We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, cold staff”
Review of Malany Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malany Villa
George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, cold staff”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We didn't plan to come here, but I love that they offer a free shuttle from the bus station (even though it's within walking distance) and the rooms looked decent enough.

We payed 50,000 KIP for our double (Nov 13) which is not the cheapest in Vang Vieng, but what you got for the money was OK. The drain in our bathroom was not really working all too well and the windows don't have bars in front of them, but the rest was fine. We slept well enough on the bed and nights were so cool we didn't even use the fan.

There are roosters nearby that make noise during the night and in the early morning ours, but I guess you have those everywhere. Still maybe not good for light sleepers.

The staff is rude unfortunately, the lady at the counter never smiled, greeted and rarely said thank you, even though I helped her out writing a sign.

All in all the place is fine.

Oh and you can bargain a bit on the bus prices (get them down by 5,000 KIP maybe).

Room Tip: The upper floors are more quiet and try to get a window that does not face towards the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    21
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a decent stay here. I had already spent two weeks in Vang Vieng and stayed here because some friends had been here for two weeks and enjoyed their stay. It was reasonably priced and clean, and above all, extremely well located. The rooms are quite spacious and though plainly decorated, are pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Not too bad hostel but very simple layout.
Location is good. No place to interact with other backpackers.
No much knowledge of the staff regarding the surrounding area.
As in most of Laos, wifi connection is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were recommended this place by a guy at the bus stop when we arrived in Vang Vieng, the pictures looked really nice and it was pretty cheap so we decided to go for it. We bartered the chap on reception down a bit from his price as we were quoted less at the bus stop, so we were only paying something like £3 each a night for a triple room, but we all had our own bed instead one double and a single which was perfect. The rooms aren't quite like the pictures, but it had three beds and working aircon and a big bathroom and wifi in the room. It's in a really good location, 5 minutes away from the tubing station and right across the road from the bars so all in all it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Good cheap guesthouse. Location is ideal cant ask for more. Room was good for price, Had double and single bed with AC for 80,000 kip. Shower was near the best we have had in asia. Few people seem to have bad showers but ours was both very hot if wanted and lots of pressure? Mabye try get a room on bottom floor as pressure might be worse up higher. Place dont offer much more they do have a menu but nowhere i saw to eat and all food places just outside gate amyway.

Room Tip: Maybe bottom floor for better shower pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Malany Villa is a cool hostel. It's not the cheapest in town, from memory of talking to other back packers it was relatively expensive. But it was far nicer than a lot of other places in town. The staff are really nice, and they have essentials for sale (eg. water, chips and chocolate etc). There's no restaurant in the hostel, but there's so many in Vang Vieng (which is such a small town) this is not a problem at all. It is really close to all the shops, restaurants and bars etc., but in such a location that noise from people in town is not heard from your room. The rooms are really tidy and the bathrooms are adequate. Air conditioning works. Would recommend for more comfortable stay. Many cheaper hostels have shared rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

It's cheap, it's clean, the air con works, its in a great spot, the service is good. We had a group stay here and we had a blast, we were out for most of the days but came back to a clean cool room, so what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Property: Malany Villa
Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing