We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quietly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Khamphone Guest House
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A good place for sleeping quietly. You have two choice, the first with guesthouse and cheap prices. The second in the hotel in front of a littla more expensive, with a nice view on the karstics mountains and beautiful sunset. The rooms are clean and sunny. The staff is friendly. Not far of the restaurants, the river,...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is a bit away from the centre of Vang Vieng, which is why we picked it, since we didn't want to be stuck between drunk backpackers all night long. The rooms were simple but clean.
The hotel seems to be going downhill a bit though, since they don't offer breakfast anymore and the pool is closed. The four of us seemed to be the only guests. We didn't really mind, we liked that it was all peace & quiet, and in the evenings we had the big balcony for ourselves to relax with a Beerlao.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location so that you can walk to wherever you want, not that VV is that big.
You have to take your shoes off so it was very clean. The shower is the normal Loas wet room style which lets face it, soaks everything else in the bathroom.
We liked the fact that you could sit on the balcony and look out over town and the karsts (hills) in the background.
It's a little bit more expensive than the back packer lodges but it depends on what you want.
Breakfast was also the standard fare of bread and eggs but at least you got free refills of coffee, tea and drinking water which saved a few Kip.
Always a bonus when the AC works.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Easy to get around town, not bustle of say Hanoi, so though not central or on river side it is easy to walk to these areas of the town. It was quiet and reasonably basic such as showers, beds and space but all we really needed for a relaxing stay if you are planing to stay in rooms. Can have breakfast at reasonable price or plenty of other options - bakeries and Aussie bar not that far away and provided free coffee. Free WiFi a bonus. Staff welcoming and would help where could. There are probably more scenic and central places to stay but this does provide all you need.

Room Tip: Steps to upper floor are steep go for ground floor is mobility problems. None seem to have a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluem5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

As it is a bit far from the center (which is good and night life is a bit fussily) we couldn't find it easily. But the house and room were clean, equipped with fan and TV. As there are regular electricity breaks, the electricity is not working during the day all the time, just for a few hours.
The toilet and shower (all together) were again disappointment for us but we were getting used for that. When you use the wash-basin, the pipes lead off the water to the opposite side of the room where it come out from the pipe and is coming back in the middle of the room as there is the drain (waste pipe) in the middle.
Unfortunately it the mooring some people from the neighborhood started to rebuild their house so this together with kids riding their motorbikes till late night didn't really improve the quality of sleep at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benda007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Never slept in a worse bed, so uncomfortable, sink leaked and the walls were very dirty wifi didn't work in the room shower was cold when advertised as hot tried to charge 60000 kip a night but haggled down to 50000 kip stayed in a place after for 40000 and it was much better

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeccabernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

On advice of fellow travelers we stayed at Khampone Guest House for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. Just far away from the main entertainment area of Vang Vieng, this guest house is very quiet and secure and only a 5 minute walk away from eateries, shopping and entertainment. The owner/occupier was very helpful and was able to organize things for us when requested. Our room was quite large and had a balcony area. Exceptional value for money. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
0 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#15 of 24 in Vang Vieng
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vang Vieng
475 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khamphone Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khamphone Guest House

Address: River East Side, Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 298

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing