We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Malany Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vang Vieng
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malany Villa
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week cause the location is centrel and the shower was nice. The rooms are preety big and clean. The beds are OK and it could get noisey even if you stay at the top. Overall its fine and cheap.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    21
    17
    3
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Malany Villa. The rooms are pretty big and it's pretty clean besides of the bathroom (which is pretty normal in Lao)
Internet is really really slow and the staff was the unfriendliest I saw so far.
Evertime I passed the reception, the woman there looked sooo mean.
The Hotel I think belongs to the Buscompany which drives from Luang Prabang to Vang Vieng

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givemetheworld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Got a doble room, which was basic but clean. Got everything you need, thr A/C worked good and we had wifi in our room (downstairs). Laundry is good but expensive compared to others 20 feet from the hotel. Friendly staff the day we came looking for a room, hardly talked to us after we paid (not nice).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dungcita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Although this place is not a hostel (no common area or dorms - as I could see), it is more like a hotel, it is very quiet and cheap. We paid 60000kip for a double room with fan (no need for a/c here!), hot shower and TV. The hostel next door takes 80000kip for the same. The TV was not really working, only one channel that kept falling out all the time, but it is not important while here. There is free bottle water on the bedside table. The Wifi did not work on the day we arrived, even though there is a huge neon sign outside saying Wifi! The reception said it was because it is Sunday, and funnily enough, it worked the next day. The laundry service was good, however I found out it is half price just down in the town centre! The room was clean and huge, and very quiet. This is really all you need, you can always go to the hostels to eat or party then get back to your clean and quiet room to sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was right at the back away from the road noise, and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torunn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We didn't plan to come here, but I love that they offer a free shuttle from the bus station (even though it's within walking distance) and the rooms looked decent enough.

We payed 50,000 KIP for our double (Nov 13) which is not the cheapest in Vang Vieng, but what you got for the money was OK. The drain in our bathroom was not really working all too well and the windows don't have bars in front of them, but the rest was fine. We slept well enough on the bed and nights were so cool we didn't even use the fan.

There are roosters nearby that make noise during the night and in the early morning ours, but I guess you have those everywhere. Still maybe not good for light sleepers.

The staff is rude unfortunately, the lady at the counter never smiled, greeted and rarely said thank you, even though I helped her out writing a sign.

All in all the place is fine.

Oh and you can bargain a bit on the bus prices (get them down by 5,000 KIP maybe).

Room Tip: The upper floors are more quiet and try to get a window that does not face towards the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a decent stay here. I had already spent two weeks in Vang Vieng and stayed here because some friends had been here for two weeks and enjoyed their stay. It was reasonably priced and clean, and above all, extremely well located. The rooms are quite spacious and though plainly decorated, are pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Not too bad hostel but very simple layout.
Location is good. No place to interact with other backpackers.
No much knowledge of the staff regarding the surrounding area.
As in most of Laos, wifi connection is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thavonsouk Resort
Thavonsouk Resort
#11 of 23 in Vang Vieng
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malany Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malany Villa

Property: Malany Villa
Address: Th Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Vang Vieng
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing