We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, central and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inthira Vang Vieng

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inthira Vang Vieng
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
New Zealand
Level Contributor
251 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely, central and great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here and can only say good things about it. The location was great, a but away from the backpackers but close enough to everything. The staff were super friendly and eager to please and the restaurant excellent.

Room Tip: See if you can get the room on the deck so you have a huge balcony. No river or mountain views to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    138
    75
    21
    17
See reviews for
18
136
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Having travelled round south east Asia on the cheap for good value guesthouses. paying $58 for 2 nights for a double room at this hotel seemed quite steep for what you get. We got a standard double room on the right side of thr hotel reading lots of reviews about roosters, karaoke music and the sound of public speakers. I think reading this was good as it did prepare me for the worst. In reality the noise is not that bad. Okay the roosters are crowing all night and day and there is the base of music but if you keep your fan on all night or are a heavy sleeper like myself it won't bother you. It's not on the riverfront but this didn't pose as an issue as the hotel is in the centre of town and only a 10 min walk to the river. The hotel is very close of where the bus from vientiane drops you off (less than a 2 min walk). The rooms are fine, bed is a bit firm, have air con, fan, tv with a few English speaking channels including the HBO movie channel. 2 complimentary small water bottles are given each day. No wardrobe but lots of hangers!!?? The bathroom is a decent size, they provide shampoo and shower gel. Shower hot and powerful and is run by a switch immersion system that must be switched on at least 30 min before showering or the water will be cold.
Service at the hotel is very good. The staff all speak decent English and are able to arrange tickets to luang prabang etc, they do add approx 20,000 kip pp more than the travel agents. Hotel offers filter water for 1000 kip per litre. Restaurant is quite nice, breakfast is okay offering a choice of 5 dishes with half a baguette, coffee ( not Lao coffee), tea and a selection of fresh fruit. We had dinner at the hotel one night and received a 10% off as we were guests at the hotel. Nice welcome drink on arrival. We booked this room through agoda. Probably would stay here again but request a room on the left quieter side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Left side of hotel, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiv2012123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Mixed review this time.
Deluxe room Pro's: cost, location (right in town). Helpful staff, clean rooms and safe. Decent shower!

Con's: Stupidly hard bed, pretty average breakfast and the noise overnight was incredible. The music wasn't so bad, but the roosters were awful. Bring earplugs, even if you are a heavy sleeper like me.

Bar downstairs is a good place for a drink, food is not great. Hire motorcycles for 50 000 kip for 24 hours down the road 2 blocks (turn left at the front door) instead of across the road for 80 000 and 12 hours only.
Staff happy to keep luggage while waiting for 1pm bus. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed for only one night passing through from Vientiane to Luang Prabang. Got a room right behind the reception so we had to keep the blinds down the entire time to prevent other guests from seeing into our room. Recommended by Rough Guide, and the restaurant area certainly has the best ambiance of the restaurants on the street. The room was fairly small, no shower curtain or stall in the bathroom caused everything to get wet. Some mosquitos and I ended up with some odd bites on my legs that took forever to heal - may have been at the previous place though.
Service was fine, food/breakfast as well, but nothing spectacular. Nice place if you're making the stop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBO234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Inthira Vang Vieng I located on the main road through town (not down by the river and view). Although the overall location is not the best, when you arrive at the hotel, it's like arriving into an oasis of calm, with an really nice garden setting vibe.

One of the best things about this hotel is the bar kitchen lounge area. Food and drinks are very good. (Although the Inthira property in Champasak has better food)

Our deluxe room was really nice - great décor, however the bed was very firm.
There was a safe, but it was not bolted.
Air con, water temp and pressure were good.
Restaurant prices are reasonable.
Going into our first evening, all seemed well,,,,then the noise started.
On the right side of the hotel is a restaurant that plays very loud music in the evening till 10 or 11pm.....even if they have no patrons. The next morning, we realized there are many roosters just beside the hotel. This in itself would not be that bad (with ear-plugs), as rooster noise is very common in rural Laos,....however, there was also a large speaker (near the old runway), playing news announcements and patriotic music. Too bad, this noise being out of the control of the hotel.....

Other people travelling with us had a standard twin room (cheaper and with no view) on the lower left side of the hotel. They said they didn't hear much of anything.

Room Tip: Try the left side of the hotel to avoid noise - worse view but probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I wouldn't recommend staying here mostly for reasons beyond the hotels control. The empty karaoke bar next door was loud enough to drown out the TV or to prevent any thought of sleep until very late. Then very early the school next doors PA started up broadcasting the morning news for an hour. If you like your sleep as I do this was problematic. When I asked to change rooms to the other side of the hotel the receptionist said only if we had twin beds. For other unrelated reasons we knew this wasn't true and that a double room was in fact available. For GLBT travellers we found the continual questions of wouldn't we prefer a twin room annoying. Once we understand, the tenth time gets to be enough. No fridge is annoying too as cold water is a bit of an essential in the SE Asian heat & humidity. Otherwise the rooms are clean and presentable but you'll have to toss a coin to see who gets the only bedside table. While I know the hotel cannot control the noise my suggestions for improvement would be more power points. The only ones in the room were right behind the bed or the TV, a fridge and another bedside table. Positives were excellent WiFi, a working room safe and a very nice restaurant area. Breakfast was substantial and well cooked. I probably would look for somewhere else if I came back as we booked this place because it was away from the hustle and bars of the river area. Hope this info helps you.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaytH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMINTHIRA, General Manager at Inthira Vang Vieng, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Kay,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I am very sorry to read that you have not been satisfied with your room
I wish to take this opportunity to apologize for the way it was handled at the time of your stay.

It is our standard practice to move guest rooms if not satisfied & if none are available to accommodate guests, as best we can, to satisfy their needs.
I am sorry the reception did not offer you a suitable room and I will meet with them and make sure this does not happen again.
Thank you for letting me know.

If you would like to contact me directly to discuss and allow us to attempt to make this up to you in our Restaurants or other Hotels on your next visit to our beautiful country, please do so.


Thongsay,
General Manager
Inthira Vang Vieng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was great, the staff were friendly and the room was clean. They had a mosquito net over the bed which was handy as I get bitten very easily. The view from our room wasn't great (but was to be expected) but we were over looking a chicken pen and the old airport. However the front of the hotel overlooks the beautiful scenery. It was very close to the bars and restaurants, we were also able to hire a scooter directly across the road. Just be mindful that they lock up the front of the hotel so when we came back from a night out the front area was locked up - so just get the security guard to open it up for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Khampaseuth Hotel
Khampaseuth Hotel
#12 of 21 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
#15 of 21 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inthira Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inthira Vang Vieng

Property: Inthira Vang Vieng
Address: Ban Savang, Vangvieng | Ban Sawang, Vang Vieng 85620, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inthira Vang Vieng 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Suites – 3 King (Floor 6th) 96sq.m. 24 Deluxe - 12 Twin / 12 Double (Floor 3-5) 36sq.m. 11 Superior – 4 Twin / 7 Double (Floor 1-2) 34sq.m. Total: 38 rooms (6 Floors) Facilities: Swimming Pool, Meeting / Function Room capacity 80 - 120 guests, Restaurant, ample car parking space, in room safety deposit boxes, 42inch Plasma TV, Wifi throughout the hotel, Room service, 24hrs security, CCTV throughout the hotel, Traditional Lao, Thai & Fusion cuisine, Bathrobe & Happy Coat, plus bedroom slippers in all rooms, Chic and Contemporary in design, Key Card Door locking system, All rooms have balcony overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inthira Vang Vieng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inthira Vang Vieng Hotel Vang Vieng

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing