We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks peaceful but the wildlife is loud!”
Review of Maylyn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maylyn Guest House
Ranked #5 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“looks peaceful but the wildlife is loud!”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The Maylyn guesthouse is in a lovely spot down by the river. The wooden bungalow on stilts we stayed in was small and basic (with a quilt that smelt of many of the previous occupants' sweat, and roaches in the bathroom) but very pretty. It had a lovely balcony facing right on to the river. It's supposedly in the quieter end of town, although were kept awake by the thumping sound systems of the bars on the nearby island until about 4am. That racket was then replaced by another - a cacophony of cockadoodledooing and mooing and braying from the many surrounding farms. That said, it was pretty good value for less than 6 quid.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    81
    22
    11
    11
See reviews for
15
181
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Joe and his family are the best hosts you could possibly ask for. My boyfriend and i planned on staying just 3 night but this turned into 11 days of true relaxation and lots of crazy fun!!
The bungalows are everything you cool need and excellent value for money with stunning view of the mountains. Maylyn has a personal touch that may other guest houses in vang vieng are lacking. Its close enough to walk in to town but fare away enough to enjoy you stay. Everyone one we met at the guest house was great always up for some fun. The food is fantastic you must try the lap lao yummy!! The near by caves are worth a visit as is the blue lagoon!! We had a truly magical time here and will definitely be making a return visit soon!
Thanks Joe your a legend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe_burton84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I went to Vang Vieng to go around and Tubing, at the end I found this place and I decided invest all days in this guesthouse. It is perfect to relax and enjoy with Joe and his nice family. Excellent food, and good location if you don´t want to be in the middle of the town, but easy if you want to get there. Close to the guesthouse you can find a beautiful lake and nice mountain to hike. Rooms are very comfortable with a good background, a nice garden. Definitely, it is worth the cost per night

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atramiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

My second visit at Maylene was a very brief one passing through Vang Vieng on the way to Luang Prabang. I'd planned to do a bit of sightseeing but enjoyed the garden environment and bar that I didn't leave the place all day.
Owner Joe is a great character with a sense of humor. The place attracts the like minded and as such I enjoyed my stay in a way that could never happen in a normal hotel.
The cute rattan bungalows are basic with comfortable beds.cold showers and fans. the views from some of the bungalows are to die for!
Maylene is close to fantastic karst mountains and caves within a short walk away. The garden is 5 star and the food wholesome and great value.
Its a fair walk from Vang Vieng town on the other side of the river over a toll bridge. To be honest Vang Vieng is a miserable excuse for a tourist town with loads of noisy backpacker bars and zero character. Its best avoided; but if you really want to go there there is a river walk and footbridge ( but not in the rainy season when the river is in flood).
I just love this place and want to go back soon!

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maylyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maylyn Guest House

Property: Maylyn Guest House
Address: Route 1320 | Hurnyay Village, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget guest house/mini eco resort.We are on the edge of a village our rear faces towards the Karst mountains. We are located next door to the beautiful and expensive Vieng Tara Hotel. We have a variety of rooms some are simple basic timber frame and bamboo bungalows for people who want a more authentic SE Asian experience and we do have more conventional masonry rooms for those who need them. The main appeal of our place is the location, the views and of course our Garden which at times is full of butterflies. Early wet season is best for the butterflies. I recognise that we may not be what everyone is looking for but many people love us.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing