We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage The Villas
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice family holiday”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I highly recommend Heritage The Villas. I went there with my wife and 3 kids and I can only say that we had a great time. The rooms in the villa are huge, the view is spectacular, the kitchen is very well-equipped and the high-end outdoor grill is a very nice addition. The attached swimming pool is not olymipic-size, but is big enough to provide a lot of fun for the family. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner twice at the Beach restaurant where the food was good.
We were provided with a golf cart to move around, which was fun, and the restaurants were 5-6 minutes drive from our villa.

We will definitely be returning for our next holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fouad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage The Villas.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
109
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took the family for a weekend break to a stunning part of the Island, family of 2 Adults and 4 kids. the Villa was located quite away from the the main hotel development infrastructure, hotels, club house, restaurants etc. we were only given one 4pax golf car to get around so on lone adult and 3 kids could get around with balance following in the car! we asked (and had to pay extra) for a 2nd. it was delivered after some time. it worked for 1 hour and packed in! we called reception 4 times! It was changed eventually, as it was our first day, no food in the house so went to the hotel for dinner @ the Heritage hotel, cost 16K Mur!! £350.00 for an awful buffet! we had to wait over an hour, having booked a table for 8pm and eventually plonked in a corner at the back of the dinning area. What was left of the food was awful. We had to leave eventually as the whole family couldnt cope with the DJ's "rap" "rave" playing to an empty dance floor. Both buggies broken down on the way home - by now past 11 in the evening - we had to be collected by some van that smelt as if it had carried a crew of construction workers! The next day we had to drive to the "Chateaux" for breakfast (as instructed in the welcome letter). comprised of breakfast stale bread, ants in the jam, hair in the fruit, thumb imprint onmy "toasted" onesided toast"??!! unresponsive waiters (7 in total for 3 tables) and an equally unresponsive client rep when we complained. When the estate manager turned up - he was a little defensive at first but eventually understood the issues, appolgised and comp'ted us a free lunch at the C Beach Club that day we spend the rest of our weekend! Sunday (last day) i suffered from stomach upset from the food (as per my doc) meaning i had to carefully plan my 1 1/2 hour drive home!! The icing on the cake - they still tried to charge me for the golf cart. Never again - but stunning surroundings

Room Tip: Careful of the extras, eating at hotel and check value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikesumsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,
First I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us, after your week end at Heritage The VIllas at the beginning of May.
However, based on the feedback given by you and your family during our several friendly and constructive conversations during your stay, I’m a bit surprised and shocked by the content and tone of your report, in addition to the omission of the complementary and additional services offered.
Please allow me to clarify some issues related on the above report:
When booking for one of our resort villas, we clearly mentioned that a 4 seats buggy is available and that an additional one can be rented for 10 euros a day. Moreover, a shuttle service is available as an alternative, the same one that was used to return from the hotel on that night. We also have a starter pack with some food and drinks that can be pre-purchased if you would like to have food and beverages in the villa when checking in.
In relations to the unfortunate broke down of the rental buggy: it was just out of battery. Your views on your average experience of breakfast was shared with me on the same morning. It had been taken into consideration, and we have hence with compliments offered:
• Complimentary dinner at the C Beach Club for the family, which included wine. We met there during dinner and it was understood that you appreciated the gesture and the dinner.
• Breakfast at Heritage Le Telfair,
• Complementary Sunday brunch at C Beach Club, we met again on this occasion and all the family was having great time as per feedback
• The 2nd buggy was provided free of charge
• Our team helped you with your private car’s flat tire on the road.
Well in conclusion, we should have missed something somewhere, and finally fail to turn your stay into a relaxing a pleasant one.
We hope to have the chance to try again in the future.

Best regards
Stephane Dadoune,
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were lucky enough to spend two weeks on the island over Easter. The first at Le Cannonier in Grand Baie (see separate review) and the second at Heritage the Villas.
The Villas were above and beyond what we expected - Villa 108 was stunning, we couldn't even work out which was the master bedroom as 2 of the rooms were huge and luxurious with dressing rooms and indoor plus outdoor bathrooms! The decor was 'Balinese', very tasteful and relaxing.
The villas have everything you need and are spotlessly clean, kept this way by the daily maid service. A utility room off of the kitchen included a washing machine and dryer, plus a dishwasher.
We all absolutely loved the villa, the garden, small pool, outdoor bar, luxurious rooms, lovely staff, golf buggy a real highlight, great idea!! Be sure to avoid the frogs and giant snails on the paths at night!!

Our comments / tips for the villa experience:

KITCHEN / CATERING
- check which appliances are included - ours had a Nespresso machine - you are given 6 free pods, any new ones are £1 each so bring your own
- the breakfast option is worth it - we had masses of fresh fruit, gorgeous pastries, pancakes and a cooked breakfast of eggs with sausages and hash browns if you were really hungry. A slow relaxed breakfast at the chateau meant you needed very little for lunch
- if you are self catering, there a number of options. we stopped en route at the huge Casino hypermarket in Port Louis and bought everything we needed for the week. Pleased that we did, as the local supermarket in Chemin Grenier was OK but an altogether different experience for real self catering. I believe there is another biggish one in Riviere Noire, the staff will be able to advise. To go to Chemin Grenier takes around 15 mins. For 600 Rupees (approx £12) the driver will take you and wait for up to 2 hours. Wednesday is market day and this was a very local, colourful fruit and veg experience. Note that the nearest ATM to Bel Ombre is in Chemin Grenier. ((best way to get Rupees is by exchanging £ at Mauritius airport - cash for cash when you land , in the airport, best rates))
We did visit the on-site convenience store but it had just some top up foods such as chicken, chips, some limited veg, and beer, wine if you run out!

FACILITIES
- not golfers, but the golf course is stunning
- beach hotels: C BEACH CLUB was very busy with lots of little kids, it was Easter so expected. Beach was fine, plent of chairs but the love nests and four posters were always occupied /hogged
- watersports - good, waterskiing and sailing all for free
- swimming - as with most beaches on the island, which are all surrounded by a reed, there is masses of coral, so it is advisable to wear aqua shoes. Sea is very shallow and warm
- C Club beach cinema one night, we watched Nemo in French followed by Harry Potter in English, right on the sand!
- TELFAIR - we LOVED the pool here, it is 2000 sqm! Drinks at the bar are very expensive (£8 for a cocktail). Nice to sit at the beach bar. People eating there at lunchtime seemed frustrated with the lack of tables and slow service but we did not partake
- Telfair Cavendish bar - note long trousers for men after 6.30. Nice bar but a bit 'stiff'
- AWALI - very lively, lots of English guests (whereas other hotels more French), did not spend any time there though
- worth a walk down to the brand new OUTRIGGER hotel , beyond the Awali and the Tamassa. Outrigger is very very funky, really beautifully done, lots of pools and bars / restos hidden all around the complex. It is not part of the package, but we went along as non residents for a drink one night and paid cash (much cheaper too, about £5 for a cocktail). Just getting started, they had their opening night mid April, certainly a hugely attractive property

Teenagers were kept busy with the villa luxury (inc evenings with the film channel and excellent wifi) plus the water sports. We all loved our evening meals on the terrace.

Our only 'trip' was with Baboo Dolphin Tours and this was a fabulous day out - speedboat, swimming in the ocean with the dolphins, lunch on an island, snorkelling, and cocktails on the way home! Baboo's boat is to be found on the beach by the Awali.

We would definitely go back to Heritage the Villas, it was an excellent holiday, very civilised and luxurious. Thank you to everyone at HTV!

Hope this is useful to future visitors, feel free to ask me a question!

Room Tip: Villas with golf course and sea view. Villa 108 was perfect (3 bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TIGGY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage The Villas.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Wonderful stay ! The villas are stunning, clean and well equipped.
The staff is nice and helpful but it could be better.
It was nice to have the golf cart but as we were more than 4 it would have been nicer to have a bigger one or an extra one to avoid 2 trips every time.
The hotels around are really nice and offer good services, apart from the restaurants which are really really really slow and food is just ok. Def need to improve on that.
Also the breakfast offered for the villas is no really varied.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We took into consideration your remarks regarding the food at the hotels. Also, we will like to inform you that a second golf cart is available at a fee and upon request.

Sunny greetings from Heritage The Villas.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is a big problem, there is no supermarket in the resort. When you live in a bungalow you need to have the possibility to visit a supermarket but there was about 15 km to the nearest supermarket.
The golfcourse is very good and there is nice and helpfull people in the clubhouse.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are happy that you have enjoyed your golf getaway despite being inconvenienced by the lack of supermarkets and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Heritage The Villas.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My family and I stayed in 3 villas over New Years Eve. The villas were beautiful and well equipped, regularly cleaned and laundry done. However room service to the villas was incredibly slow and often incorrect. The food was atrocious throughout and we found ourselves using our kitchens often. Also we had 4 children and 3 teenagers and with promises from the website regarding the kids and teen clubs, we were looking forward to them being busy. No such luck as the teen club was non existent and the kids club was barely in operation. The holiday was fine but I wouldn't go back here again next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chin3084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Valuable guest,
First, I would like to thank you for sharing your constructive comments with us, even after few months.
We are pleased to hear that our accommodations and housekeeping services were part of the good moments you have experience at Heritage The Villas.
However we will look into our process regarding catering in the villas, which is as per our standard, a pre-ordered meal to be delivered at an agreed time. The room service concept as expected in a classic hotel is not what we are offering here.

In relation to the issue raised concerning kid's, and teen's activity, we are quite disappointed that with our 2 kids clubs, and 1 “Cool” teens club offering extensive daily activities for all ages, and with the 120 kids present at this period, we didn't manage to keep your kids busy. I guess we would have done better if our hostesses in our kids activities center were informed. We would have organised a special program.

Best regards
Stephane Dadoune,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife, son (almost 3) and I are just back from 15 days at the Heritage The Villas.

Short (conclusion) :
Villa at Heritage was an excellent choice and experience, where we had good time. It is excellent value for money and we will surely come back.

The plot :

We wanted to stay within a resort with many facilities such as golf, spa, Kid Club..., while having lot of room, high level of comfort and privacy.
The choice of the Villas in Heritage Bel Ombre, was simply perfect.

As our third trip to Mauritius, it is important to mention that the Mauritian people are one of a kind on earth, with their natural kindness, zen and relax attitude with excellent efficiency.
All the employees at Heritage were very kind and helpful.

The "Heritage" site :

Beautiful Location, between the sea and a very neat Golf Resorts with around 130 villas, all very well designed with good privacy. Gardens and vegetation are luxuriant, a true delight for your eyes.

As Villa Resident you have access to all the facilities of the Telfair and Hawali Heritage, which is so convenient if you want some "action"...
A golf cart is provided with the villa to reach all the hotels and facilities around within 5 to 7 minutes.
A Beach Club mostly designed for villa residents with a bar, two restaurants, a pool for all ages and all the water sports you can imagine.
The Telfair Hotel in a pure British style and the Hawali Hotel, which is to my point of view more suitable if you have kids.

The Villas :

On this point i may be not very fair :o) as we have, very kindly, been upgraded from a 2 bedrooms to a 4 bedrooms villas.
However, as i have visited 6 different type of villas, this part of the review is somehow objective...

They all have a pool, large enough to get cool and have fun with family, but do not expect to swim, surrounded by very large terraces and covered patios where you can have a drink, dinner and relax all day long.

They are all decorated with lot of taste, you really feel like home, all the rooms have their own bathroom, AirCon, Cable TV. Beds and pillows are really comfortable.

Living room comes with 5.1 Audio Surround System, our villa also had an outdoor audio system for Apple devices...
Kitchen are perfectly equipped and very spacious.

The maids are doing a tremendous job, every day the villa was fully cleaned from bottom to top.

They provide an in room service for the villas, and they can arrange almost any special demand you can imagine, and i would like to especially thanks the General Manager M. Dave, which has been so kind and imaginative in order to organize my wife's anniversary...

To be improved in the Villas:

- There is not yet a 24/7 room service for food as you would expect in a 5* hotel. This would be so convenient for lazy clients like us, when we feel so comfy at home and do not want to go to a restaurant or cook. (you can have a chef in the villa but this needs to be organize 24H in advance.)
Having to the possibility to be delivered, within an hour in the villa, even really simple food such as club sandwiches, pizzas, pastas, sushis... would be really a must.

- A few equipments where out of order when we arrived, they fixed it very fast with a very good discretion, but maybe they should need to put in place a "check list test" before renting any villa.

The Golf :

From back tee, a tough & challenging course with beautiful scenery.
Beware the greens they are very firm, and it is difficult to stop the ball over the 8 or 7 iron.
Golf carts with GPS are provided if you want to.

Kids Club :

The 2 kids clubs are absolutely perfect, many activities and adventures are designed for you kids, they are both very well equipped (games, pool for kids...). Our preference goes to the one at the Telfair, with absolute kindness of the baby sitters.

Fitness & Sports:

Only visited the one at the Telfair, which is clean, in a nice location and well furnished.

Restaurants :

We mostly had dinner at the C Beach, food is good and simple.
We also tried the Japanese restaurant at Telfair, very nice location, most of the reviews
described the food as amazing, i would not go so far, but it was fine.

Spa (My wife) :

At the Telfair, products are very good, the treatments were fine, but the location and some views from windows needs to be improved. (AirCon was a bit too strong, according to the fact that we are mostly naked in a Spa :o)

To conclude, The Villas at Heritage are very, very nice.
Between the solution of renting two or three rooms in a hotel or renting a Villa, there is not to hesitate.
We had wonderful time, it is excellent value for money and we will surely come back.

Alexandre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Heritage The Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you again for choosing Heritage The Villas. The team and myself are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Ti-Momo staff and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable. Also, for your information, we do deliver dishes to villas,just not on a 24-hour basis. Finally, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we sincerely hope to welcome you again.


Sunny greetings from Heritage Resorts.

Best Regards

Stephane Dadoune
Resort Manager
Heritage The Villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.5 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
7.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
4,384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel So Mauritius
Sofitel So Mauritius
#4 of 6 in Bel Ombre
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Shanti Maurice - A Nira Resort
28.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
7.6 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage The Villas

Property: Heritage The Villas
Address: Domaine de Bel Ombre, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002 (Formerly Villas Valriche Experience)
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Hotel.de, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage The Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage The Villas Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing