We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thavisouk hotel, Vang Vieng town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Thavisouk hotel, Vang Vieng town”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel receptist or help desk are poor in english language.
Opposite the hotel, we can find food easily available. This hotel catering or restaurant has been allocated near the river. It is a distant walk for retirees and old people. The road to the restaurant was not upgraded. One can twist an engkle

Room Tip: Room selections, A must to stay at the highest floor, simply quieter and no one else that you can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francisLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    24
    17
    8
    11
See reviews for
6
18
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Ms Amphone was very efficient and informative in all mail communications. Check in was done in a jiffy and we were handed a complimentary beer to our surprise. Unfortunately they had reserved a twin bedded room inspite of our clearly asking for double bed, so we had to make do with a road facing room instead. Rooms are big and clean. Lumpy pillows though. Good breakfast in their river facing restaurant.
The only grouse was that inspite of settling the bill in cash my credit card (provided as guarantee on booking.com) was swiped after we left the hotel. Do they really think we would leave without paying them especially when they had our credit card details or their staff let guests with huge luggage leave without clearing the bill? I wrote to Amphone who apologised for the confusion and reversed the charge, which took a few days and could have been an inconvenience as we were travelling extensively. Luckily it wasn’t that big an amount.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I am so surprised by all the bad reviews, the bungalow I stayed in has a warm place in my heart. I came here with a group of 10, we started in Koh Phangan, Thailand & worked our way up to Laos.

(If you are looking for a luxurious stay in Vang Vieng look else where, if you are backpacking/ on a party holiday & don't mind roughing it out Get a Bungalow Here!)

The first thing you realise when you arrive is the view... Breath taking, I would just sit on my bungalow balcony taking in that view every morning and watch the locals do their everyday tasks.
The bungalow is small with mosquito nets & fans (no air-con but you dont really need it, gets pretty chilly at night). Electricity has certain set times so you have to plan accordingly, but we didn't mind, we enjoyed squeezing onto one balcony with candles lit drinking Beer Laos. The laundry services was awesome! Couldn't believe how cheap it was compared to thailand! Each of us had nearly a week of clothes done in a day, all folded up (even our underwear haha) and handed back in big plastic bags.

The restaurant was simple and cute. In the morning they have basic eggs, ham, toast, sausages & Lao Coffee which is just awesome! Again the restaurant has a killer view!

Many memorise were made here, I think of this place often and cannot wait till I get to go back. Simple, tranquil & my piece of heaven on Earth.

Room Tip: Get a Bungalow by the River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived at vang vieng bus station in torrential rain so picked a hotel from the lonely planet. Thavisouk sounded great in the book and although slightly more than we would usually pay we didn't want to walk around in the rain looking for somewhere.

We were dropped at 'thavisouk hotel and resort' which is slightly out of town and were told a room was 150,000 kip including breakfast. The lonely planet guide explained that the hotel had riverside bungalows with amazing views but unfortunately these have recently been bulldozed to the ground and the hotel is effectively a huge building site at the moment. They appear to be extending he hotel and as such the apparently cute riverside bungalows are not returning.

We had a room in the main hotel - the corridors were stacked with mattresses and furniture which we assumed was from the bungalows but is was just a complete mess. There were bags of rubbish laying around in corridors with rotting food in?!! Seriously felt like nobody there cared about the place!

Our room was acceptable. The sheets seemed clean apart from one large stain. The bathroom still had soap and toothpaste stains on the sink - no big deal but again just felt like no effort had gone into preparing the room. There were also no towels so we had to ask at reception and were given damp towels. Our window was broken and didn't shut and there were no mozzie guards on the windows.

The community areas of the hotel were just grim. They offer free tea and coffee which is on the terrace and honestly is just a messy area with teabags (no milk or creamer) and 3-in-1 coffee sachets...they hadn't cleared away a single used cup, teabag, spoon etc so the terrace had flies everywhere and three staff were just laying about and chatting- really felt like nobody cared or did anything all day.

The 'restaurant' was on the other side of the building site and was accessed over some dodgy wooden boards. We decided to eat dinner there just because of the rain...we ordered a beer Laos and a sprite...he came back to say they had only pepsi and tiger beer and nothing else...so then we ordered 2 chicken dishes and some spring rolls...5 minutes later he returned to say no spring rolls and no chicken. We asked if they could do beef or Pork at which point he advised they had no food but he could cook us some vegetables!! Honestly we had to laugh at this point...needless to say we braved the rain and went elsewhere. In the morning we checked the free breakfast buffet and it just looked disgusting. The staff we're sleeping across chairs and singing kareoke, they pointed us in the direction of the cold fried eggs and 'fresh orange juice' but we couldn't stand the sight. And we're not fussy eaters!

This place is horrible, seriously overpriced and run by staff who just don't care...we have stayed in some lovely, cheaper places in Laos and found staff to be friendly, helpful and proud to keep places clean- not here though!! AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Brisol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

The sheets had holes and stains of all colors. We even found a worm in our bed. When we asked for a new bedsheet we were told they ran out. When I insisted on a new sheet they asked to check. They never answered. In the end i just slept without sheets. The ceiling in the bathroom was leaking brown fluid. The breakfast area was so filthy. Food was on the floor as if a bomb had exploded. The jam cam from a shared bucket, same as the butter. Bread was some cut up baquette that tasted like a week old. Hotelroom floors are made from tiles so when people above or next to you move the wooden chairs it makes a lot of noise.

For the 25 euros this is way overpriced!

Avoid this place at all cost!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xglenx31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas 2012, I booked through booking.com in a rush as we were worried about availability over the Christmas period. I then read through the reviews on here and was left very confused as there are VERY different views.
The problem seems to be there are 3 hotels/guest-houses in the area with similar/the same name: there is this hotel, a guesthouse called Thavisouk Guesthouse (but I saw a couple of different spellings for this one on signs) and then a third that was called Thavisock which is quite far out of the main town!
I am reviewing the bungalows that are behind the main hotel building (in Thavisouk HOTEL), these were good little bungalows and had a brilliant view of the Nam Song river and the surrounding mountains. Great location - a couple of minutes walk from town and a stones throw from the bridge which takes you over to where the blue lagoon and caves are.
Breakfast was included and was a basic toast, eggs, sausage you get in most places - you did need to be quite prompt to get there before they put all the food away.
Wifi was available in the main building, hot water and tv in our bungalow and friendly staff on reception who booked cheap bus tickets for us.
Read these reviews carefully before making any decisions on this one - they need to sort out the name confusion!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Previously i booked a bungallow by agoda, but unfortunately there's a bad smell from the restaurant (they throw some food on the land and never clean it), i complained to the staf. They tried to clean it, but it didn't help too much. Not all of the staffs can speak english, just one of two of them.
After cameback from blue lagoon, i decided to upgrade my room. So, i move to the hotel. The room is much better even the different of price is just usd 4 - usd 5.
Actually, this place has the best location. You can see the view of Nam Song Bridge and watching daily life of local people while eating some food in the restaurant. Bus and minivan from Viantiane will drop you here. They will have the new building soon and i think it will be more comfort to stay here next time

Room Tip: if you are in budget and want to be closer to the Nam Song river, choose the bungallow beside the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lucyliestiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavisouk Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavisouk Riverside Hotel

Property: Thavisouk Riverside Hotel
Address: Ban MuengXong, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos (Formerly Thavisouk Hotel)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thavisouk Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thavisouk Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing