We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday at Heritage Awali Mauritius”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday at Heritage Awali Mauritius”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Overall great experience. The staff were efficient, friendly and always had a smile. Nothing was too much trouble. The spa experience was amazing. The variety and choice of restaurants were fantastic. Hotel facilities were excellent. What a superb holiday. Definitely recommend Heritage Awali Resort.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend DeLuxe Rooms, very spacious and great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DamitaJo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear DamitaJo2014,

I would like to thank you for having chosen the Heritage Awali as your preferred holiday destination and for commenting on your experience in the Domaine de Bel Ombre

I thank you also for recommending the Domaine to future guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you again and hopefully soon

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,500
    699
    222
    64
    31
See reviews for
903
1,981
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

the hotel is very beautiful and very expensive hotel, but the service doesnot match the expectation at all. we were there for a special event and we did told the but nothing has been done at all. the food was ok, nothing impressive. there was a show on that day and that was quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetnavisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear sweetnavisha,

I would like to thank you for having preferred the Heritage Awali for your recent stay in Mauritius.

However, I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your holiday expectations. But please rest assured that I will, personally, look into the matter because our main goal is to ensure that we provide our guests with impeccable service.

I do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
Resident Manager
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I've been to tropical island resorts all over the world and was looking forward to a week and half on Mauritius. Unfortunately, the Heritage Awali left me distinctly unimpressed.

I'm not sure if it was a language barrier (half the staff seemed to be unable to understand a standard American accent) or differences in cultural expectations, but I was left baffled trying to accomplish to most basic things like order lunch. There was little information in the room on available activities. In fact, the room didn't even have something as basic as a map of the resort. It didn't occur to me that I was expected to memorize the layout of the resort during the quick tour upon my arrival.

The food was unimpressive and ridiculously overpriced. I opted for the bed and breakfast rather than the all-inclusive when I booked the room. The breakfast buffet was reasonable. There was a good variety though it was repetitive and the foods that should have been hot weren't. You are required to make reservations to eat dinner at anything restaurant other than the buffet. That was a bit off-putting. I did try the buffet for dinner the first night. What a mistake. It was a disconnected array of random dishes. Everything that was supposed to be hot was cold. Plus, I got to spend the meal choking on the grease from the fried food station, which permeated the entire dining area. So ... I opted for only lunch on the remaining days. I tried Infinity Blue. The food would have been good if it wasn't so clearly reheated. The desserts were the only really good, fresh items on the menu. Amafrooty was much better with rather tasty sandwiches available for lunch, but these meals cost $50 for a sandwich and a coke. This was more than twice would you would pay for the same meal in Washington, DC (one of the most expensive cities in the US).

The rooms was luxurious and meticulously clean, but the bed had large rock hard lumps that had me tossing and turning all night. In addition, I could hear everything in the room above me including late night room service deliveries and furniture being moved around at 1AM.

I almost hate to rate the resort so poorly on service, because a number of the staff members were so sweet. Unfortunately, one encounter with a bratty staff member was unacceptable. She was assisting me in arranging a taxi at the end of my staff and repeatedly pretended not to understand the word noon when she asked me what time I would like it to arrive and then made a point of telling me that it would arrive at "twelve." It was a very passive aggressive way of being rude that I've encountered in France and other places with heavy French influence.

I never did figure out when and where I could book other activities, because again there was essentially zero information in the rooms and I was having serious communication difficulties with many of the staff. Eventually, I just gave up and spent the week reading by the beach.

Americans are rare travelers to Mauritius and this was a disappointing stay at what will likely by my only trip there.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have better access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free2B_StacieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Free2B_StacieB,

I would like to thank you for having preferred the Heritage Awali for your recent stay in Mauritius.

However, I am disappointed to read that your holiday experience has not been up to your expectations.

I have taken good note of the issues that you mentioned and please, rest assured, that I will personally look into the matter.

Should you have mentioned them whilst in the resort, we would have been able to solve same on the spot and you would have, surely, enjoyed your holidays.

I thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve, though.

We do wish to welcome you again in Mauritius as the reputation that we have built in terms of hospitality is known worldwide.

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have just returned from spending two weeks at the Awali to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. There are not enough words available to praise the standard of this hotel, quite simply it is a stunning experience. The food, service, accommodation, activities were absolutely first class. The staff went out of their way to help us celebrate our anniversary in style . A special mention to Emmanuel on the beach and Ayesha in the restaurant, but really the whole staff help to make your stay wonderful. I played 4 rounds of golf on what I can only describe as the best course I have ever seen. The presentation of it, and the service was sensational. The restaurants, bars, and entertainment were great. There was a fantastic variety of food on offer, and different meals available on every one of our 14 days. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation, and finances permitting, look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: We had a "quiet" room 6104, but I think all the rooms are of a fantastic quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Ian L,

It has been a pleasure for all of us to have had you as guests of the Heritage Awali and we wish to thank you for giving us this honour.

Thank you also for the beautiful review which I will forward to all the team members and especially to Emmanuel and Ayesha who were great assets to your stay with us.

We will be pleased to welcome you again and hopefully, rather sooner.

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic family 40th birthdays celebration holiday at Awali. Awali catered to all of our needs (3-70 yrs) with both food and activities. The highlight for me was the diversity of sports on offer, and the quality of instructors providing each sport. Special thanks to Jerome who took us for a scenic coastal bike ride. He was especially considerate of all ages and abilities on the ride- taking into account bad backs and all!! Every effort was made by the fitness staff to make our stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible. I'm only disappointed that I didn't get more time on the tennis courts!!! ;)
Definitely an easy destination to write about!! http://wordsbybec.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor which was great with the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Bec S,

I would like to join the team in thanking you for having preferred the Domaine de Bel Ombre for your recent stay in Mauritius

We were all pleased to have welcomed you and we hope to get the opportunity of doing it again.

I will forward your appreciation to all the team members and especially to Jerome.

We look forward to welcoming you again

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week, and it was stunning! The food is good , there is lots of variety !! There is so much to do at the hotel itself !!! The staff were friendly and very helpful !! Would recommend it to anyone !! Definitely 5 star quality!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Samantha N,

I would like to thank you for the beautiful review and most importantly, for having chosen the Heritage Awali for your recent stay in Mauritius.

We would, definitely, be honoured to welcome you again in the Domaine de Bel Ombre

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loejt Kirkeby, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From 4/4 - 16/4 2014, me and my wife went to Awali to celebrate our 25 years of marrige. We had an all inclusive stay, and must say, it has been our best holiday so far. All employees did their best to give us a pleasant stay and they succeded. We enjoyed the different restaurants, allthough it took some time to learn, that 48 hours reservation is needed, and 48 hours is not on the hour, it is pr. day, so you may order in the morning 2 days before you want to go their.
We had great pleasure in using the spa as well as the golfcourse, and also dined at the chateau and had a welllness trip in Frederica. All to our full satisfaction.

We can recommend others comming here, an want to send our greatings to the very kind staff.

Problems: only one - the toilet had an error, but it was corrected within 30 minutes.

Room Tip: We did not have seaview, but with max. 100 meters to the sea from all appartments, we did not miss t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janaagaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe-Ramdiane, Manager at Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear janaagaard,

I would like to grab this opportunity to thank you for having preferred the Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort and thank you also for the comment which really pleased us.

I will forward your comments and appreciation to all the members of the staff.

We all look forward to your next visit in the Domaine de Bel Ombre.

My best regards,

Christophe Ramdiane
RESIDENT MANAGER
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
0.2 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort (Closed for renovation)
7.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
32.9 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tamassa
Tamassa
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,721 reviews
32.2 mi away
LUX* Belle Mare
LUX* Belle Mare
#1 of 12 in Belle Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 230
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the unspoiled wild south of the island, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort is the ideal place to experience authentic Mauritius and relax in harmony with nature either for just the two of you, or with the whole family. This luxury hotel combines elegance with the magic of Africa and offers high-end accommodations and an exceptional range of facilities: 18 hole golf course overlooking the ocean, two of the most beautiful well being centres of the Indian Ocean area with the Seven Colours Spa and the Umuzi Fitness Centre, a unique concept in kids' clubs and privileged access to a colonial manor house and a nature reserve. A variety of unique delights to leave you with unforgettable holidays in Mauritius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Awali Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Awali Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Resort Bel Ombre
Heritage Mauritius
Heritage Golf Spa Mauritius
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing