We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and unrelaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disappointing and unrelaxing”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

So Vang Vieng is not the party town it once was - still plenty to do here though. We booked this place to be a bit out of town as we were afraid of noise, but this is not a concern anymore as the town basically closes at 11 and isnt't that rocking anyway!

We stayed 3 nights and soon got bored of the 15 min walk to town, it is even tricky to get a tuk tuk from near the hotel, so you have to walk to town to get anywhere. On route you will pass many other hotels at very cheap prices, some of which apparently are very nice.

This was our most expensive hotel in Laos and was supposed to be a relxing treat after days of travel - how wrong we were! There is a noisy place across the river from hotel where Asian's party. The curtains are useless at light eliminiation and lawnmower starts up around 8am thus denying any chance of a lie in, maybe this is the plan as they stop serving breakfast at 9.30!!! We're supposed to be on holiday! Staff only speak limited English, which when compared to locals in town is pretty poor (given this is supposed to be a superior property). They were pleasant enough though.

On a positive note the setting i and garden s lovely and pool open late is great. Breakfast at restaurant is a pleasant start to the day (despite the earliness of it), however they do not maximise this location and restauarnt was always closed, so we couldnt even get a drink (no fridge in rooms either). We bought beers from the one pub nearby, which shut at about 10:30, so took beers doen to riverside and enjoyed our hotels views. Silly situation.

Bathroom was very good for the hotel class.

So being by the river you may imagine a mozzy issue, so what do they do - they leave big old gaps around the door, and a floor with gaps in it. We had a bug spray and plugged the gaps with towels, mats and pieces of paper, which did the job.

Cleaning staff did a decent job but did not clean sheets every day they just remade bed and rotated sheet around. One day they didn't lock the door to our room afterwards. Thankfully nothing was stolen. Outside people can pay to use pool, which means it can get busy.

Bus tickets from hotel are expensive compared to agencies in town.

Not at all a relaxing place to stay which is a shame given how good it should be. Only hotel on this trip which I would not recommend - but Vang Vieng was great! (Go to Blue Lagoon, cave trips, and of course tubing!)

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    42
    36
    21
    12
See reviews for
20
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it is an absolutely beautiful hotel. The first night we tried to get a room they were booked out so be sure to book advance.

The staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated with a bit of character. No mini bar but good shower; air con and wifi worked well.

The restaurant looks great but is hardly ever open. I went there for breakfast every morning. Twice there was a buffet, once there wasn't and you ordered and paid for breakfast. No big deal but it was a bit confusing! Such a shame they were not open for drinks or dinner when we were there because it would have been an awesome setting.

The location is ok, it is a 10min walk to the main restaurant area which is kind of annoying seeing as the hotel restaurant is never open, but there's a bar literally next door which is great and sells dinner too.

The pool was a great luxury, especially on those super hot days.

All in all, this was a very really nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a garden view bungalow which was well in need of an upgrade inside & the bathroom very tired.
Shower leaked & towels looked like they were thread bare.
No fridge to keep refreshments cool,no kettle or coffee/tea facilities. No hair dryer very basic.
They had what looked like a great restaurant but never opened & we had a nightmare trying to arrange a spa treatment due to bad communication amongst the staff. We had experienced a lot more for less throughout our travels.
Very disappointed .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniepru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

this hotel was chosen by the agent and indeed it was a good choice. the location was fantastic, the grounds were groomed and taken care of. The room was a cabin style room, but comfortable and nice. The restaurant is OK and breakfast is fine considering the status of the hotel as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

this place was recommended by my friends so i booked it via phone for the river view payed 55$ for it. the view was breathtaking and my wife loved the sunset view. we were on our honeymoon. and we felt that we were treated extra special. the cusine was blend though recommend eating out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The main highlight of this hotel is the fascinating view from the pool and adjacent restaurant, overlooking the river and mountainous back-drop. When we first reached the hotel, it took a while for me to convince myself that I ain't dreaming. Rooms were clean & tidy and wash-room was spacious. I greatly regretted not paying an extra bit to book a river-front room, all of which had a small balcony facing the river.
They mixed up our lunch order and served stir-fried beef with mushrooms when we had ordered a black-pepper fish -- taste was rather average but not too disappointed coz it wasn't that expensive (50,000 kip for 2). Breakfast was standard for a hotel of this price range -- fried rice, toast, omelets, sausages, bacon, rice porridge, fruits & coffee.
Apart from one impolite receptionist, rest of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had forgotten to take our phone charger and a waitress at the restaurant was kind enough to offer her phone charger.
I'll definitely stay at this hotel again, next time visit Vang Vieng.

For those who fail to book this hotel and don't minding spending twice as much, check-out Riverside Boutique Resort. It's right next to Villa Vang Vieng resort -- view of the river should be identical.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKODAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We only spent one night here and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was excellent, overlooking the garden with a huge picture window. The bed was comfortable, nice linens, huge ensuite bathroom with a tub, and good wifi in the room.

The pool was clean and so refreshing to cool off in. There are loungers around the pool and beach towels also provided (just ask at the restaurant). The property overlooks the Mekong River, offering beautiful view of the sunset from the pool area.

We thought the location was excellent, situated about a 5 minute walk from the centre of town. It was very quiet and away from the noisy bar area.

Book ahead so as not to be disappointed. They were full on our first night so we stayed next door at an absolute dump (Thavisouk Hotel). With only a $20 price difference, this place offered so much more value.

Check out our travel blog for more pictures and information:
http://www.chrisandchrisbreakfree.com/2013/02/28/laos-land-of-temples-monks-sunsets-and-french-bakeries/

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.2 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#4 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vang Vieng Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Property: Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Address: Ban Viengkeo | On The Riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vang Vieng Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious hotel, built in traditional Lao design, located directly at the shore of the Nam Song River in Vang Vieng. Our rooms and restaurant enjoy a spectacular view at the breathtaking mountains which make the region so popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Vang Vieng Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing