We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view,view & view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse
Ranked #46 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2014

peaceful with good location for mountain view esp for sunset. not so good communication at morning lady but night shift male is supportive & helpful. anyway, good value with excellence mountain view. if you don't mind on walk, it is a good choice for GH in VV. just 30mins to main bus station. you could save money to hire a tuk tuk & do exercise at morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

First of all, the view from your bedroom window is INCREDIBLE! Location is great, 5 min walk from main strip but poked away a little to have a silent nights sleep. The rooms were top quality (especially for the price you pay), very clean, spacious and the beds were really comfy. Staff were friendly and polite. Only downfall is wifi is very temperamental.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Was 3 nights in Jan 2014 in the Mountain Riverview Guesthouse. While the dark wooden house is beautiful and also the rooms are ok, the best is the view from the balconies.

The cleanness was rather average (the used soap with the hair of earlier hotelguests was still in the bath. The room has never been made or cleaned during our 4 day stay.

Also we had the feeling that the staff did not care about the guests at all.

I would choose for another visit the guest houses directly at the river where you pay for similar rooms in nice bungalows just 20 USD.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joschi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at Mountain Riverview for five nights and would most probably stay again if I were in the area. The views were amazing. Opening the curtains and seeing the mountains right outside was something special. We stayed in room 303 on the top floor.

Overall this guest house provides great value for money. The rooms are spacious and clean, the shower was hot and constant. There is free hot and cold water available in reception. For 80,000 kip per night I was very impressed.

The only negative comment I have about my stay there is that the hotel can be quite noisy. The walls are very thin and depending upon who else is staying on your floor will determine your quality of sleep. So when I had loud and thoughtless neighbours I had interrupted sleep. So bring your earplugs!

Overall however, a great budget place with first rate views and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, 3rd floor facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikergirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Pros:
-Really incredible views - leaving the windows open and waking up to a view of the mountains was pretty special.
-Nice wooden interior to the hotel.
-Decent bed/room quality for the price.
-Good location at the northern end of the town, near the island.

Cons:
-Absent/unfriendly/unhelpful staff.
-The person who checked us in did not speak any English, called someone else who got on the phone to me, asked whether I booked twin or double, and A/C or fan - I told him - the lady then escorted us to a room with the opposite bed choice to what I had asked, and an A/C that didn't work.
-Wi-Fi only worked in the lobby.
-Shower was broken so that you had to hold it with one hand in order to shower.
-The broken A/C and extractor fan that opened up to the mountains made me worry that mosquitos could get into the room pretty easily.
-Bathroom had an ant infestation on the final night.

Overall, at 200,000kip, the room was not the worst value in the world since we booked for views and location and it delivered on both counts. It's just a shame that there is no proper staffing here, no one to help you with any queries or even check you into the correct room, etc. Plus the bathrooms are in need of repair and I can't see the owners caring much at all.

Despite the wonderful views, if I return to Vang Vieng I will seek an alternative guesthouse. I would not recommend Mountain Riverview and will definitely never stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor, with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spangove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This guest house has a view of where the river splits around the island. Quiet, is only interupted by the Buddhist chants from the nearby temple and an occassional rooster crow. The guest house has lovely teak wook throught, from stair cases, floors, furniturebe, balconies with sitting areas This is a family run hotel, so sometimes the desk is only staffed by teenagers, but they will call big brother to get the help you may need. Water and coffee is provided in the lobby. Away from the main strip, but easy walking distance to food, and the morning market. The bed and pillows were a little hard like most of Asia and is that the air conditioner is a little noisy. Overall Hotel quality at backpacker prices

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with a riverview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The Mountain Riverview Guesthouse is definately great value for money. It is a very modern guesthouse with cable TV, hot water, and air conditioning, The rooms are big, airy, and clean, and each room has a nice balcony with chairs to relax on and either enjoy the river and mountain views or the passing parade on the street. While we were there, pricing was 80,000 no a/c, 100,000 a/c for the streetview, and 20,000 extra for the same on the river-mountain view side of the complex. The staff are very friendly here and are willing to help you with tour bookings and onward mini bus tickets. The WiFi is also very strong in all the rooms.
Even though this guesthouse is close to all of the action, the rooms are surprisingly very quiet. We stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend this place for a nice relaxing stay in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, but if you think the river/mountain view is worth the extra 20,000, then go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinchina2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Vilayvong Guesthouse
#29 of 101 in Vang Vieng
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#24 of 101 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 101 in Vang Vieng
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Riverview Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Riverview Guesthouse

Address: 5 Mins Walk North Of Town Near The River, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £24 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Riverview Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mountain Riverview Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Riverview Guesthouse Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing