We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much but a simple bakery”

Luang Prabang Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Vang Vieng
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not much but a simple bakery”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had lunch with friends as we were travelling back to Vientiane and needed food. We choose to eat here but I found it to be simply a bakery that sells bread, coffee and cakes. I had a ham and cheese baguette which wasn't something special. Sells nice fresh bread but can easily get that anywhere in Vang Vieng.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    168
    134
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK, but loud horrible music”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Had a sort of very hard brownie and a banana shake for dessert after eating elsewhere.

Everything was relatively fine but wouldn't go back as it was unnecessarily noisy with extremely bad pop music blasting away.

Helpful?
Thank Sigmoid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice inside, decent coffee, so-so baked goods”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have gone here a few days during my visit. I like the inside and I can comfortable write in my journal or read my Kindle. The Laos coffee is good and strong. I just didn't find the baked goods to be great. To me they are similar to baked goods that would come in plastic packaging in the US.

I don't find many other places in VV like this, so that is why I made it my morning coffee spot.

The service could be better, but that seems to be the case almost everywhere in Laos. You always need to get the servers attention. They never come to you. When my dishes are empty please remove them. I shouldn't have to call you over to clear my table.

They do have a lot of flowers in the restaurant which is nice, but it also attracts bees. I left before I wanted to today because there were 3 bees that would not leave my table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best baguettes ever”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Like most people we came here because of reviews. We were in Vang Vieng for 2 days and came here 4 times! Baguettes were delicious and fresh with many flavours to chose from. The shakes (get the coffee or coconut shake) were fantastic. Wasn't so keen on the baked good though as they tasted a bit stale. However would recommend for baguettes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luang Prabang Province, Laos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bakery”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Excellent coffee and food, plus good wifi. Nice clean place to sit, eat and just be. Very central and lovely staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LyndallRalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luang Prabang Bakery also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Luang Prabang Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing