We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great setting, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Unbeatable setting at the quiet end of town, on the river, with gorgeous views of the mountains. The gardens are well-kept too, and there's a small pool, so first impressions are good. But the rooms are small and ill-lit - too dark to read or see what's in your case - the aircon is ineffective, and there are no wardrobes or cupboards, just a few pegs. The staff are not all up to the job: we had to ask for our room to be made up at 1pm on day 1, and they managed to book us a minibus instead of a VIP bus for Luang Prabang. So overall, it's overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogervS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    39
    36
    20
    12
See reviews for
20
58
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

booked 3 rooms on nye two river front rooms and one garden.No fridges in the rooms one of the river facing rooms had no hot water. Wouldnt recommend this place to anybody total waste of $260 when theres other bungalows on the river closer to town for $30 a night (grandview hotel)

Room Tip: stay in the grandview bungalows for £30 thats my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dets81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vang Vieng hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 days. Great big balconys riverfront rooms. Quiet part of town. Nice pool area but pool is not heated. Nice lawns. We'll kept and clean. Friendly staff.

There's no heating however in rooms and it was cold at night and bathrooms are dated. Paid $90/night which is a lot for Laos. Not sure if quite worth that but we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

the hotel is greatly located in a quiet part of vangvieng with a wonderful view on the beautiful mountains. the room was very clean. and to sit at the pool and watch the sunset over the mountains was very relaxing after an active day on the motorcycle.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I would give the pool & restaurant areas a 5 stars but a 2 stars for the room.
The room is rather basic and very creaky. The bed and the wooden floors creaked a lot. No sound insulation, I kept hearing people talking or walking around at night. The bedroom is rather small but the bathroom is huge (very strange indeed). The room is dusty and seems abit worn out as well, which comes as a surprise as the guide said that this is a new hotel.
The TV was not working but I arrived late in the evening and did not bother with a room change.
The aircon has water leaking non-stop. Wifi is available in the room.
No hair dryer, no electric kettle in the room.
The highlight is definitely the stunning views at the pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: Get the room with the river views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a couple of nights at this charming hotel. Do spend the extra to have a riverside view as this makes everything more special. Location is convenient , do not forget that you are paying very little so do not be over demanding. The service and quiet location palm wonderful. This is generally a backpacker town as the journey to and from vv Is arduous.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Innessant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and had my best stay in Laos so far. The staff is very friendly and relaxed and they all seem like good friends and the happy energy between them can easily be picked up. The restaurant of the hotel has an amazing location, right by the river with a great view. However it seems like the restaurant some times is closed because there's nobody there, but as I experienced it's open as long as there's customers there. Just scream for the staff and they will come. I understand the staff some times are in the back room "resting" as I found some of them working at 6 am and they were still working at 9 pm.
The rooms are nice, spacious and clean. However there is some lack of light in the rooms after the sun has gone down. But at a beautiful place like this, you should sleep while the sun is down and enjoy the sun and nature as long as the sun is up. Choose this hotel if you're in Vang Vieng to relax for a couple days.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanTorvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inthira Vang Vieng
Inthira Vang Vieng
#5 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vang Vieng Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vang Vieng Riverside

Property: Villa Vang Vieng Riverside
Address: Ban Viengkeo | on the riverside, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Vang Vieng Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious hotel, built in traditional Lao design, located directly at the shore of the Nam Song River in Vang Vieng. Our rooms and restaurant enjoy a spectacular view at the breathtaking mountains which make the region so popular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Villa Vang Vieng Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing