We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River view isn't actually the river where people tube”
Review of Domon Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domon Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
vancouver
Level Contributor
122 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“River view isn't actually the river where people tube”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a river view room on the second floor. It overlooks a dirty ditchlike river. The actual river is obscured by a row of bungalows, two bars and some bushes. The view of the mountains, however, is magnificent. The room was very clean with no bugs. The bathroom was a good size but dark. The shower head was handheld with no mount. The TV had good channels although all the ones up til about 90 do not work.

Noise will be a factor. The "Bucket Bar" across from you will blare music til about 3am. Drunk kids will run up and down the halls around the same time. You should know this going in since you're in Vang Vieng so you really shouldn't complain about it.

The upside really is the size of the room, the cleanliness, and the view of the mountains from your french windows leading out to your balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

After one night at Banana Bungalows, and checking out another half dozen places, we settled on Domon Guesthouse. It was by far the best value and nicest place in our price-range that we saw. In fact, it's been the best value hotel we've stayed after 6 weeks of travelling in Laos. With large rooms with private balconies, all the rooms are tasteful and well appointed with tv's, fans, hot water, little desks and big beds with clean white sheets. Hot water was plentiful and scalding if you wanted. After much debate we settled for the more expensive (100,000 kip) river-view rooms which gave a clear view of the limestone cliffs. The street-view rooms were more reasonable (70,000 kip) and give decent views of the town (from the 3rd floor at least). If you can, try to get a corner room as they have double the windows and let in lots of light. There was construction going on sporadically throughout the day, but wasn't a big issue as that can happen beside any guesthouse. No question the best place we saw in town, although we didn't bother checking out any mid-range places over $20.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a corner room as they have double the windows and let in lots of light. -06...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Like many, we made a stop for a night in Vang Vieng while traveling from Vientiane to Luang Prabang.
While we were not so charmed by the city itself, we were amazed by this guest house we had found to unwind after all the traveling.

For a very reasonable price, we had a superb, spacious room (see pictures) with private bathroom and private balcony looking over the river and mountains. The room was very clean and the beds, very comfortable.

While our room didn't get Wi/fi, we could use computers with Internet access in the lobby. The owner of the Guest house was very nice to us and offered to book a mini-van for our trip of the next morning to Luang Prabang, giving us indications for safety, which we found very useful.
The Guest house doesn't provide breakfast, but there is a cute restaurant a few doors away that serves good ones.

I was told that this Guest house is apparently very noisy at night because of the bars surrounding it, but it didn't bother me.
I have great memories of this place and I highly recommand it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotteuseMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

For just approximately 3-5USD, you get:
- Superbly clean and spacious room
- Clean bedsheets
- Your own private balcony (some balcony faces the nature (+bars) and some faces the town)
- Your own clean and spacious toilet (with hot shower)
- A/C (with a minimal fee)
- Quality mattress
- TV

BUT

Because the guest house is located a bridge away from some of the popular bars/clubs in VV, you get loud music and loud drunkards up till 3-4am. So if you are a light sleeper, you might want to think twice but if you doze of fast enough and even a rock band can't wake you, you'll find this place quite comfortable.

The owner of this place can also help you purchase bus tickets to various locations around Laos which is an added convenience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank choymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Excelent views, average rooms, privates balconies, WIFI available only in reception area what I found inconvenient, but was glad it is present.
Be advised that guesthouse is located in the heart of night life. We could here pretty loud music from 3 (!!!) different bars at night with windows closed. It was not a big issue for us, since by bed-time time we were extremely tired after spending whole day climbing the rocks. Having in mind that there are only two things one would come to Vang Vieng for is night life and nature. I believe regardless what you come for loud music should not be a serious argument against this guesthouse.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stier2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 97 in Vang Vieng
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domon Guesthouse

Property: Domon Guesthouse
Address: Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos (Formerly Domon River Guesthouse)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing