We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best holiday ever”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Outrigger for a week at the end of April and had a fantastic time. We could not leave the pool and Bar Bleu as it was so amazing. The family room was perfect and exactly what we needed for us and our two little children. We did not experience any of the negative things I have read here but I have to admit the sand footpaths can be a bit annoying in the rain and the spa is expensive! But these comments are not a complaint, our holiday was absolutely perfect. The staff worked hard and management made it clear that they wanted everybody to have a wonderful time. We were especially impressed with Nandinee and Hemant, working all hours of the day. I would love to go to Outrigger again, if only to swim in that fantastic swimming pool!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Busy_traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    311
    121
    33
    43
See reviews for
376
578
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were lucky enough to spend our first few night in Mauritius at this stunning hotel i have to say the resort itself is amazing, I loved the openness and space that it has to offer. The beach is the best on that stretch of coast and the bar service was fantastic.

the pool area again is beautiful and plenty of space to move around... great idea having the kids club between here and Edgewater Restaurant,fab for families. It also has a Swim up bar.... always a bonus :-)

the rooms are lovely, very clean and spacious. the bed was amazingly comfy! on arrival we were talked through all the room amenities which was great, cases arrived soon after followed by another visit to make sure we were settled and everything was ok. The bathroom was spacious with double sinks, wardrobe and huge bathtub! The shower even led out into your own little enclosed garden.

LOVED the concept of Mercardo, the different food stations are a fab idea and provide a wide variety of different foods to savour, every bit was very tasty and nice to have a mix and match of international cuisine. the Kids area is also a fab idea ... i'm sure that will be a hit with the families. the restaurant itself is a very relaxed setting with the different levels of seating and the comfy booths make it a great experience.

the Bar Bleu menu is very easy to read ie what is included in the different packages, also a good choice for All Inclusive guests. drinks prices were reasonable and plenty of choice. Great to be able to eat your lunch on a sun lounger on the beach... perfect for a holiday!

The beach is beautiful, gently sloping into the Indian Ocean with plenty of space.

the Edgewater is a fab restaurant with a great variety of food options, with a beautiful beachfront setting.

We had a walk round the resort which feels so spacious that even if it was full it still wouldn't feel busy. The 2nd quieter pool looked very relaxing and offers loads more beach space.

We also visited the Plantation Club were you can enjoy the fine dining restaurant. it has a great pool and bar area along with its very own tea room.... Very cute!

There are a variety of water sports available for the more active guests, or a fab stretch of beach for your morning stroll.

As this hotel has no dress code it's has a fantastic, relaxed atmosphere within 5* surroundings, it makes you want to dress up but with no pressure ... something that is refreshing for a resort of this standard. I would never think of dinning in shorts & t-shirts but nice to know you don't have to wear your posh dress unless you want to of course. The only exception I think is at the Plantation Club were surroundings are more formal.

Overall we loved the hotel and have to say it was our favourite from the 4 we visited on this trip, keep doing what you are doing … you have a fab team who work very hard to ensure clients are happy and made us so welcome that we didn't want to leave (you know who you are)

there are always going to be teething problems with new hotels but the managing staff are working hard and appreciate any feedback to help them improve the resort. If your not happy give the team chance to put it right, which they will always endeavour to do....no problems can be solved unless it is brought to there attention at the time.

I have been lucky enough to experience many of the hotels in Mauritius and this is definitely one of my favourites and is a hotel which is trying something a little different but still very much Mauritian.
… hopefully we will be back very soon for another visit xxxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sami_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying at the outrigger for an event I'm part of. Great service very personable but thanks to dome idiot who stole money out of my wallet which was in my bag in the closet the experience that would have been excellent has turned into a disaster . Sad as this is why countries like Mauritius get a bad reputation and mostly decent people get pulled down. No one from senior management has even contacted me to apologise for what has happened. The police has taken a statement and the hotel is resting easy on that ... Not sure if any action has been taken by the hotel on their own behalf

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank duewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from two weeks in mauritius staying at the outrigger and wish we were back there!

The staff from gardeners, waitstaff, barstaff, reception, concierge, kitchen staff and chefs, pool staff, spa, management, housekeeping, and the wonderful kids club ladies all made our stay wonderful and they couldn't do enough for us. They always had a smile on their face and replied to our needs with "my pleasure".

The range of food is large and they continually change things so you don't get bored. A good Buffett is hard to do constantly and they do it well. The chef Jerry is sourcing the best produce he can and locally if possible which was great to hear. If you like wine and cheese a tasting with him and the head sommelier is well worth booking.

The resort is spacious and well laid out so you don't feel onto of each other. The pools are lovely and the ocean is great. Watch the bits of coral but again the resort has staff sweeping it up daily but Mother Nature just keeps bringing it in :)

They were always looking for improvements so I think it will get better and better! We really had no complaints.

The spa was a lovely morning, a bit pricey but a great treatment and felt very relaxed afterwards.

Hopefully we will return soon!! Thanks again outrigger!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is our 2nd times to Mauritius and we've been staying in 6 hotels on this beautiful island during the past two trips.

We are like others, trying to grab more info of this newly opened hotel thru the web before we go on our vacation. But the resort is too new and there is so little thing to know more about this hotel. Although I don't quite satisfied with the service during the stay, but I have to admit that they do have lovely building structure and beautiful beaches. So, below is the link that I've compiled to shows the beautiful scenery and delicious food during my trip at Outrigger Mauritius, hope it may helps you guys.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuYWFwjCQ2w

Here we would like to share some good and bad experiences during our 6 days 5 nites stay in May 2014.

1. Safety box
The safety box was not functioning when we check-in to the room. We made a FEW phone calls asking for help, surprisingly their answer is always ‘On The Way to your room’. We can't just leave our passport and cash in the room without keeping in a safety box, so we just waited in the room for 6 hours! Yes, 6 hours! Still nobody came or call us to double check whether the problem has been resolved. So, we walked to the reception and repeat the problem again,and he asked us to wait in the room but we really don't know how long again we need to wait, so insist to go together with the maintenance staff. After waited for another 15mins, finally they were able to get someone to follow us back to the room. Guess what, the safety box is in good condition after he turn on the power button which secretly place inside the safety box! Simple as that! If the operator can instruct us to check this, we wouldn't waste 6 hours in the room.

2. Honeymoon Package.
We purchased honeymoon package but quite a pathetic one. The package includes the following:

a) Fruit dipped in choc upon turn down on the day of arrival
b) A bottle of champagne
c) An exclusive wine and cheese testing in their wine cellar with their sommelier
d) A Rum tasting after dinner at Willie’s Rum and Crab shack.
e) Free access to the Sauna, Hamman, Jacuzzi and Hydro Corridor in the Spa
f) Gastronomic 5 course meal dinner at the Plantation Club OR 1 hour Spa

Only 2 out of 6 items were received, the champagne and the dinner. Instead of 5 course meal, we not sure why we only got 3 course meal. Nobody inform us about the rest of the ‘gift’,and we also didn't raise any questions or issues to the management as we are not so keen for wine/rum tasting , and also not a Sauna/Jacuzzi lover.

3. Dress code not made known to guests. We dressed formally but saw other guest wearing shorts and sandals. On other night, we dressed shorts and sandal but others dressed formally. Confusion abound. And for the ladies who like to wear high heels, pls note that you will be stepping on the walkway covered in sand. So , pls get the right pair of shoes to avoid embarrassment. :p


4. Staffs not helpful. One morning there's a VERY heavy rain and we were stuck in the lobby with no umbrella. We asked if possible to send us back to our room with buggy , they counter offer to borrow umbrella and walk back on our own! Quite disappointed with the answer. Please refer to the pic, and you will know why I was so upset on this little issue. As the walkway covered in sands and small puddles of water covering the entire walkway up till entrance to the room. It will be a nice touch if the staff can just do a bit more on this.

5. Dining Experience

Breakfast- (Mercado buffet restaurant)
No variety, everyday same food.Staff not attentive and lacking of staffs. There's a counter serving Chinese noodles with soup but whole time we were there, no staff can be seen standing by.

Lunch- ( Bar Bleu / Edgewater)
No difference in terms of the menu for Bar Bleu and Edgewater so although both places can have lunch, it's the ambiance. Save yourself the trip if you're thinking of trying both places. Service-wise, needs more improvement. Staffs at Bar Bleu is more friendlier compared with Edgewater.

Dinner-(Edgewater/ Mercador/ The plantation club)
Food at Edgewater is excellent and the price is within our full board package. As for Mercado, boring is the word to describe. Night after night the foods are the same. As for Plantation Club, a must-go place where service is excellent! The staff here just can't do enough for you! Very friendly, attentive , always putting on a smile, and will explain the food.

6. Sea activities - Glass bottom boat and snorkeling trip worth trying and sad as the trip is about 30-45 mins. Haven't fully got the opportunity to see more. One small comment is staff will let us wait at the jetty in heavy rain while they themselves wait at beach house. They should at least let us know to wait at beach house instead at jetty to see if the trip will proceed or not. A small courtesy goes a long way.

7. Facilities - We were not informed of available resort facilities other than location of restaurants. Go explore yourself.

8. Housekeeping - Not sure what time they will come to clean-up the room. Staff not aware our room was cleaned at 10+am and they come again at 12+pm to clean again. There are times they didn't clean our room in the morning till late afternoon. Changing of bed sheet is upon request only...be warned.

9. Room - The room is spacious and modern design. Bathtub is huge good enough for 2 persons.

10. Check out - Not a smooth one. There are two receptionists, but one attending to a customer complain and another one looking at her colleague! And when asking for feedback form, sorry, you can write your feedback at Tripadvisor. I was quite surprise there is no feedback form for a newly opened hotel, not even a survey form thru email..

Overall, i wouldn't rate Outrigger as 5 star hotel, but I believe one day it will! Just not now…

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ClammyShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on this Travel Forum.

Please rest assured that your comments were received very positively and constructively and shared with all the team members in order to further improve or product and services.

We look forward to having the chance of welcoming you over again amongst us and having you to experience the improvements brought along as a result of your comments.

Kind regards,

Frédéric Chrétien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for 11 nights at the Outrigger Hotel early May and enjoyed every minute.

Rooms:

We were on our 10th wedding anniversary and got upgraded to a junior suite (no. 1019) which was wonderful (thank you Gertrude) 20 metres from the beach with fantastic views of the ocean from our bed and living room/patio. We had a circular Jacuzzi bath (which the water came out a bit green unless you ran the taps for a bit). No steps to get into the bath so some may find hard to get in and out. A large shower, his and hers sinks and a very large wardrobe. They even provide a beach bag which is a nice touch and when you depart a nice bag to pack your swimwear in case it is wet.


The bed and pillows were very comfy and the furnishings are of a very good standard.


Restaurants:


The buffet restaurant was great, loads to choose from and always good quality. If anything ran our or was cold, just ask they will replace straight away if they haven’t noticed. There was never any shortage (as someone on here said). However, a handful of the staff could be a bit quicker with drinks (morning coffee especially) and needed to be asked a few times before drinks arrived.
You can ask for a latte coffee etc these are all included at breakfast.

The cakes/desserts were amazing and need a special mention, these guys arrive into work at 3.00am to start preparing them and we enjoyed everything they prepared.


The Edgewater is a-la-carte and was really excellent. The fillet steak was one of the best I’ve ever had. You also get a 1500 rupee credit each if you eat here and not in the buffet which is a great idea and well worth a few visits over your stay.


The Plantation is a beautiful high end restaurant food (although a little expensive, even with the 1500 rupee credit they give you). We were given our meal as part of our anniversary/honeymoon package (along with wine and cheese tasting and rum tasting, which we had great fun doing!) and really enjoyed the food and the staff were fantastic. We also had lunch here sat in the bar area which was lovely and quiet with great views of Mauritius ’ green hills.


Bar:

The staff at the bar were great, no real waiting for drinks (but the hotel was below half occupancy). We had various light entertainment each night which was good. One night we had DJ Jerry doing a disco which was the best night for us and we did say that they should do this more often to get the guests enjoying a livelier night. Normally there were just a few guests having a drink after dinner and when DJ Jerry was on the bar was busy and there was a good atmosphere (a beach BBQ and disco once a week would be a great idea).


The last three nights of our stay they bar was closed due to the lighting being changed, we thought this should have been done before opening as nothing was going on anywhere else which was poor!!


Someone said that they were AI and they drinks were expensive if your were not…..wrong!! Cocktails were about £5 and wine is about £8 a glass because of the high import tax. We hardly spent anything in 11 nights and went to the bar after dinner most nights for a cocktail or two. Again, you get a credit of £18.00 each per day towards your drinks when you are half board.



Beach/Sea and Pools:


The beach is white sand but not powdery soft and has a lot of small pieces of coral which can be very painful to walk on without flip flops. The sea is lovely and blue but there are lots of rocks and coral which doesn’t make it great for swimming. We spent most of our time at the garden pool as it was closest to our room and only us there most of the time. The staff at the pool bars were great keeping you well watered with drinks all day (thank you).

Water Sports:

Free hire of Kayaks etc. Free Daily Glass bottom boat and snorkelling trips.



Hotel:

Wonderful location, gardens were beautiful (although the sandy pathways are a little bit too dimly lit at night) the rooms are great, the staff are lovely and can’t do enough to help you (apart from a handful of daydreamers!), the pools are a little cold but once you take the plunge were lovely and refreshing and look fantastic. Overall a top notch hotel, which wont disappoint you.


Mountain Bikes are available to hire next to the gym which cost £5.00 per hour.
Good to leave the hotel grounds and explore the island whether on a bike or touring.
Lots to see and do besides sitting on your sunbed..

Gym was well equipped and cooling inside but empty.

Spa -We used the Spa facilities for half a day which was nice and relaxing but didn't get to
experience any treatments while we were there. But compared to other five star hotels we have stayed at they were quite expensive.

All in All our first time to Mauritius and we enjoyed the experience. Beautiful scenic country with warm friendly people. The Managers all know your name and want to ensure your stay is pleasant. Thank you for making it a great anniversary for us :)




























.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pereybere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I spent a lovely time at Outrigger in May. The bedding was amazing and the towels in the bathroom are really five star. The hotel has beautiful gardens and the rooms are very spacious and of high standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olivia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frédéric C, General Manager at Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken your time to write this review on this Travel Forum.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the resort facilities as well as our rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you soon for another stay at the Outrigger Mauritius Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,

Best Regards,
Frédéric Chrétien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,554 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,370 reviews
38.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,836 reviews
32.0 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,884 reviews
32.8 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#2 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Address: Allee des Cocotiers, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61010
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#5 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort offers an absolutely breathtaking beachfront location alongside the turquoise lagoons of the Indian Ocean. Nestled in the nature reserve of Bel Ombre, this stunning new deluxe property blends the needs of the most sophisticated traveller with the charm and tradition of an early 17th century Mauritian sugar cane plantation. All rooms offer sea views or absolute beach frontage and the resort features four swimming pools and three restaurants to suit all tastes, from Mauritian, Asian, International and fine dining, to beach and poolside options. Unwind at one of our four swimming pools, relax in the Navasana spa with jacuzzi, hammam, sauna and solarium, or simply explore the Domaine de Bel Ombre Nature reserve. For those looking for a more active break the resort offers an array of sports activities on both land and water, including a fitness centre, tennis courts as well as a water sports centre. A supervised kids club with its own pool and a daily children's programme is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing