We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bakery”

Luang Prabang Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Vang Vieng
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Great selection of cookies, pastries and other delicious treats. The Lao coffee is excellent too! So good we came back the next day for more. However after eating traditional Lao food on a bike tour from Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng, we felt the meals were only just average. Another plus was the clean toilets.

Helpful?
Thank Chch_Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    162
    127
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food in Central Vang Vueng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Great traditional Lao food (amazing laap gai) and huge and tasty bakery items- some quirky variations on familiar stuff

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Overpriced and so so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went with our guide for dinner here and it was not the best spot for a regular Laotian dinner.
People in our group said that the baked goods were delicious but I tend not to eat sweets, especially those made with white flour.

The prices were not extravagant, but higher than some other places and it catered to tourists wanting more of a taste for home, I think.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanners47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice for a snack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a quick drink and the kids had an ice cream while walking through town. The bakery part is not really the type of baking goods I like. I would hope for some more French influenced delicious tarts and cookies in Laos, but it was mostly strange combinations of oreos, lots of chocolate and I don't what else (more overdone American style). Service was fine, smooth and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Garlic pork/rice and chicken fingers = fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I'm surprised this place doesn't have better reviews — I think it deserves a better rating than it has. Perhaps in the past it wasn't so great? We had a DELICIOUS garlic pork and rice dish, with really legit pork pieces - no fat and gristle like you often find over here. The chicken fingers were the same way: hand breaded and very crispy, with great white meat inside. We also had fruit shakes - with no condensed milk or sugar, our request - that were as good as we've had anywhere.

We were really happy with what we had here! We came back again before leaving for more, and the staff were friendly and prompt.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luang Prabang Bakery also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Luang Prabang Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing