We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vangvieng Homestay(Vang Vieng)
US$20
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vieng Tara Villa(Vang Vieng)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$20
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inthira Vang Vieng(Vang Vieng)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Naga Hotel(Vang Vieng)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
20
52
48
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
52
48
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorthe riverprivate balconyseen better dayswould stay againlarge roombooked this hotelwatch the sunsetthe main streetcomfortable bedfridgeguesthousetvtownkip
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent a couple nights here and enjoyed our stay, the rooms are simple and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The highlight of the place is the stunning views from our room (top floor), it is high enough to look over the buildings in front and you have stunning landscape of the river and mountains in the background. The location is just at the end of the main street so a few min walk to the restaurants and such but it is a nice quiet location.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room, the sunsets and clouds in the mountains at dawn are stunning.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-John-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was one of the bunglow no view 80.000 kip for fan or 100.000 kip with aircon
150.000 forth floor
staff unfriendly ,obnoxious , not even a smile have not experience this in our 2 weeks of traveling though Laos
Some understand more English than they make out when negotiating bargain hard make sure you know whats included eg: breakfast / aircon but be prepared to walk away there is plenty of friendlier places to stay
Would I stay here again defintly not they are milking the view

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The view from this hotel is just AMAZING anytime of the day!!! (On 4th floor rooms with balcony)
The only place that gives you the view of Vang Vieng: the river span, people rowing, cows being herded, people crossing the toll bridge, and Vang Vieng valley!! In the morning you can enjoy watching the fog drifting and in the evening, the sunset over 'Red Cliff'. I am recommending anyone to book this hotel if you can get a room on the 4th floor with balcony, best view in town guaranteed. (How do I know? Theres no other hotel is located perfectly located there to give you the view of the valley where blue lagoon is located with that height, plus I went up to the rooftop so Im 110% sure which I will talk about later on) You will thank me later. Dont expect much with breakfast, very small portioned and every morning I got 'rotten' butter for my bread so for this I would advice you to leave out the breakfast deal and eat elsewhere. Staff is very friendly and they will answer you with whatever questions you have. Room is very, may be overly spacious. Wifi signal is very weak though so you might have to use it in the reception area.

On the 5th floor of the hotel is a rooftop with balcony, but you must literally walk along the roof which is around 2 feet wide with no handles at all and no lights so GO AT YOUR OWN RISK and dont go if you consumed alcohol because if you misstepped then you come down all the way (obviously) and I dont want to be responsible! There is a small/sharp corner which is wet all the time from water tanks with those slippery algae or whatever so be extra careful (better if you observe it when the sun is not down first) Once you got there, though, you'll thank me (again), this is THE best spot you can take photos of Van Vieng and milky way at night (if you have the right equipments). Please be very careful.

Room Tip: 4th floor with balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaneth25341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

one of the only accomodation places with high views over the river to the mountains - get a room on the second or third floor - no lifts but worth doing the stairs. very large rooms by asian standard - good hot showers, air con, tv, fan and fridge. good location, can walk to town centre in 2mins. big breakfast menu - would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for room with view of the river - cannot see the river from the bungalow rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We only started looking for a place to stay when we arrived in Vang Vieng. At first we booked 2 nights at this other guesthouse. We stayed there for one night and thereafter we started looking around just to check the prices and comfort level at other Guesthouses. We came across Vilayvong and found that if we pay just slightly more for a night, we could get a room that was twice as big, a view and very comfortable beds. The room was also clean and it was a really pleasant stay. It was a nice guesthouse to go back to especially after visiting the caves and mountains during the day.

We are definitely not spendthrift when travelling abroad; we spent SGD $690 (inclusive of flights and accommodation) per person for a 11 day trip in Laos. However, we just had to forgo the cost we paid for the first guesthouse for the second night and we went for Vilayvong Guesthouse instead for the remaining 2 nights we were in Vang Vieng.

The toilets in all the guesthouses are about the same, but the size of the room, the view and cleanliness plus the cloud bed (that's what I call a really comfortable bed).....you should consider staying here, it may not be the best, but it's a good option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews