Certainly, good choice
8:10 PM Waitress: Sorry, we don't have that wine . Would you like to choose another?
8:11 PM Me: Yes, sure. I'll try the French Claret XXX instead
8:20 PM Waitress: Sorry we also don't have that wine. How about this recommendation (shows me a Rose wine from France somewhere...really odd....a Rose?)
8:21 PM: Me: which red wines do you have tonight?
8:21 PM Waitress: let me check.
8:25 PM: Waitress: brought bottles to table...here are 3 good red wines; I chose one for speed.

Another quick one at the C-Club beach towel "kiosk":

Me: "Hi, I'm from Heritage Villa No. 107; I'd like 2 beach towels please"
Attendant: " one-zero-what?
Me: "7"
Attendant: (wrote 1017 down); are you at the Telfair? ( a sister hotel on same complex)
Me: "No, Heritage the Villas"
Attendant "Ah yes.Thanks.. How many towels would you like? One"?"
Me: "No, two towels"

All-in-all, nothing life-threatening.... and in a way amusing if it only happened once or twice in the week.On the other hand, several times a day - for 8 days - starts to grate. This - coupled with the "water-off-a-ducks-back" feedback style compelled me to write this review. Again, location/weather/facilities....paradise on earth; service crap.

Don't be surprised by a "thanks for the review but your experience was not typical" reaction from the resort. However, as I read it, we were not alone. One essential root cause was the staffs' limited grasp of English language - I can imagine that French guests would have many less problems.

All this said, I will be back - probably without the kids!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comprehensive, very frank and extremely constructive review.
Rest assured that my team and I are working around the clock to ensure we slowly but surely iron out the last teething issues within our service.
I am very pleased to read that you might consider coming back again with your family and kids, if the opportunity ever arises.

Best Regards
Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

If there is one place where one can expect comfort, peacefulness, luxury, courtesy, comfort associated with a wide range of quality service... It is definitely Heritage The Villas. All the staff, from your arrival until your last minute, including gardeners, maid, cook and excellent chefs, daycare personnel at TiMomo and Pro coach at the golf,... is the best you would expect. Equipment and furniture in the villa are high-quality, and the most liked is the cleanliness of the surroundings topped by the relative distance of any neighborhood, ensuring privacy and quietness.
Access to the two top hotels, the C-Beach club and the golf, is such a great benefit, that one should think about extending the stay to fully enjoy the villa too!
The villa resort to go!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GVendryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Ti-Momo staff and to the Pro coach at the golf,and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Villa and location is pretty fantastic but service at adjoining Awali and Le Telfair hotels is the poorest I have ever experienced in a supposed 5 star resort! Hotel services were pretty limited with almost all everything including dinner having to be booked days in advance and given was only there for a week is not my idea of a relaxing holiday. Low point was really the service in all aspects of the resort, staff while keen just fundamentally didn't understand basics of service. Highlights included having dinner sat on dirty plates adjacent to table for 5 minutes then being served with it, ask to leave a restaurant after being seated for not having a collared shirt on, served a bottle of red wine from the fridge and being told that I didnt know about wine, waiting 30mins to be served for breakfast when there was only 4 people in the restaurant and then being harassed at breakfast to come and settle the room bill. As a result of the above we ate in the villa much more than we would do on a holiday like this. Given the choice of great resorts in Mauritius the poor service offered by Heritage means it would be unlikely I would return to this resort and wouldn't recommend it as given the choice available the service would be the discerning factor for me. If you are happy to stay in villa and aren't fussed by hotel amenities then the villa was pretty special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crairoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the trip advisor community, as our team at Heritage the Villas is proudly dedicated to our customers and to the service delivered to them. And we will for sure take the necessary actions, correctives measures to make sure that the unluckily points you’ve raised do not happen again.
Please note by looking at the other reviews that we are not in a habit of delivering the service you mentioned, whether for the Hotels or the villas. Anyway something went wrong and on behalf of the whole team, please accept our sincere apologies.

As professional and humans we seek for a second chance, and we sincerely hope that you will give it to us by choosing again Heritage resorts.

Best regards
Stephane dadoune

Resort Manager
HERITAGE VILLAS | C Beach Club | CHATEAU DE BEL OMBRE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Please excuse the tardiness in submitting this review.

We visited in April and it was the first time we had ever holidayed abroad. We booked on Thursday before the Easter weekend and flew on Tuesday, the agent warned us we were starting at the top and nothing would ever compare and how true that proved to be!

We have just stayed at a high profile resort in Antigua which cost more than twice as much but it couldn't compete on any level. Not even close.

The villas are absolutely perfect for a family, the staff are welcoming and keen to look after you and the resorts at linked resorts are perfect for the family.

Mauritius was fantastic. Amazing memories and we will definitely return to see if it really was as good as we remember :) When there ask the concierge to book you a speedboat to go and swim with the dolphins and have a BBQ on a private island. So good we did it twice. Cost only a tad more than a family day out to a theme park in the UK but was absolute bliss!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ak11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trouauxbiches
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We are residents of the island and choose to take our holidays and breaks at Heritage Villas. The management of these villas has improved significantly and we find ourselves receiving an efficient, warm welcome, where everything we need to enjoy a relaxing quiet vacation is found withing these magnificent villas. We shall be recommending and visiting Heritage Villas again soon.

Room Tip: South facing villas are especially beautiful to watch the sun setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigitteparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We sincerely hope to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had two weeks at a Heritage Villa in August – family of four with two young children. It far exceeded our expectations. The villa was stunning – plus it provided plenty of room for the children to run around in but with just about all the amenities that you would have if staying at a hotel so a really perfect combination. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Our villa was beautiful – 4 bedrooms (we were upgraded from 3 beds) – very spacious and beautifully designed interior with every mod con we could wish for. Spotlessly clean.

The services provided were spot on. Daily maid service (emptied dishwasher, made the beds, emptied bins, tidied and generally cleaned) was an absolute treat that you wouldn’t get in an ordinary villa rental. Breakfast at Le Chateau (just for the villas) was very good and well run. The golf buggy that comes with the Villa was great (and good fun!) as you could zip around very quickly – 2-3 minutes to Le Chateau, no more than 5 mins to the beach. The C Beach Club – a private beach club – was also a great addition. Contemporary and cool but really friendly plus abundant towels and amazing sun loungers – all reserved for the Villas. From here you can also book the complementary non-motorized watersports.

We used the Timomo kid’s club every few days. It is entirely complementary, open all day and you can drop children off at any time for any length of time you wish. I haven’t used a kid’s club on holiday before but the standard seemed extremely high to me – purpose built and secure building, lovely outside space with sand pits, climbing frames etc and their own large paddling pool. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. A huge bonus for parents!

All the staff at the Villas, Beach Club and hotels were extremely good – very friendly, helpful, efficient and nothing was ever a problem. They were all very welcoming and helpful with the children making them and us feel welcome everywhere. I must also mention the Manager too, Dev Buljore, as he made us feel very well looked after – met us on arrival and was there to see us out on departure (at 5.15 in the morning!) and he was around at breakfasts in case we wanted to ask about anything.

Food shopping was easy. The day after we arrived we hired a taxi which took us to the supermarket 15 mins drive away, waited (for up to 2 hours) and returned for about £12. We topped up with trips to the resort shop when needed. The shops shut early on Saturdays and public holidays.

We had dinners out about half the time but stuck with the C Beach Club and Le Chateau as they were easiest with our young children. Food delicious and they were always happy to offer very child friendly food. We managed to arrange for pizza delivery from the C Beach Club on the day we arrived which was delicious with salad and bread etc.

We had some lovely trips around the area – including the Frederica Nature Reserve which is an area next to the Heritage Villas – very beautiful and worthwhile doing.

The weather in August is just coming to the end of their winter – average 24c. It was a mixture of sun and cloud almost every day. Beautiful and warm when the sun was out – cooler when it was cloudy. We were happy to escape the very hot weather that it can be in the Med in summer so this suited us fine.

Needless to say we very much intend to go again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the staff and in particular to the Ti-Momo, C Beach club teams, and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.We are delighted to read that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and we look forward to it.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.5 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort (Closed for renovation)
7.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,429 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
32.5 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage The Villas

Property: Heritage The Villas
Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002 (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Heritage The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage The Villas Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing