We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I had a room with a small balcony overlooking the mountains, which made up for any problems. The room was fine - clean, comfortable, decent TV and good wifi - but the bathroom was ordinary (water was hot but came from a crappy wall-mounted heater).

The pool was good, breakfast was mediocre (I didn't try any other meals - note that Vang Vieng generally is an island of awful food in the culinary delight that is the rest of Laos). I had a car so the parking lot was welcome. Staff were pretty indifferent.

This can be a pleasant place to escape the rowdiness of the backpacker places but you won't escape it completely - one morning I got stuck in the middle of a confrontation between two middle-aged English meatheads and a shirtless Norwegian guy that they'd apparently beaten up the night before.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

We stayed two times in the Vansana. Great staff, very helpfull with everything. The views from the balcony on the river are super. Breakfast is good and the bar in the hotel serves good cold beers for a very reasonable price. Rooms are ok, quiet and comfortable.
We paid 50 US$ for room incl breakfast which is good value for money. The swimming pool is the best in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I stayed there one night last month. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed.
I know that in Vang Vieng options are limited and it's probably one of the best hotel in town, but the management should do an effort to improve the service and the general maintenance.
Room : very dirty, bed uncomfortable, lamp shades broken, shower curtain mouldy, airconditioning very noisy (after the room next door decided to turn on the AC I could not sleep anymore). Only one positive point : internet was OK.
Breakfast: few choices, bad quality.
Service: staff was polite but it seems that not trained properly. Front desk staff was sitting on a sofa warching TV when we arrived. When I called him because I could not open my safetybox at 21.00 he said that I should wait until 07.00am since the person in charge had gone home already.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoasenhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is a fantastic place for relax. The river side room overlooking the Nam Song River and across from the stunning karst landscape. Clean room and airy. Breakfast was popular

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidGer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We stayed in the Vansana Hotel with our three daughters for two nights. We had tiny balconies with a nice view over the river. There is a small but clean pool and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was pretty bad, with a very limited selection of food put out early in the morning over warmers. Staff was friendly enough but not very knowledgable. We tried to book some activities through the hotel, but they were unable to tell us the prices or even the departure times of the day trips we were interested in. Overall, not very impressive and a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWoods51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I try not to too critical of the Vansana, as it is probably one of the better places to stay in a town with few decent lodgings. It has a good location, and good views, but the hotel itself is poorly run - a little bit of effort and staff training would really help. Rooms are NOTHING like the internet makes them look (they must have one refurbished room that they took pictures of because we looked at several and they were all the same). We had supposedly a deluxe room - the view was good, but that's the end of the positives. Bed was rock-hard, and no matter how hard we (and the hotel maintenance) tried, we could never get more than 90 seconds of hot water (at least when you knew, you just took a very quick shower0. Never could get the wifi to work, despite several visits to front desk (typical comment "it works here"). No amenities (coffee pot, hair dryer) in room, and breakfast was average (and thats being generous). I think if we ever went to Vang Vieng again (very unlikely) I would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Follies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

First to note this is the ONLY hotel in town which includes lobby, dining room, patio area, swimming pool, laundry service and more. The other places in town are guesthouses or hostels that don't offer most of those things. Hotel was very pleasant to stay at with the most incredible view of the mountains and river.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomnomlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#7 of 25 in Vang Vieng
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#9 of 25 in Vang Vieng
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#18 of 25 in Vang Vieng
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel

Address: Vansana Vang Vieng District | Ban sysavang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £38 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vansana Vang Vieng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vansana Vangvieng Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing