We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like drinking a beer in a public toilet”
Review of Kangaroo Sunset Bar - CLOSED

Kangaroo Sunset Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: Bar, Asian, Thai, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like drinking a beer in a public toilet”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

For some reason the patrons of this place find if amusing to draw phallic images and dirty graffiti all over one wall where you sit to eat and drink. It was like drinking a beer in a toilet cubicle. They must have moved because there was no sunset, not even a view. The Lao staff seemed very pleasant, but this place seems intent on attracting the staggering backpacker ready for the 8pm swill. We left before they arrived. If you are a staggering backpacker, you may like this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne_Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    44
    24
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best night ever”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Spent my birthday here while on tour, and I do not think I have ever had that much fun before. The staff were excellent, and happy to help out in anyway possbile, and the food was glorious, a welcome break from the massive amounts of asain food that I had consumed. This place is party central.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Octavius_Gilgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best bar in town !!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

i've been there for one night , but still stuck in my mind! Good vibe , great music , Friendly staff , and very cheap beer lao in happy hour. i'll be back really soon ! Miss this town already

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thung Song, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great place to meet people and drink your night away! Free t shirts if you get a cocktail! Awesome vibe!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trang,Thailand
1 review
“Delicious and fun.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Delicious food and friendly service.
Local food here is very delicious.
With good service, the atmosphere very well.
Night all customers who use the service is friendly. It makes the atmosphere more fun.
Here is one place where I go every day to do in Vang Vieng.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kangaroo Sunset Bar also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing