We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Popular View Guesthouse
Ranked #61 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This a very reasonably priced place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The guesthouse was in a great location, close to pubs, restaurants and tubing rental. The owner was very helpful and friendly, I would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    20
    10
    11
See reviews for
2
23
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

First of all, yes, the view IS popular. Try to book a room with a view. I suppose there are 9 of them. It's really breathtaking because unlike Domon Guesthouse or any others along the same street, this one doesn't have any construction of disturbing distractions outside your balcony. And it's quite away from the Rocket Bar so it's not noisy at all!!

Everything in the room was clean. Superb. The bed was comfy and the aircon worked alright. Only the TV had a slight problem because there was no interesting English channel. But hey, with all the partying nobody has time to watch TV. The bathroom had the, in my opinion, purest cool water you can ever get and you feel like taking a shower every now and then.

The reception/owner Mr. Vieng is OK, friendly but can be a bit "blur" at times.

The complimentary breakfast consists of baguette, omelette/fried egg, and coffee/tea. In my opinion it was a little too oily but that's just how they cook it. The coffee/tea is free all the time. And they provide mineral water dispenser too. Get a bottle and you'll save thousands (of kips).

You can't get internet in the bedrooms. The common area has books that you can read. The surrounding shops are good/ok as well. All you need is just a few seconds walking distance. ;) I was alone and although I didn't meet anyone, I had the most incredible Me-Time in Vang Vieng. :)

Room Tip: They will try to give you the second best rooms. If you don't like what you get you can always r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryamosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you're going to stay in Vang Vieng, stay here. The owners are a lovely and friendly couple who are happy to help you out if you have any requests. They also offer a laundry service for a small fee (based on weight of laundry) and sell a few provisional items if you need them, such as waterproof bags (use these to keep your money dry if you go tubing/kayaking), snacks and toiletries. WiFi is free however you can usually only get service if you are in the front of the building - cannot get WiFi in the rooms. We had a room situated on the bottom floor out the back, facing the river and mountains. 3 single beds, air con, tv, shower and toilet. Very basic but that's all you need. Very close to everything - right next door to the main tubing station (to rent tubes), a handful of convenience stores, a motorbike rental place and a number of Friends/Simpsons restaurants. We enjoyed our time so much that we decided to stay in town for an extra day and the owners of Popular View were happy to accommodate to this. Have recommended this place to friends and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a window facing out towards the river and mountains. Every Laotian sunset is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

i feel bad for not writing a review for this place earlier.
i visited vang vieng twice over the december/january period, first time to party for a week, second time to work at a bar for longer. both times, my mates and i stayed at popular view guesthouse. rooms are spacious, well priced, well air-conditioned, have comfortable beds and provide convenient other services professionally like laundry.
beyond that, what really set this place apart from other guesthouses/hostels for me was the fact that when we arrived back after 3 weeks of travelling elsewhere, we were instantly remembered and treated like family by the owners, and were even given the same room which they knew we loved so much.
full recommendation!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anto_sydswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

For 4 of us we got an excellent room with river view for a very good price! Staff are very friendly and there is free breakfast before 10.

It is right in the mix of Vang Vieng so if thats what your after then this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fagleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I was in Vang Vieng for 2 weeks and did a week of party and a week of caving, kayaking, trekking, lagoons and other adventure stuff. The whole time I stayed at this hotel which was offered to me at a discount $110.000 as I was there for more then 3 days. If it rains the big glass windows flood the room (lol) so keep your stuff off the floor (did flood for me twice also hence the discount) but the mountain peaks view makes it worth the while. The balcony side facing the river is the best. you will get a bit of party noise from the party island but the aircon and fan will drown that out. The location is worth it. My bed, sheets and room was clean and i had no issues with it. They only clean your room if you request it. They have free tea, coffee, wifi, and water refill. You can come and go as you please and there is no problem with having visitors. Mr Vieng is very helpful and speaks English well.

Room Tip: Room 23 top floor end of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

From what I could tell only about half the rooms have a balcony and face the river. I made my reservation a month in advance and asked to reserve a room with a view. When I arrived they had lost my reservation and all the balcony rooms were taken. The staff and owner was pretty indifferent and rude throughout my stay. My sheets weren't clean and there was no top sheet so everyone uses the same blanket. If you get a room with a balcony this place would be worth it, otherwise there are better places to stay. It's also a bit noisy if that bothers you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derkenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Nok et Mika Guesthouse
Nok et Mika Guesthouse
#27 of 52 in Vang Vieng
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silver Naga Hotel
Silver Naga Hotel
#15 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bearlin Bungalow
Bearlin Bungalow
#4 of 97 in Vang Vieng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sisavang Guesthouse
Sisavang Guesthouse
#16 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popular View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popular View Guesthouse

Property: Popular View Guesthouse
Address: Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popular View Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Popular View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing