We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage Awali Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heritage Awali Mauritius”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just on our way home from the wonderful Heritage Awali after two week's holiday. The staff were really lovely - special thanks to Shyama in the main restaurant, Jean Marie in the bar who kept plying us with champagne, Deepa and her team at C Beach and the best omelette maker in the world Amrita! The Water sports team were also superb and we spent many a day water skiing and wakeboarding with them.
The food was lovely especially at Infinity Blue and C Beach. Be aware that you can only have drinks on your AI package at C Beach with a meal - we hope that this changes in the future as all the water sports were based at C Beach and it would be nice to be able to at least get water down there.
We also went to the Chateau for a meal but would honestly say that the other restaurants are good enough and you do get charged for water as well as wine here - cheapest bottle was around £30 for the wine and the water was around £6 a bottle. The golf course is amazing and you are also able to eat lunch here - highly recommend the chicken curry. We ventured on to the par 3 course as two of us have not played much golf but we had a lot of fun and it only cost around £10 for a set of clubs.
I would recommend shoes for in the water as there is a lot of loose cork underfoot and there is a strong current also (great for drift snorkelling though!)
The rooms were lovely, maybe a little old in styling but perfectly adequate with every comfy beds; thank you Sheela (I hope I spelt that right) for your cleaning, you did a wonderful job.
There is so much to do if you want activity and also plenty of space to relax if that's your preference. I loved it and would highly recommend anyone going here.

Room Tip: Rooms 2002 and 2003 are great ground floor rooms with interconnecting door. Noise level is low from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KizDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Miss. Kizdavis,

Let me thank you for your valuable comment of your holiday experience in the Domaine de Bel Ombre and most importantly, for having preferred the Heritage Awali for your recent stay in Mauritius.

I will ensure that your appreciation is transmitted to all the members of the staff and more specifically to Jean Marie from the Bar, Deepa and her team from the C Beach Club, the water sports team, Amrita from the breakfast buffet and Sheila, your room attendant.

We do hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you again and hopefully sooner.

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,565
    709
    221
    64
    31
See reviews for
921
2,029
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Trust me when I say the Heritage Awali is fantastic in all aspects of looking after visitors! With stunning views all around the hotel and staff that are extremely attentive it was fantastic right until the moment we left. The quality of room/food/drinks and the staff that looked after them was to a very high standard.We have travelled all over the world in five star resorts and we could not fault the Awali in any way. Very relaxing hotel that made you feel very welcome at all times. There is no doubt we shall be returning again and we've never returned to the same hotel twice.The biggest asset the Awali have is the staff and I can't praise them highly enough. Book flights with Emirates, they were by far the best airline we've ever flown with. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in block 6 which was really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MargaritasMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear MargaritasMidlands,

All the staff members and myself would like to thank you, not only for having preferred the Domaine de Bel Ombre for your recent stay in Mauritius but also for having taken some time to write down your holiday experience.

I thank you personally for recommending the resort and we will be more than pleased to welcome you again.

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

To quote Mark Twain. 'God created Mauritius and used it as the blueprint for paradise'.

I couldn't have put it better myself. The food in this particular hotel was the best I have ever had in a foreign country. The selection of pools which are warm and clean and it's location next to the beach made it a fantastic holiday

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Ali G,

Thank you for having chosen the Heritage Awali for your recent stay and thank you for having commented on your holiday experience.

I will forward your appreciation to Govinden, the Executive Chef, who will be honoured by your review.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the Domaine de Bel ombre

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham Co.Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After a great deal of checking on Trip Advisor, and also with the help of my brother who stayed at the Telfair next door, we decided on the Awali. We were not disappointed. PARADISE is one word we used to describe the holiday. Hotel, staff, food and amenities excellent. Do not take our word for it, go visit the Awali.As for the staff, you will find for yourself how great they are. We had our's in particular Shyama, James,Rubin, Bhowany, James and not least Vhimla. To those members of staff, THANK YOU for looking after us.One small request, would you let me know when James & Neema get married and after Shyama's baby or babies are born. Thanks!

Room Tip: Blocks 5 6 and 7. Peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Jerry B,

Thank you for the valued review and most important, for having preferred the Heritage Awali for you recent visit in Mauritius.

I will ensure that all the staff members are made aware of your appreciation of their service during your stay, especially Shyama, James, Rubin and Vhimla.

I will try my best to let you know about the events of a marriage and a new comer!

We look forward to welcoming you again in a very close future, hopefully!

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Heritage Awali is an absolutely beautiful hotel! I'm rather fussy so I tend to moan most then more people but this hotel amazing.

Now please note that my review is based on an ultra all inclusive - this meant we could eat in any of the restaurants multiple times and drink what we wanted branded or not. I found out during my stay the inclusive has now been downgraded which I wasn't at all pleased about. We went for a family wedding but flew out a week later so we could spend a week on our own. When the family left they tried to downgrade our all inclusive which we were not pleased about, we all paid the same amount through the same agent but my partner and I booked only 6 months before.

Upon arrival we had a very pleasant check in, we got to our rooms which were as described beautiful with plenty of space and a stunning sea view. We quickly got changed and ran down to the beach to meet with the family.

We had lunch everyday by the beach, we either had a BBQ or ate in the restaurant, the food was absolutely divine in both. You also had the option to go to the main buffet where breakfast is served.

Dinner, we ate in the a la carte restaurants every single night - however we were on the ultra all inclusive. The food is fantastic and the best restaurant Infinity Blue followed closely by Cyan. We only went to Le Chateau once as we thought the other restaurants were much better. you have such variety and amazing service!

The pool area was large, there were about 3/4 pools we actually sat on the beach each day even though were not beach people but it's so beautiful that we didn't want to lay by the pool.

There are lots of free water sports and we walked to the sister hotel most days where you could also sunbath and eat (La Telfair) .

Were a young couple and usually only go to adults only places but you didn't notice the kids here.

With our stay we got 2 spa treatments which we saved until out last day, these were lovely and added to our stay.

We went to the local zoo to walk with the Lions which was the most amazing experience, you can only do it Mauritius and SA. It's also the only place you can swim with wild dolphins, I really recommend both.

We went to the gym most days, very very basic but does the job for a quick workout.

There was entertainment most night which was fun, you really can't get bored here!

I really recommend this hotel and I would love to go back, the staff are amazing especially Vanessa in the bar.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous, we had a beautiful sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmmaLynnPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mrs. Perry,

Let me, first of all thank you for having preferred the Heritage Awali for your recent stay in Mauritius and also for having having written down a detailed review of your holiday experience, which, I am sure, will attract future visitors.

I will forward your appreciation to all the staff members and most specifically Vanessa from the main bar.

I would like to apologise for a misunderstanding. Something we often do is that, whenever there is a big wedding party or other groups, we do restaurant planning in advance so that they can all eat together at the same time and when your family left, everything came back to normal and I supposed that made a difference. But please rest assured that we do not change any package of in house guests.

We would be more than delighted and honoured to welcome you back in the Domaine de Bel Ombre and hopefully soon

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We came to this hotel as part of our Silver Wedding Anniversary celebrations this year and I couldn't have wished for anything better. Our beach front room was lovely and comfortable, always stocked up on toiletries and drink in the mini bar and the view stunning. The food was top quality and so much choice. The staff were so friendly, always smiling and happy to help in any way. We were made to feel so special by all. I don't play golf but my husband and son do and said the course was lovely and the staff there too were friendly and attentive. My daughter and I enjoyed the spa. This holiday was a real treat. Thank you to everyone. If you are looking to holiday in this hotel don't hesitate, just book it and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Sarah B,

I would like to thank you for having preferred the Domaine de Bel Ombre for your recent holidays in Mauritius

Thank you also for spending some time in writing down this valued comment and for recommending the resort to future visitors.

The whole team and I will be pleased to welcome you again here

Warm regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After months of looking for destinations for my fiance and I to get married, we settled on heritage awali and we can only say that this was the best decision we have ever made. From the minute we arrived at the airport to the minute left we had the time of our lives.
We had some issues with our room, and this was down to our holiday tour operator and not the actual hotel themselves, but after explaining everything to them they did their upmost to rectify our problem, even though it was not them that caused the issue. Kindly Vicky the manager upgraded us to the senior suite which was right on the edge of the sea and was the most amazing room I have ever seen and the views from our veranda will stay with us forever. Our wedding planner, Melana, was absolutely lovely and I did not want a big fuss on our wedding day and she respected this and gave us her suggestions, which were a big help and she made the day go fantastic.
The rooms are cleaned twice a day, and all the cleaners are amazing, kind and friendly, and after we moved rooms I left my diamond earrings in the old room, and the cleaner (unusure of his name) came to our new room to give me them back. I could not thank him enough, so they are so lovely and trusting that it really makes you feel safe and comfortable.
The hotel staff were amazing, the food at the Balafon was superb and the staff we always helpful and friendly and made of fuss of our two children (2 and 5 years old). The Blue Infinity is an amazinf restuarant, which the most amazing food, and lovely staff. The beach staff are lovely bringing you cocktails, and pizzas in boxes to your sun loungers.
The pools are beautiful, clean and look stunning, the hotel is beautiful. Poeple have commented that it needs a touch up, but I honestly can say I dont think it does, it has a lovely rustic African feel and I would not change that for the world, as it is this that gives it the welcoming, relaxed feel. The rooms were amazing, even the room we moved from was lovely, but it just didnt fit our requirements with two children (again this was not the hotels fault).
I really would recommend this hotel to anyone, the people are lovely and mae a real fuss of our young children, remembered our names and always remembered what we drank, and knew where we would like to seat, they made our hotel and the assistance we got of Vicky was wopnderful, he was very good at his job and made our stay perfect. I literally cried the day we had to leave, as I could have stayed there forever and it was a perfect wedding and holiday.
I would also like to mention Baboo's boat trips - he was fantastic, swam with dolphins, got our 5 year old out on the weightboard with him, so he didnt feel left out, and gave us a real memorable day. We will never forget that day or our entire holiday/wedding - best time of our lives.
You must go to this hotel"!"!

Room Tip: The rooms in blocks 3,4,5 are good as you can see the sea, but even deeper into the complex you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wigbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Family Wigbys,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for having preferred the Heritage Awali, not only for your recent holidays but especially for one of the most important events in a lifetime.

Thank you also for the valued comment which, I am sure, will help future travellers in choosing their holiday destination.

I will forward your appreciation to the whole team who will be more than pleased to know that the extra mile they went to exceed your holiday/wedding expectations, was a complete success.

The Awali team will be pleased to welcome you and your family back in the Domaine de Bel Ombre and especially Melana, your wedding coordinator, who will be honoured to have you in here for a wedding anniversary celebration.

Would you please pass over our greetings to Sophie and Connor!

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort (Closed for renovation)
7.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,569 reviews
32.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4,855 reviews
32.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
4,927 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Belle Mare Plage
Constance Belle Mare Plage
#3 of 12 in Belle Mare
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Destinology, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing