We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay with amazing views”
Review of Jammee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jammee Guest House
Ranked #17 of 97 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great place to stay with amazing views”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Jammee does not have a direct email for bookings. We had booked our four night stay via email which then goes through to a company in Vientiane called Teamworkz. It took them 2 days to reply that they had received our email, then another day to reply confirming our booking, but only after we had sent another email asking if our booking had been confirmed.
We were confused with Jammee's website too....they have 3! We booked via email. $15 per night including breakfast.
We arrived in the afternoon, where the manager was very happy and cheerful to greet us. We were given a bungalow downstairs with air con and small balcony overlooking the views, even though we had booked a fan room. It had a mosquito net, free WiFi, and free tea and coffee throughout the day.
We asked if we could have a balcony room upstairs. We moved upstairs the next day to a family room with balcony and amazing views of the Karst hills, There was a king size bed and a single bed, air con, a fan, a long table for storage, a smaller bathroom than the bungalow but with brilliant views of the limestone karst hills it didn't matter. The shower is nice and hot. Beds and pillows are really comfortable with white sheets and a quilt. Soft fluffy towels too.
We had a choice of breakfast - eggs, pancake, fruit or meusli which you sit at the small tables on the raised wooden platforms with big cushions or at the table and bench all overlooking the wonderful views.
Jammee is down a short dusty track at the quiet end of town but only a 15 min walk away. It's close to Kanagaroo Sunset Bar for good food. The 2 guys who run the place seem a little dis-organised at times but are friendly and helpful enough. The desk does not seem to be manned all the time. We booked a VIP bus ticket with the manager for onward travel to Luang Prabang 110,000 kip each with free pick up at the hotel to take us to the bus station....our seats were also booked which was good.
The cleaners don't come in daily, which we didn't mind. There are toilet rolls hanging in a carrier bag on the door knob downstairs, you just help yourself.
A couple of nights we could hear loud music from close by which was a bit annoying as Jammee is situated in a perfect place away from all the noisy bars, but this may have been due to it being the Chinese New Year.
We enjoyed our stay and felt secure and safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    91
    32
    8
    18
See reviews for
16
109
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This in my opinion was an excellent choice at the budget end of the accommodation in Vang Vieng.

The place was clean, tidy and the aircon, and shower worked well.
The included breakfast taken on a pleasant terrace area at the rear of the hotel was tasty and varied.

Free tea and coffee was a nice bonus.

The staff are helpful and friendly and can help book onward travel and excursions at competitive prices.

It is located a little out of the centre but a short walk gets you to all the main restaurants and that extra distance helps keep a peaceful ambience at night.

All in all thoroughly recommended if you are looking for good value rather than luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUCKYJIMEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

As we Brits say "it does exactly what it says on the tin".

As all the other TA's have said - it's cheap, clean and friendly. Far enough away from the drunken bums in Vang Vieng, yet close enough to walk to some great eateries (two of which are AMD and Cafe de Paris).

Breakfast is included - not bad but not fantastic (omelettes too oily for me) - and tea and coffee are free and available all day.

Enjoy!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Vang Vieng is overrun with dirty hippies and Jammee Guesthouse was a great escape. A ten minute walk from the city center Jammee offers a nice tranquil place to relax and enjoy the beautiful scenery of Vang Vieng. We paid 100,000k for a spotless king size bed, a fan, mosquito net, and sheets that smelled wonderful. Can't forget to mention that breakfast is included in the price in addition to unlimited coffee and tea. The owner was always eager to help us with anything we needed and spoke great English. Wifi was also included. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy Vang Vieng away from the party scene.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btowntravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Great location, very very helpful staff, great allround value, being on the edge of town gives you some quietness if you want, also has a great chill out area to read and meet other travellers, the owner was very helpful on solving a few issues and getting our bus tix properly organised,

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harperfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed at Jammee for 3 nights in Jan 2013 based on the decent reviews on TA. When we arrived in VV our tuk tuk driver had no idea where the hotel was located and had to ask another local for directions. He dropped the other passengers at their hotels in the centre of town and then seemed to drive for an age (right to the edge of town and down a gravel hill) before we found it!

The hotel is on the rural edge of the town (there's a field in front with cows grazing sometimes). At first we were concerned with our choice, but we later realised that it was only a 10-15 min walk to the very centre of town, so the location is not too much of a problem. The reception was run by 2 guys - a local and an Aussie expat, both of whom are very friendly and helpful, full of recommendations for the town.

We ended up staying in 3 separate rooms here - the first was the one right by the entrance, hanging over a sort of ditch. The room was fairly basic (no tv or wifi access), and there seemed to be a lot of mosquitoes in the bathroom, perhaps due to the proximity to the ditch. We asked to change room and were relocated to an upstairs room in the main block. This was much better and absolutely huge (being a family room containing 3 beds). The balcony was very nice for watching the sunset. We were required to move to the room next door the following night, as they had a family arriving who needed to use our existing room, so we ended up seeing a fair bit of the hotel! We'd recommend staying in the main building if possible as you're that bit closer to the centre of things so get access to the wifi area from your room.

Breakfast was a small selection, but we'd heartily recommend the pancakes (when the mix is available). The alfresco dining on a hot sunny morning overlooking open fields is also very nice!

We'd recommend this as a good alternative to staying in the centre of town. There's a good food option only 5 mins' walk away too at Kangaroo Sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJBCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

This place is a bit away from the main strip (within an easy walk) so is nice and quiet, although that means farm animals crowing every morning!
The rooms were big, we had a balcony, it was clean, although our room wasn't cleaned during the day.
Breakfast was included and was tasty, about $15 a night for a double room with air con.
The guy was helpful in organizing activities but did seen a bit stressed sometimes, with breakfast a bit late one day as he got back from shopping late!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 22 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#49 of 97 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 97 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jammee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammee Guest House

Property: Jammee Guest House
Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jammee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jammee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing