We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Heritage Golf Club

Heritage Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Bel Ombre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Heritage Golf Club is a multi-award winning championship golf course located in the southern part of the beautiful island of Mauritius. This 27-hole golf complex, designed by Peter Matkovich, comprising of an 18 hole championship golf course, a 9 hole Par 3 course, exceptional practice facilities, golf academy, clubhouse, restaurant and golf shop. The Domaine de Bel Ombre, of which Heritage Golf Club is part, includes 2 five star hotels, Heritage Le Telfair and Heritage Awali, 150 luxury Villas, the Chateau, Beach Club and Nature Reserve. The Heritage Golf Club is the host venue of the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open, the first tri-sanctioned golf tournament involving the European, Asian and Sunshine Tours. This 1 million Euro tournament will be played from the 7 - 10 May 2015 and will attract the top professionals from all over the world. Other awards and accolades: - "Best Golf Course in the Indian Ocean", World Golf Awards 2014 & 2015 - Best Golf Development in Africa at African Property Awards 2013-14 - Certificate of Excellence Award for the year 2013 & 2014 by Tripadvisor - Included in the "Top Ten Best Golf Courses in Africa" by CNN Travel 2013 - Voted Best Golf Resort in Mauritius at the World Travel Awards 2010 & 2011 - Voted Best Golf Resort in Mauritius at the World Travel Market 2010
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great course, excellent condition. Must take a buggy, the technology is great, and 4 hours for a 4 ball is perfect. The staff are totally wonderful, friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our course and team. We pride ourselves in being able to get fourballs around our course in just over 4hrs on average which allows time to make use of the other great amenities within the resort. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    73
    17
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Top course”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very nice and challenging golf course! I played it twice during my stay.
Fairways and greens were in perfect condition. The day before one of my rounds, we experienced some heavy rainfall. The next day the course had dried up pretty good – buggies were not allowed on the back nine, but the course was definitely still playable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our course. Sorry about the rain but glad you got out there the next day anyway! Look forward to having you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heritage Golf Club”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband visited the course twice and really enjoyed. We spoke to a number of people who came to Mauritius specifically to use the course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angharad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our course. We hope you and your husband will travel back to Mauritius soon to play our course again!

Kind Regards

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
238 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent course - but you need to like windy condition”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The course is set on the hills behind the Bel Ombre area with magnificent views. The greens especially are fantastic, like velvet carpets. Due to the location, it is bascially windy all over, so plan to lose some balls here. Truly exceptional course worth trying.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bulgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our course. It does get a bit windy on some days in the South but just adds to great challenge that this golf course presents. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on a less windy day :)

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best course I've ever played!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed at the Awali in October and could play this course as part of the AI. It is without doubt the most beautiful course I've ever played, and yet very challenging. It plays beautifully and having cold towels and bananas brought round to you really was the icing on the cake!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kernow_traveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan D, General Manager at Heritage Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of our course and good to hear you enjoyed the on-course service as well! We look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ryan Dodds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heritage Golf Club also viewed

Bel Ombre, Savanne District
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
 
Bel Ombre, Savanne District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 

Been to Heritage Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing