We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of a wierd vibe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vilayvong Guesthouse
Ranked #40 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First let me say the service was excellent. There are lockers you can use to lock your valuables in next to the main desk. Bring your own lock if possible. The room is spaceous but not disrupt except for the strange sign on the walls about no sex, drugs, or bare pictures on the wall. We only stayed here enroute to our next place, this is not a destination, rather a stop over. The views can be breathtaking, that is the good news, as well the street pancakes. Lots of stuff to do nearby so you should get out of this dusty town. Breakfast is included but it is nothing to get excited by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in late February as part of a GAdventures tour. The room had more to offer to use (active women in our 60s) than the town itself, which was dusty and nondescript, especially after 3 days in lovely Luang Prabong and an amazing drive from there to this town through the mountains.


The room was huge and clean. The bathroom seemed "older."

Website: Vilavong-Guesthouse.com We always got the business card of the hotel when we stayed in Laos and Cambodia. Unfortunately, we forgot to take it with us one night and had a hard time finding the hotel (on the one big main street) as the hotel was not well-lit at night and neither was the street.

The breakfast was mediocre served in a huge dining room several flights down.

We walked several blocks to the shore and had nice, reasonably-priced lunch in a lovely hotel called Villa Nam Song with a beautiful garden....and a very calm setting. We had hoped to go to the falafel Place (Sababa) but did not have time.

The town has been a hub for foreign (Australian and European mostly) young adults coming to have "fun." While the locals want the money that they bring, they also are upset at the ways the behavior of some of these people clash with the local conservative culture. So there are signs in the room saying that it is illegal to use drugs, not sleep with people they are not married with, not to have political gatherings, etc

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanners47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our tour. Totally got the worst room out of the group. We got a room right next to the front desk/lobby then our window looked on the street. Our room was always so loud since the location, Not happy at all that this was the only option we got for having a double bed. Everyone else in a group of rooms on higher floors with a view over looking the river.

The room was big but nothing special. Very plain and simple, tv, fan and air conditioner that didn't work. The bed was okay and big. The washroom was average but at least we had hot water if you waited long enough, unlike the rest of our group.

As for breakfast nothing special at all. It was so bad I didn't even bother the second day. Also they do have WIFI but again really only works when you sit in the lobby.

The only decent thing is the location. Right on the waterside and only a few minutes to other hotels with restaurants on the water edge. Also to walk into town is only 10min walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raspberryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here in a room on the top floor. Our room was clean and had a king size bed, TV with HBO. The wifi was frustrating, only working half the time. The balcony had a beautiful view of the karsts . The guy who runs the front desk is extremely friendly and helpful. I think he is the manager. He makes up for the rest of the staff who are uninterested in serving guests and never smile. We had breakfast included and it was fried noodles and for two days and the other two days we could choose between an omelette or fried or scrambled eggs with juice, coffee, bread and jam. There is a really good restaurant just down the road with delicious falafels for 25000 Kip, call Sababa. We rented a manual motorbike at the place about a block away for 30000 kip per day. Hot air ballooning was $80 per person. We went at sunset and it was a great experience! I was sad to leave our nice room and we will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Vang Vieng!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleGee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place could be amazing, we had a double room on the top floor with views any 5star hotel would kill for but... We stayed here as part of a tour and our room is probably normally one of the more expensive ones and clearly no one had stayed in it for a while or at least it had not been cleaned for weeks, the air vents were thick with dust and cobwebs, the room had so many flying bugs that we went on an hour long killing spree, and then got bug stay from reception and fumigated the room. The walls were cover in evidence of pervious tenants killing bugs. And to top it off the a/c unit was propped open with toilet paper. The breakfast was dreadful too and the don't provide drinking water in the rooms. AVOID!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EuropeMEastAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour. The room was nice , bright and airy. There was a nice balcony which you could enjoy the sunset from and enjoy. The view was great and I enjoyed just relaxing outside on the balcony having a glass of wine. I stayed here for 2 nights. My room had 2 single beds. I was alone but there was enough space for 2 people to move around easily. The bathroom was a wet-room, common for Asia. It was small but adequate. I found a large cockraoch in my bathroom one night and also ants. There was mosquito nets above both beds but some people on the tour never had any. The could have done with being washed as they were a bit yellow but fit for purpose and I used it without being bitten.
The breakfast was basic. Selection of eggs, baguette, tea/coffee/juice. I didn't particularly enjoy it but it was fine. Staff friendly and had I had no concerns. At night, staff sleep in reception and behind the counter covered by mosquito nets but would wake if you needed them.
Location good, you could walk to the restaurants, bars etc easily, but you were far enough not be bothered by it. On one night there was a wedding across the road from the guesthouse and music was very loud, but I managed to fall asleep. This is obviously not the guesthouses fault but something to bear in mind. Wifi very temperamental and just didn't work very well.
Overall, a good stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor. No lift. I had a great view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nataleec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at a very nice and large bungalow with reasonably clean and comfortable beds. Wi fi at the main building area only. The staff didn't speak a word of english, but we managed to communicate and everything went on nicely. The location is ok, but we had to walk for 10 min to get to the busiest parts of the city. Good breakfast and good value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerTarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#9 of 24 in Vang Vieng
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#7 of 24 in Vang Vieng
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Vang Vieng
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jammee Guest House
Jammee Guest House
#21 of 101 in Vang Vieng
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#4 of 101 in Vang Vieng
364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champalao The Villa
Champalao The Villa
#29 of 101 in Vang Vieng
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilayvong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilayvong Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng Keo, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £16 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vilayvong Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vilayvong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing