We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Popular View Guesthouse
Ranked #64 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a cheap place to stay on VV, this place does the job. The first two days, the rooms were clean, but the third night was full of flies for some reason. All the tourist hotspots are within walking distance which is ideal. Staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NimVansia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, which was probably enough.
Great: the location - if you get a room at the back of the guesthouse, they have big windows with a balcony and chairs looking out over the river and to the mountains, absolutely spectacular.
Good: the bed - comfortable king size bed, the room was designed quite nicely with very nice furniture and was clean.
Average - the staff - helpful enough, not unfriendly, but didn't see a smile.
Bad - hard and large pillows which I just couldn't get comfortable on; air con that dripped water inside the room - manager fixed it once but then started again 2 days later; although the room was nice, in typical Laotion standards, the bathroom cleanliness and design was almost reminiscent of a horror movie.

Next time I would try somewhere else first.

Room Tip: Get an air-conditioned room at the back of the guesthouse - they have big windows with a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkTBrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Since this place was about the same price as several others we checked out, I would stay elsewhere next time. Unless you have a room with a river view (more expensive), the other rooms are just like any other and the owners don't know anything about customer service. They aren't outright rude, but just not friendly or welcoming at all. You almost feel like you're invading their private space by staying there.

Also, they do not clean the rooms each day like all of the other places we've stayed the past month- this is an FYI for those who prefer cleaning service; I, in particular am OK without hotel staff being in my room every day so the non-cleaning was fine by me, however we probably should have gotten a better price on the room then because other hotels nearby do clean the rooms and the price is about the same.

Location was perfect, although VV is so small that just about anywhere in town would have been a fine location.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is an average place to stay but a solidly good average! The main selling point are the incredible views across the river towards the cliffs - simply stunning.

Room was basic, and in need of redecorating and generally maintenance felt like it had slipped. Location is very good, close to everything and because the island bars are now closed there is no problem with noise/music at night. The adjacent bar/restaurant turned its music off at 11pm each night.

Free wifi in the reception/dining area. I think breakfast may have been included, but I headed out for breakfast each day I was there to somewhere with a view whilst eating.

It was all I needed for a 2 night stay - very basic, but great views & location made up for this. As others have said, don't expect smiles from the staff and do expect to pay in advance for your stay upon arrival.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good place near town centre with excellent view of the river and mountains. However, the staff do not smile and not friendly. Unlike previous guest houses we had stayed, the owner insisted we pay upfront before even we get into the room as if we are going to run away without paying. You will find him sitting around the counter without shirt!

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The pictures online do not really show what this place is like. It's a hole in the wall, at best. I was shocked and disgusted...but apparently most of the "guesthouses" in Vang Vieng are similar. Pay more for better quality...something I will always think when it comes to Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Lots of better options out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I must say I was surprised to see any excellent reviews ...maybe I got a lemon of a room, but it was filthy and disgusting. The bed was bug stained, the walls had obviously NEVER been washed. When I used the sink more water leaked out the pipes than actually went down the drain, and the shower was terrible. The staff seemed pretty disinterested in any kind of service. The two things it has going for it, is the great location and excellent view. I don't give too many bad reviews, but other than the location and view(it gets a 2 because of the view) I couldn't find anything good to say, and the view doesn't make up for the crappiness of the room ...there are MUCH better value for money to be found than here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#5 of 25 in Vang Vieng
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#8 of 25 in Vang Vieng
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#12 of 25 in Vang Vieng
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popular View Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popular View Guesthouse

Address: Ban Savang, Namsong Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £13 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Popular View Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Popular View Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing