We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golffriends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage The Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heritage The Villas
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golffriends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is a big problem, there is no supermarket in the resort. When you live in a bungalow you need to have the possibility to visit a supermarket but there was about 15 km to the nearest supermarket.
The golfcourse is very good and there is nice and helpfull people in the clubhouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are happy that you have enjoyed your golf getaway despite being inconvenienced by the lack of supermarkets and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage The Villas.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
107
19
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I stayed in 3 villas over New Years Eve. The villas were beautiful and well equipped, regularly cleaned and laundry done. However room service to the villas was incredibly slow and often incorrect. The food was atrocious throughout and we found ourselves using our kitchens often. Also we had 4 children and 3 teenagers and with promises from the website regarding the kids and teen clubs, we were looking forward to them being busy. No such luck as the teen club was non existent and the kids club was barely in operation. The holiday was fine but I wouldn't go back here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chin3084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valuable guest,
First, I would like to thank you for sharing your constructive comments with us, even after few months.
We are pleased to hear that our accommodations and housekeeping services were part of the good moments you have experience at Heritage The Villas.
However we will look into our process regarding catering in the villas, which is as per our standard, a pre-ordered meal to be delivered at an agreed time. The room service concept as expected in a classic hotel is not what we are offering here.

In relation to the issue raised concerning kid's, and teen's activity, we are quite disappointed that with our 2 kids clubs, and 1 “Cool” teens club offering extensive daily activities for all ages, and with the 120 kids present at this period, we didn't manage to keep your kids busy. I guess we would have done better if our hostesses in our kids activities center were informed. We would have organised a special program.

Best regards
Stephane Dadoune,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife, son (almost 3) and I are just back from 15 days at the Heritage The Villas.

Short (conclusion) :
Villa at Heritage was an excellent choice and experience, where we had good time. It is excellent value for money and we will surely come back.

The plot :

We wanted to stay within a resort with many facilities such as golf, spa, Kid Club..., while having lot of room, high level of comfort and privacy.
The choice of the Villas in Heritage Bel Ombre, was simply perfect.

As our third trip to Mauritius, it is important to mention that the Mauritian people are one of a kind on earth, with their natural kindness, zen and relax attitude with excellent efficiency.
All the employees at Heritage were very kind and helpful.

The "Heritage" site :

Beautiful Location, between the sea and a very neat Golf Resorts with around 130 villas, all very well designed with good privacy. Gardens and vegetation are luxuriant, a true delight for your eyes.

As Villa Resident you have access to all the facilities of the Telfair and Hawali Heritage, which is so convenient if you want some "action"...
A golf cart is provided with the villa to reach all the hotels and facilities around within 5 to 7 minutes.
A Beach Club mostly designed for villa residents with a bar, two restaurants, a pool for all ages and all the water sports you can imagine.
The Telfair Hotel in a pure British style and the Hawali Hotel, which is to my point of view more suitable if you have kids.

The Villas :

On this point i may be not very fair :o) as we have, very kindly, been upgraded from a 2 bedrooms to a 4 bedrooms villas.
However, as i have visited 6 different type of villas, this part of the review is somehow objective...

They all have a pool, large enough to get cool and have fun with family, but do not expect to swim, surrounded by very large terraces and covered patios where you can have a drink, dinner and relax all day long.

They are all decorated with lot of taste, you really feel like home, all the rooms have their own bathroom, AirCon, Cable TV. Beds and pillows are really comfortable.

Living room comes with 5.1 Audio Surround System, our villa also had an outdoor audio system for Apple devices...
Kitchen are perfectly equipped and very spacious.

The maids are doing a tremendous job, every day the villa was fully cleaned from bottom to top.

They provide an in room service for the villas, and they can arrange almost any special demand you can imagine, and i would like to especially thanks the General Manager M. Dave, which has been so kind and imaginative in order to organize my wife's anniversary...

To be improved in the Villas:

- There is not yet a 24/7 room service for food as you would expect in a 5* hotel. This would be so convenient for lazy clients like us, when we feel so comfy at home and do not want to go to a restaurant or cook. (you can have a chef in the villa but this needs to be organize 24H in advance.)
Having to the possibility to be delivered, within an hour in the villa, even really simple food such as club sandwiches, pizzas, pastas, sushis... would be really a must.

- A few equipments where out of order when we arrived, they fixed it very fast with a very good discretion, but maybe they should need to put in place a "check list test" before renting any villa.

The Golf :

From back tee, a tough & challenging course with beautiful scenery.
Beware the greens they are very firm, and it is difficult to stop the ball over the 8 or 7 iron.
Golf carts with GPS are provided if you want to.

Kids Club :

The 2 kids clubs are absolutely perfect, many activities and adventures are designed for you kids, they are both very well equipped (games, pool for kids...). Our preference goes to the one at the Telfair, with absolute kindness of the baby sitters.

Fitness & Sports:

Only visited the one at the Telfair, which is clean, in a nice location and well furnished.

Restaurants :

We mostly had dinner at the C Beach, food is good and simple.
We also tried the Japanese restaurant at Telfair, very nice location, most of the reviews
described the food as amazing, i would not go so far, but it was fine.

Spa (My wife) :

At the Telfair, products are very good, the treatments were fine, but the location and some views from windows needs to be improved. (AirCon was a bit too strong, according to the fact that we are mostly naked in a Spa :o)

To conclude, The Villas at Heritage are very, very nice.
Between the solution of renting two or three rooms in a hotel or renting a Villa, there is not to hesitate.
We had wonderful time, it is excellent value for money and we will surely come back.

Alexandre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Ti-Momo staff and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. Also, for your information, we do deliver dishes to villas,just not on a 24-hour basis. Finally, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would highly recommend Heritage The Villas, especially if you are travelling with kids. We were upgraded to a larger villa on arrival which was a nice surprise. The villas are very comfortable and well decorated. The views are spectacular. A golf cart is provided which makes it easy to get around the resort. Everything we needed for our toddler was also provided. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The only thing to be aware of when planning your vacation is that you have to order in-Villa dining or make restaurant reservations at least 12 hours in advance. Of course the villas also have full kitchens and a high end outdoor grill if you want to cook at home.

I would happily go back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LvT_traveljournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We are thrilled to read that you are considering coming back.

Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts,

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was our first time at Villas Valriche. We were overwhelmed by the extraordinary expanse of the estate and the breathtaking views and eye-catching landscaping while we were driving to our villa. The villa had a garage and golf car which is provided. Prior to our booking, we reviewed the website which shows several types of villas but we were told that booking was made according to number of rooms not type of villa. We specified a three-bedroom villa and insisted that all rooms be on the ground floor as we were travelling with two young children, 5 and 2; so no stairs. When we arrived the villa was one-storey with only one bedroom on the ground-floor. Also, the floor-plan we had viewed on the site showed quite a spacious living area which was not the case especially as we were 6 adults and two children. We were, however, very satisfied with actual design of the interior which is quite modern all the while providing comfort and luxury. The kitchen is quite small but spotlessly clean with all the necessary equipment; oven, microwave, toaster, kettle. The scullery has a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer with another sink which came in rather handy for the washing up so as to declutter the main kitchen. The bedrooms were quite spacious especially for my sister-in-law and her two young children.
The villa has a nice veranda with a kiosk with comfortable sofas. The pool was not as big as we had hoped and it was quite deep (we have also stayed at the Beaulieu Villa at So Sofitel where the pool was big enough for at least 4 adults and 2 children). We were also disheartened that we did not have any sun loungers as we view these as essential to relax by the pool. We requested these throughout our stay and were finally told that it did not depend on the administrative staff but on the owner of the actual villa.
The booking is on bed and breakfast with breakfast being at the grand Chateau de Bel Ombre. Several reviews had stated that the food was lacking in variety but we were delighted with the freshness and high quality of the produce. We had also demanded that all food on the estate be certified ‘Halal’ and were given the guarantee by the very helpful Fardeen. We however, asked for any cooked food to be made separately from any non-halal products, at each restaurant we went to. At the Chateau, all pastries and jams are ‘homemade’ and utterly delicious. The breakfast consisted of several ‘courses’; fresh fruit juice and pastries, choice of fried egg or omelette with hash browns, chicken sausages, baked beans, yoghurt, a plate of fresh fruit and tea or coffee. On the second day my 5 year old niece casually mentioned chocolate pancakes, which were not on the menu. We were all pleasantly surprised when the waitress, who we regret not having got her name, came with a plate of ‘crepes’ with chocolate sauce. My niece was overjoyed and we would all like to send a special thank you to that waitress who we hope will recognise herself.
We went to the C Beach Club which is situated on a nice part of the beach and which has a very big pool. We enjoyed a light lunch and we also had dinner there. The décor there was also very charming but was overshadowed by very dirty plastic sun loungers.
My brother and sister-in-law met a welcoming restaurant manager, Julio, at the Awali Heritage Hotel who managed to get us a table for dinner although they were quite booked. The food was lovely set in a convivial atmosphere. We especially liked the desserts by the delightful head pastry chef. She encouraged us to taste her special tart which was delectable.
Overall, the villa is ideal when travelling with children and the estate is extremely well maintained. We spent a memorable time and are enthusiastically looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RujeedawaKhodabocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for having taken the time to share comments of your experience, as our team at Heritage the Villas is constantly looking for ways to improve guest experiences. Hence, we will take the necessary actions and corrective measures to make sure that the issues that you've raised, do not happen again.
I would like to apologise about the issue regarding your reservation request: we should have told you that none of our 3 bedroom villas are one-storey, as the architect chose to optimize the wonderful views that you may enjoy from the master bedroom upstairs. Also, we would like to underline that all villas are equipped with sunbeds around the pool but never for the total number of guests in a villa, that may go up to 10.
As professionals and humans, we seek for a second chance, that we sincerely hope that you will give to us if you ever decide to choose Heritage Resorts again.

Best regards
Stephane dadoune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was my second time to the villas and disappointingly, will likely be the last. The villas and chateau staff are generally top rate; it’s the adjoining Awali and Telfair hotels that reduce the overall experience.

The pick of the restaurants at both the properties, for us, was Ginger, made all the better by the manager there. Avoid Annabelle’s, it feels as though this is the place everyone goes when they missed out booking anywhere else, which for a restaurant supposedly bordering on fine dining is not a good trait to have.

I’m not sure if the hotels were busier than when we stayed the first time however, unless we booked all activities and dinner in advance (3-4 days), there was almost no chance of securing a spot.

Overall the facilities are very good throughout the whole property, it’s just the execution is severely lacking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for showing us your loyalty by choosing Heritage The Villas again.
We are really honored that despite some inconveniences, you have taken the time to share with us your experience. Rest assured that we will take the necessary measures to improve all the areas that you mentioned.

I am now confident that if you choose to visit us again, you will feel the difference, and enjoy fully your stay.

Best regards
Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I like Trip Advisor so find this a tougher-than-normal review to write. Tough because in terms of location, climate and faculties-wise, this resort is truly spectacular. Really. Paradise incarnate. No if's or but's. So why tough to write?...its the old chestnuts ''service". Comes up on TA time and time again as THE main element behind a 5* rating:

The entire resort - Heritage Villas...as well as sister hotels Alawi and Telfair - simply missed it. Its not really the place to dig into root-causes but my impression is that good, well-meaning staff were in sufficiently trained and had poor language skills. Maybe an example helps:

8:00 PM Me: I'd like the South African Merlot wine with dinner please.
8:01 PM Waitress:Certainly, good choice
8:10 PM Waitress: Sorry, we don't have that wine . Would you like to choose another?
8:11 PM Me: Yes, sure. I'll try the French Claret XXX instead
8:20 PM Waitress: Sorry we also don't have that wine. How about this recommendation (shows me a Rose wine from France somewhere...really odd....a Rose?)
8:21 PM: Me: which red wines do you have tonight?
8:21 PM Waitress: let me check.
8:25 PM: Waitress: brought bottles to table...here are 3 good red wines; I chose one for speed.

Another quick one at the C-Club beach towel "kiosk":

Me: "Hi, I'm from Heritage Villa No. 107; I'd like 2 beach towels please"
Attendant: " one-zero-what?
Me: "7"
Attendant: (wrote 1017 down); are you at the Telfair? ( a sister hotel on same complex)
Me: "No, Heritage the Villas"
Attendant "Ah yes.Thanks.. How many towels would you like? One"?"
Me: "No, two towels"

All-in-all, nothing life-threatening.... and in a way amusing if it only happened once or twice in the week.On the other hand, several times a day - for 8 days - starts to grate. This - coupled with the "water-off-a-ducks-back" feedback style compelled me to write this review. Again, location/weather/facilities....paradise on earth; service crap.

Don't be surprised by a "thanks for the review but your experience was not typical" reaction from the resort. However, as I read it, we were not alone. One essential root cause was the staffs' limited grasp of English language - I can imagine that French guests would have many less problems.

All this said, I will be back - probably without the kids!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comprehensive, very frank and extremely constructive review.
Rest assured that my team and I are working around the clock to ensure we slowly but surely iron out the last teething issues within our service.
I am very pleased to read that you might consider coming back again with your family and kids, if the opportunity ever arises.

Best Regards
Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.5 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
7.6 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
3.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
Shanti Maurice A Nira Resort
#1 of 2 in Chemin Grenier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
7.8 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage The Villas

Property: Heritage The Villas
Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotel.de, HRS, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Heritage The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage The Villas Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing