We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning river views”
Review of Domon Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domon Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We came in off season and got a fantastic huge river facing room for 100,000 dong a night including aircon, ensuite, TV, fan and balcony with table and chairs. We stayed in room 308 which was bigger than the rooms at the ends and also close to the router on the stairs so we had good wifi signal and TV. The lady that runs the place seems quite standoffish but she is really lovely, it's just the Laos way and the fact she's had to deal with idiotic drunken backpackers before. Nicer travelers stay here now that they've closed down a lot of the stupid river bars that people went to whilst tubing. It's now a beautiful and quiet area where you can enjoy the stunning karst mountains and river view. Laundry was cheap and done well (nothing missing but always count!) room was basically clean but they couldn't done better in the bathroom. You have to ask the owner if you want your room cleaned or new towels etc as the service is slack and they don't do anything unless you specify - you must list what you want i.e. empty bins, new towels, new bed linen, sweep floor, clean bathroom, toilet roll! Otherwise they don't do all of that! Make sure you tell the owner not the guy that sometimes sits there at the desk! He never does anything you ask.

Bring your own padlock and secure valuables in the lockers downstairs when you're out - even the owner says to lock stuff away especially money, passports and phones as petty theft is common in Laos and only increasing. Really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend and return there!

Make sure you eat at Victor's cafe - right next to Monkey Bar (he doesnt actually have a sign for his cafe!) as you turn left out of guesthouse. Huge portions, fantastic Laos and Thai food, cheap beer and excellent fruit shakes and lovely ice coffee. Does a decent omelet for brekkie but we always went there for dinner because the local food was divine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

For first night, I was given a room at the edge of second floor, facing main road, and right beside the restaurant adjoined. Room was so so, but the noise from the restaurant (played FRIENDS all the time) is terrible. Luckily it closed around 10/11pm.
For second & third nights, changed to river view room, on the other edge. The room layout almost the same, triple beds, acceptable cleanliness. Somehow, it turns out to be the best room in whole of this Laos trip. The view from the balcony just awesome! It is such a pleasure to sit on balcony, read some book, has some tea.
The rate for single occupancy or 3 persons in the room is the same. So, more worthy if 3 persons share the room. This GH seem to be very popular, sometime it gets full house.
Since there is no discount for single occupancy, also, no discount even they have plenty of rooms left (they rather let the room empty), my suggestion is to make a reservation before the trip.

Pro: View, the river view. Walking distance to bus terminal (roughly 15 mins, from the place where the local bus from Vientiane drop you off), free wifi.
Cons: noisy for those room closer to restaurant. Wifi only on ground floor, not in room. water pressure for shower is very low.

BTW, tubing is very fun, must try it in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Facing river, third floor, away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Paid 80000 kip for a twin room and honestly, this was the best room in Laos so far in my month of travels for the price. The beds are absolutely comfortable that you wouldn't want to get up. Its immaculate and the bathroom is big. Though our room was out front - its noisy by 7am with constructions and whatnot and you can actually hear the words to 'Friends' theme song from the restaurant next door. It didnt bother us. The owner was nice enough to let us in late at night after new years and not strict on checking out at 11am the next day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river and mountain are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here for view days in February as a recommendation from friends I met in Luang Prabang, its $10 for a room per night. It is located just by the river opposite "The Island". The room itself is very comfortable, with comfortable bed and satellite TV and WIFI from the reception reached my room too which is great, hot water works at all times, and the room is very clean too. If you like to party stay here, its very close to the place happening in town and to the Tubing place. The view from the room is absolutely stunning, overlooking the river and the mountains of Laos. Highly recommend it and would love to stay here again. If you don't like the party noise then this isn't the place, since music will play loudly up to wee hours, otherwise its great.

Room Tip: Lower room will have more chance to have in-room wifi Rooms on the left side will have a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakticleaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Domon River Guesthouse was very good value when myself and my partner visited August 2011. It was 70,000 Kip for a clean and comfortable double room with a fan, en-suite, hot shower, free wi-fi and a balcony. The bed was lovely and comfy, and the room was quiet.

We weren't overly keen on Vang Vieng as a whole, apart from the mountainous scenery, but we recommend this Guesthouse if you do visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had a river view room on the second floor. It overlooks a dirty ditchlike river. The actual river is obscured by a row of bungalows, two bars and some bushes. The view of the mountains, however, is magnificent. The room was very clean with no bugs. The bathroom was a good size but dark. The shower head was handheld with no mount. The TV had good channels although all the ones up til about 90 do not work.

Noise will be a factor. The "Bucket Bar" across from you will blare music til about 3am. Drunk kids will run up and down the halls around the same time. You should know this going in since you're in Vang Vieng so you really shouldn't complain about it.

The upside really is the size of the room, the cleanliness, and the view of the mountains from your french windows leading out to your balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

After one night at Banana Bungalows, and checking out another half dozen places, we settled on Domon Guesthouse. It was by far the best value and nicest place in our price-range that we saw. In fact, it's been the best value hotel we've stayed after 6 weeks of travelling in Laos. With large rooms with private balconies, all the rooms are tasteful and well appointed with tv's, fans, hot water, little desks and big beds with clean white sheets. Hot water was plentiful and scalding if you wanted. After much debate we settled for the more expensive (100,000 kip) river-view rooms which gave a clear view of the limestone cliffs. The street-view rooms were more reasonable (70,000 kip) and give decent views of the town (from the 3rd floor at least). If you can, try to get a corner room as they have double the windows and let in lots of light. There was construction going on sporadically throughout the day, but wasn't a big issue as that can happen beside any guesthouse. No question the best place we saw in town, although we didn't bother checking out any mid-range places over $20.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a corner room as they have double the windows and let in lots of light. -06...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 26 in Vang Vieng
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#4 of 26 in Vang Vieng
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#7 of 101 in Vang Vieng
86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#4 of 101 in Vang Vieng
622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 26 in Vang Vieng
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domon Guesthouse

Address: Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos (Formerly Domon River Guesthouse)
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing