We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 8 July 2008

My wife, teenage son and I have just returned from a two week stay at Le Telfair. We are a very well travelled family having lived overseas for many years and fortunate to have holidayed in some very nice places around the world. We all thought that Le Telfair was excellent and we had a great time. The hotel and grounds were very attractive and well maintained and the rooms very comfortable. With the hotel not being full we were able to move to rooms 502/506 which were right on the beach and just a few paces from the sea. The staff were very attentive and helpful and could not be faulted with their willingness to do anything. The food was very good and in fact on some days we did not take up the full board option of lunch preferring to have a sandwich at the golf club. My son and I played many rounds of golf on what has got to be one of the best and most challenging resort courses we have played and certainly one of the most beautiful and well maintained. The spa was similarly very good, to be expected from a six senses spa, and was well frequented by my wife who is a trained massage therapist and who knows a bit about spas and treatments!
Le Telfair is a little gem in what is a fast developing hotel market in Mauritius and hopefully will stay small and exclusive which it certainly is. This was our second return visit to Mauritius having lived in Mauritius for three years in the 90s and we have to say that if we are lucky enough to return then we will choose Le Telfair again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed at Le Telfair in May for two weeks for our silver wedding anniversary and we are still in a dream about our trip.
The hotel was brilliant and we were treated so well, there was an initial problem with the room we booked, but this was sorted very quickly and didn't affect us much and we ended up in a better room than we booked.
The rooms were luxury and kept immaculate and we had various surprises put on for our anniversary which made it very special.The food was excellent in all the restaurants we went in and all the staff were very friendly and dressed smartly.
The staff were continually working to keep the grounds, the pool and the beach clean.
The weather we were concerned about as May is the start of their winter but it was a really comfortable temperature and we only had two wash out days.
We met some lovely people during the two weeks and everyone seemed very impressed by the hotel.
We really hope we can visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank smiffySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

Stayed at Le Telfair to celebrate our SIlver Wedding Anniversary. The hotel was just what we wanted. Supberb services, fab. food very friendly and helpful staff and the most wonderful location.
Our room was located on the ground floor overlooking the sea - could walk out the room and be in the ocean in less than 20 paces- fantastic (1005) . We loved having breakfast served on our terrace (only 5euros extra) . The Beach is lovely and there is plentry to do - if you want to - we did not and it is the perfect place to chill. The restaurant (Annabelle's) offered a good choice of very good fresh food. We were given a special candlelit dinner served on the beach one night - which was very special.
The sea is wonderful and we spent time snorkling in the bay but sometimes the current was very strong.
The gardens around the hotel and so well kept and beautiful. The hotel has a very pleasant feeling of space and serenity.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I stayed at the telfair for a wedding in April 2008. The 4 days we spent there after 5 at the Prince Maurice were a huge disappointement: the food is of extremly low quality, and even on half-board you have to pay a supplement for the decent dishes (never seen that before, especially in Mauritius), the beach is small, the water full of dangerous corals (my wife cut a foot deeply) and the current is so strong that you can't stand with water above your waist, the water-skiing starts at 10 and stops at 1pm, the service is poor (i was told by a waiter around the pool that the beach bar didn't have the cigarettes i required, and that he will go check at another bar one "when he had time". 30mins later i went myself, took me 3 minutes that he didn't want to give me...), the rooms are sort of darkish and not very well maintained. In conclusion, it's not an atrocious hotel, but 1. it's definitely not 5 stars 2. for that kind of money you have way better options in Mauritius....

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeachLover76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

After spending 1 week at Sugar Beach Resort with 36 guests for our wedding, we arrived at Le Telfair for our honeymoon. This is a visually stunning resort! We were greeted and shown to our room, which was not the beachfront we had been promised (this was confirmed thru our travel agent twice as it was extremely important to us to be beachfront!). I queried this immediately with the lovelly lady (Annabelle?) who had shown us to the room. She explained there was no beachfront, just sea-view and river-view. Tired after the previous week and unsure of the resort layout I didn't argue the point, however after walking around later there definitely IS beachfront. As we had already unpacked, and the room we were in was beautiful (with a slight view of the ocean), we didn't worry about taking the matter up with management. Although having met Richard (G.M) at his cocktail party, I'm positive he would have rectified the situation had we brought it up. He came across as a very pleasant person.
The room hiccup was the only problem we experienced @ LT. The food was excellent- especially at Ginja! The staff were all really nice.
We did notice that this is a resort perhaps for older couples.
That said we had a relaxing honeymoon in stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbobPerthWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding from March 3rd-10th 2008...from the moment that we checked in with Virgin at LHR everything was perfect...Virgin use Whitesands tours for their transfers which was speedy and efficient, they were waiting for us in arrivals and drove us straight to the hotel, this journey took approx 40mins.
On checking -in, our resort host Katia was waiting for us too, with cool face and hand towels and a welcoming drink, whilst the bell-boys went on ahead to drop our luggage off to our room. We strolled over with Katia to be pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite...it was fantastic....the room was huge and the bathroom with the walk-in and outside showers were amazing...a very large patio and garden area provided a table and chairs with sunloungers for us too should we want any privacy away from the pool/beach areas. Every one of our needs was catered for.
Our wedding co-ordinator Isobel was very, very professional...she arranged everything for us without any stress and again Whitesands tours was used for our trip up to Port Louis for the formalities...our thanks to our driver who was very informative of the areas that we drove through en route.
The wedding itself was amazing, we decided to have our ceremony on the beach,we got married at 4pm which allowed plenty of time for our photographs to be taken around the hotel and over at the Chateau which is a huge contrast to the beach area as its, shaded, cool and very green there before having our candle-lit dinner on the beach....Upon our return to our room, we found our bed had been decorated with petals, yet more Champagne chilling and the room was lit with lots of tealights..it was beautiful..and to top it all , our children had emailed over sending us their Congratulations earlier that day, and the hotel had popped the message onto a beautiful card which was displayed for us to see in our room as a surprise...we were totally impressed with everything.
The hotel is situated on the beach and you can walk to the Heritage Hotel and the Tamassa which are sitauted just next door to le telfair.
The restauants,bars and all the staff were the best, and my special thanks to Kathy at the hairsalon for helping me so much with my hair on our wedding day....we would also like to say a special thanks to Jose and Kish at the Cavendish for looking after us so well during our stay. Can we also recommend that you do the quad bike up into the national reserve..its good fun and very informative, with a welcome lunch back at the Chateau if you wish..this can be booked at reception in the hotel. The golf course is a must for anyone who plays, I dont ,but my husband was delighted with it ,and the staff who arrange it all for you.
Finally, to the Manager of the hotel for his personal interest in our stay and for making us feel so welcome....and for taking the time to come along at our check-out to wish a safe journey on our journey home.
As I am a Travel Agent I will most definatley be recommending this hotel for anyone who likes class and style during their holidays.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank darrensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

Lovely hotel and staff. Great rooms - we paid for an upgraded room with sea view, although they told us on arrival that we had been upgraded to a better room, but it was not on the sea front. Food was good, with reasonable choice. Golf and tennis good. Great value compared to the other more famous 5 star hotels on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,960 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,551 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#3 of 6 in Bel Ombre
5,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: £182 - £722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing