We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bel Ombre
Reviewed 22 October 2009

After searching and comparing a lot of hotels, we decided to book ‘Le Telfair’ and stayed there from 8 till 26 may 2009. We arrived at 8.00 am. and after a quick check-in they guided us to our room. A marvelous see-view room next to the pool. The luggage came immediately and so we could go for breakfast. Very nice and stylish ‘Villeroy & Boch’ tableware on perfect set tables. Mmm. A good sign.

‘Le Telfair’ is open from December 2004 and everything is well maintained and clean. The gardens are nice, the rooms spotless, the bars and restaurants are cosy, …. For example : every evening the pool- and beachboys wrapped the umbrellas, collect the cushions from the loungers,…. and in the morning the other way. A lot of work, but is worthy and the guests appreciated it. Guests are really pampered and spoilt in this hotel.

The restaurants : A tasty choice of all kind of food, and if you want anything special, just ask and they do everything to get it for you. Our butler Kanen arranged al the reservations in the different restaurants at once. You can also book a table in the restaurants of the ‘Heritage’ next door, so we did. (A huge different with the ‘Rui Palace Punta Cana’ last year, were I had to queue in line at 8.00 in the morning every day to get a table in the ‘a la carte’-restaurants) We like to eat,… we travel the world to eat in the best restaurants (last September we’ve gone to El Bulli in Spain the nr 1 in the world), and I must say. We were impressed by the quality of this hotels kitchen. Every restaurant is different, has a good balanced menu and winelist and the service is brilliant. Kanen and the concierge also booked a heli flight and a table at ‘Spoon des Iles’ by Alain Ducasse in the St. Geran. Marvelous.

I played golf at Le Chateau, a challenged course, nice setting and also very well maintained. (free greenfees).

The spa is also worth a visit. well trained people, nice atmosphere,....

We discover the island by private limo from ‘White Sands’, by group (bus) also from ‘White Sands’ and by hotel cab. The cab was the cheapest and best way.

When we decided to stay at the pool, Alvin noticed us and hurried with his towels and covers to make up the loungers. Service that we only get the same way in ‘Twinpalms in Phuket’ also a Small Luxury Hotel. I met people who stayed at the 6 star St. Regis (Bali), they had to reserve loungers with a book or a towel in the morning….

I only can say THANK YOU STAFF for making our holiday Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MR_BROOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed at Le Telfair as a late booked hotel. When reviewing some of the Trip Advisor reviews, I couldn't believe how extreme some of the reviews are. We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the hotel, leading from the slick check in (with cocktail), the free upgraded room and the fabulous view and privacy the room offered. However the highlights for us were the extremely courteous and professional staff. On our first night to the wonderful Annabelas, the assistant manager Eddy made it very clear that if there was nothing on the menu then the Italian head chef would be delighetd to do something else. We never had the problem as the food was fab, and never repeated. Brekfast is a true feast, and the Chateau is a must. Thought Gin'jas was OK but not spectacular, but that didn't matter as the other restaraunts were more than enough. The Cavendish bar was also lovely, with fabulous furniture, and Melvin gave us a great sampling of the local rum - Top guy !

Hotel gym was great when the conditions were less than perfect. we did an orgainsed bus tour one day, then hired a taxi on our own the second day. Dont bother with the organised bus tours because the taxis are much much cheaper and the taxi drivers are perfect guides. The prices are fixed and can be organised by the reception so you wont get ripped off ( which isn't in the Mauritian nature anyway).

I read with interest the cost of drinks - yes they are expensive but a glass of wine, imported from France, is cheaper than a glass of the same wine in a bar in Leicester so I think it was very fair. By the way the Phoenix and Blue Marlin beer is excellent - much better than the tasteless American beer that seem so popular nowadays ! Much like Stella.

Finally a comment about the staff. We couldn't find a member of staff that wasn't always polite, happy, courteous and professional. They were great ! Service was always superb and Eddy ran a very tight ship at all times. We even had up to date football updates from the West Ham mad Vikram and weather updates (100% accurate) from Kerwin.

We are definitely going back there and I would thoroughly recommend others to do so

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChippyRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This was our 3rd trip to Mauritius and 2nd stay at Le Telfair. The Hotel was excellent the 1st time and managed to be even better this time around. Understated and in harmony with the Bel Ombre region the hotel has a warm, at home feel with all the staff being professional and obliging beyond our expectations. We shall return and highly recommend Le Telfair.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shop101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed at Telfair for 10 days commencing 24th August '09. We had an amazing stay. We were greeted by the manager upon arrival and had an easy straigforward check in. We were introduced to our 'Bulter' which we were unaware we would have!!! Our room had a view of the pool area and the beach which was beautiful. We had a complementary bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon which was a lovely touch. The serivce from the staff in the bar area and pool bar was fantastic. They remembered our names and dietary requirements (I can't eat white bread). The service in Annabells was a little hit and miss...however on the whole good. The food for 9 out of 10 nights was beautiful, good choice, and the ability to choose one of their 3 restaurants was fab. Ginja's the asian inspired restaurant was fab and the chef even made us a meal on request which wasnt on the menu. The one night we had a bad meal was unfortunatly our last night... the food was cold and not as described on the menu, we did complain and was resolved however still dissapointing,
The spa at the hotel was amazing however very expensive so only had a couple of treatments.
The hotel has a small boutique which has to be the most expensive shop i have ever been in. Unfortunatly my husband got badly burnt and we ran out of after sun... we had no other choice then to buy some more aftersun from the boutique and it cost us £35 !! Top tip ... Take enough sun tan lotion and after sun.. dont get stung like we did. Drinks were not over the top in price, comparable with the UK.

On the whole we had a fantastic honey moon and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathryn_rogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This has to be the best hotel, I have stayed in on trips to Maurituis, The staff are helpful, service is efficient, the food is amazing.
The rooms all have sea or river views..... With the most amazing bathrooms.... I dont think I could find any faults with the hotel other than it rained!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goundar-morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Room was not king size bed as I booked through Expedia but double bed, upgrade to suite was not taken into account, bad management with their booking center, we moved room after one night, air cond did not work, room was hot and full of mustiks, my daughter of 2 years olds has been bitten severely that I have to call emergency doctor to come by helicopter, hotel charge you 10% on the doctor bill !! unacceptable, no price displayed for taxi better to book yourself, food was european nothing special, and Kids meals are the same all the time as choice is poor, we had black water one day during many hours, impossible to take a bath, was normal for the reception saying just wait and let the water run. .. I request late check out for the last day as I got 10pm flight and they took more than 24H to confirm me availibility !! I stop here as it was really disappointed the 5nights I spent there

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CThierryMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

My wife and I have just spent two wonderful, relaxing, indulgent weeks at Le Telfair.
From the initial welcome to the final farewell we were treated to the very best of service and attention. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in luxury surroundings.
The rooms are excellent; we were upgraded to a De Luxe room which I would recommend. The room came with a butler, who was available to help with any part of the holiday. One evening we returned to find the room lit by candles and the bed strewn with flower petals. On another evening he prepared a bubble bath again with flower petals.
The restaurants all served high quality food from an a la carte menu, with some items included in the tariff, while others carried a supplement. One criticism would be the wine list which was very expensive, with an average price of £25.00 for "every day" wine.
A pity, because the food deserved to be complimented with wine, but at £25.00 a night it can get very expensive. While I am on the subject of wine, I think £17.00 for a glass of champagne is a bit over the top!
However that should not take anything away from the overall view that this is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandSStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
7.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,850 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,514 reviews
7.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.1 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
30.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,502 reviews
33.0 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort

Address: B9 Coastal Road, Bel Ombre, Mauritius 61002
Region: Mauritius > Savanne District > Bel Ombre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Spa Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bel Ombre
#2 Family Hotel in Bel Ombre
Price Range: £231 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Wellness Resort offers a variety of luxury accommodation in a discrete village design with 20 different villas of 6 or 8 rooms. 158 rooms and suites have beautiful sea views or river views with floor to ceiling French windows, private balconies or verandas. Heritage Le Telfair is a member of Small & Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Le Telfair Golf Hotel Bel Ombre
Heritage Le Telfair Golf And Spa Resort
Le Telfair Hotel
Hotel Le Telfair
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort Mauritius/Bel Ombre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing