We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 99 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was one of the bunglow no view 80.000 kip for fan or 100.000 kip with aircon
150.000 forth floor
staff unfriendly ,obnoxious , not even a smile have not experience this in our 2 weeks of traveling though Laos
Some understand more English than they make out when negotiating bargain hard make sure you know whats included eg: breakfast / aircon but be prepared to walk away there is plenty of friendlier places to stay
Would I stay here again defintly not they are milking the view

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    48
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
6
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The view from this hotel is just AMAZING anytime of the day!!! (On 4th floor rooms with balcony)
The only place that gives you the view of Vang Vieng: the river span, people rowing, cows being herded, people crossing the toll bridge, and Vang Vieng valley!! In the morning you can enjoy watching the fog drifting and in the evening, the sunset over 'Red Cliff'. I am recommending anyone to book this hotel if you can get a room on the 4th floor with balcony, best view in town guaranteed. (How do I know? Theres no other hotel is located perfectly located there to give you the view of the valley where blue lagoon is located with that height, plus I went up to the rooftop so Im 110% sure which I will talk about later on) You will thank me later. Dont expect much with breakfast, very small portioned and every morning I got 'rotten' butter for my bread so for this I would advice you to leave out the breakfast deal and eat elsewhere. Staff is very friendly and they will answer you with whatever questions you have. Room is very, may be overly spacious. Wifi signal is very weak though so you might have to use it in the reception area.

On the 5th floor of the hotel is a rooftop with balcony, but you must literally walk along the roof which is around 2 feet wide with no handles at all and no lights so GO AT YOUR OWN RISK and dont go if you consumed alcohol because if you misstepped then you come down all the way (obviously) and I dont want to be responsible! There is a small/sharp corner which is wet all the time from water tanks with those slippery algae or whatever so be extra careful (better if you observe it when the sun is not down first) Once you got there, though, you'll thank me (again), this is THE best spot you can take photos of Van Vieng and milky way at night (if you have the right equipments). Please be very careful.

Room Tip: 4th floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaneth25341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

one of the only accomodation places with high views over the river to the mountains - get a room on the second or third floor - no lifts but worth doing the stairs. very large rooms by asian standard - good hot showers, air con, tv, fan and fridge. good location, can walk to town centre in 2mins. big breakfast menu - would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for room with view of the river - cannot see the river from the bungalow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We only started looking for a place to stay when we arrived in Vang Vieng. At first we booked 2 nights at this other guesthouse. We stayed there for one night and thereafter we started looking around just to check the prices and comfort level at other Guesthouses. We came across Vilayvong and found that if we pay just slightly more for a night, we could get a room that was twice as big, a view and very comfortable beds. The room was also clean and it was a really pleasant stay. It was a nice guesthouse to go back to especially after visiting the caves and mountains during the day.

We are definitely not spendthrift when travelling abroad; we spent SGD $690 (inclusive of flights and accommodation) per person for a 11 day trip in Laos. However, we just had to forgo the cost we paid for the first guesthouse for the second night and we went for Vilayvong Guesthouse instead for the remaining 2 nights we were in Vang Vieng.

The toilets in all the guesthouses are about the same, but the size of the room, the view and cleanliness plus the cloud bed (that's what I call a really comfortable bed).....you should consider staying here, it may not be the best, but it's a good option.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Good hotel, we has room 406, treck up to it as no lifts, but worth it for the view. As this room was on the end, you could see up the valley to the right.
Lovely to sit in balcony watching sunset, and see the kayakers returning.
Staff friendly, breskfast basic, eggs, fruit, baguettes lovely.
Would stay again if in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Ask if 406 is available, best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This was a nice quiet guesthouse located on a side street of Vang Vieng and away from the noisy bars. We had a top floor room with a view to die for, overlooking the river and mountains.

Pros: very large room, very large bathroom and a balcony with a lovely view. Centrally located yet quiet and close to the river, free wifi and breakfast. All staff we encountered were friendly although some issues with English communication

Cons: there are two reception areas - one down a driveway and one on the main street. We didn't know about the one on the main street so waited at the one down the driveway for eternity before someone showed up. Better signage would help. Free wifi, but the signal is not strong, breakfast is pretty 'basic' and the towels have seen better days.

Overall value for money score - 8/10. For $26 a night for a large double its fantastic value for money. You kind of forgo any right to complain at that price !

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room on the corner overlooking the river. You wont regret it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Pros: great views from top floor, nice big room, tv, fridge, friendly staff, good location far from noise but easy walking distance

Cons: dirty (lots of ants everywhere)

average: breakfast

conclusion: top floor rooms are a bargain if you can handle some grime in the corridors

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 23 in Vang Vieng
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#17 of 99 in Vang Vieng
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
Phou Ang Kham 2 Hotel
#36 of 99 in Vang Vieng
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champa Lao
Champa Lao
#13 of 99 in Vang Vieng
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvong Guesthouse

Property: Vilayvong Guesthouse
Address: Ban Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilayvong Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vilayvong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing