We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamassa Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel So Mauritius(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$489
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$353
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$548
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$366
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Mauritius Beach Resort(Bel Ombre)(Great Value!)
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Indian Resort(Le Morne)
US$288
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
LUX* Le Morne(Le Morne)
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,626)
Filter reviews
5,626 results
Traveller rating
4,727
716
129
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,727
716
129
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburger vanla playaice cream parlourentertainment teambeach restaurantspecial thanksbeach roomsea urchinsa la carte restaurantour honeymoonsuperior roomat lunchtimeall inclusive packagegames roomwater sportsglass bottom boatboat house
Filter
Updating list...
3,188 - 3,193 of 5,626 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2009

A very nice hotel and a little cooler than the resorts up along the west coast has a nice ocean breeze which moderates the temperature a little. Booked an all inclusive package through the tour operator but would have saved if i booked half board then upgraded at the hotel. €55 per person per day for all inclusive vs half board from tour operator €40 per person per day from the hotel. Well worth going all incl as prices for drinks and lunch food are very expensive. Excursions available from the tour operator were cheaper when booked direct with the hotel. We booked a car and driver for a full day for €80 and shared it with another couple for €20 per person, well worth doing a great way to see the island and other tourist attractions. Not much of a beach at this resort and a strong ocean current not great if a poor or weak swimmer. Snorkeling is good but again the current can carry you on to the coral. Tried to go water skiing but conditions not favourable. Staff were excellent, room had a musty damp smell when we arrived and the shampoo and shower gel were not replaced each day, not what you expect from a 4 star resort. the only other complaint i have is that the jacuzzi was not up to temperature, a personal opinion. Overall an excellent stay and the staff more than made up for any minor deficiency.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dj8654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

Have just returned from Tamassa in Bel Ombre Hotel, what can I say.
It was absolutely gorgeous, we arrived after a long flight so we were really tired, we were met by Cynthia (Guest Relations) We were checked in and shown to our room 3016 which was only a standard room but OMG you don't really need any other room it was really spacious with lovely decor very clean and bright it was fantastic.
We ate in the Show restaurant for the first week that we were there then they transferred everyone to the playa for the rest of our stay because it was very quiet and they could accommodate all guests in the one restaurant.
All staff were very friendly, no matter what level of staff they were they would always acknowledge you which I really like.
The only thing with being down the South it is very windy, but to be honest it didn't spoil our holiday it was very refreshing. I would definitely consider going back to Tamassa it was Paradise on Earth. The hotel is a bit out of the way from any main attractions but you can get a taxi from the hotel and they will stay with you for the whole day which is very good and they will show you all the best sights. It;s approx half hour from Chamarel an just over an hour to Port Louis.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westlife1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I have just returned from this hotel which is 4 star. The accommodation was lovely, clean and spacious and the staff were great. We were all inclusive and apart from one shop which sold clothes, papers and gifts, there was nowhere to buy anything, not even food which we greatly needed. I have to say there was insufficient variety in the food which was served up and on gala nights, where it wasn't self service, there wasn't enough to feed a child, let alone an adult. Me and my partner actually returned home having lost weight!!

Mauritius depends heavily on its tourist trade and I must say I for one would not return or recommend it to anyone. It is extremely expensive and you are confined to the hotel complex as there is no where to go or see. I would go back to the Maldives anytime rather than this country where they appear to have everything right.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy09london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

We have just come back from our most wonderful holiday ever.Far from the Madding crowd.Pure relaxation and comfort thrown together in a fantastic enviroment. We were given a very special "romantic supper" at the restuarant on our anniversary as well as champayne and fruit basket delivered to us to our room and other gifts.All the staff were friendly and service was good. Rooms were nice and clean.
The snorkelling "on our doorstep" was most enjoyable.Our trip to Port Louis we did "Mauritian style" in their local buses. The trip to Ilse Deux Coco was great!! The food excellent and we certainly were waited on "hand and foot". The snorkelling in the marine reserve was a total delight.We did not do any other excursions as our main objective was to chill and enjoy the sun.We enjoyed the entertainment and even partied in the disco.Wish we didnt have to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kliebica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

What a great 20th anniversary we had at Tamassa. Wonderful, friendly staff and well kept hotel. I read all the reviews on this site before going to Tamassa and we were very pleasantly surpised. The Food was great, rooms were great, even the weather played along. I will definitely be going back to Tamassa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndyLawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews