We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jammee Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jammee Guest House
Ranked #17 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The whole stay was great. Big clean rooms, good room rate including breakfast. The Manager, Lionel could not have been more helpful and Som the owner was also friendly.
It is a short walk to town but the standard of accommodation makes it more than worthwhile.
You will not do better in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    91
    32
    8
    18
See reviews for
16
108
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed two nights in this nice and clean hostel. The rates during low season are good. The rooms have private bathrooms and are clean. The staff is friendly. It's outside the center, which is good if you are not looking for the parties.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AFreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights in late March, 2013.

The guesthouse is in a very quiet area and around 10 to 15 minutes walk to the Vang Vieng "town centre" (if you can call it that!). It was very quiet at night which was an obvious plus, but a little far from the town and in hindsight we'd have preferred to be slightly closer to avoid the quite long walk.

We had a standard double room which consisted of a double bed and a separate single bed, loads of suitcase storage racking, a small writing desk with chair, aircon, ceiling fan and a very small ensuite bathroom/ wet room. The room also had a terrace to sit out on with 2 broken chairs, no table. The room was very basic but reasonably clean.

The service was ok throughout. Unfortunately, only the manager speaks English and we didn't see him around much. So if he is not around, there is very little anyone can do to help you, which did get a little frustrating on a couple of occasions. There is a lovely Australian man who lodges permanently at the guesthouse upstairs who was really helpful to us, booking our onward travel to Vientiane after the manager had left for the evening.

We had a problem with our aircon unit the first night and when we finally tracked the manager down, he did move us the second night and apologised for the inconvenience which was decent of him.

Breakfast is about as basic as it gets consisting of 2 eggs any style, and bread. Not sure where the "Great breakfast" comments arise from in some of the other reviews on here!

In terms of Vang Vieng, I'm at a bit of a loss as to what the fuss is all about. When we were there the place was just full of dirty empty bars/ restaurants showing back to back episodes of Friends. There was little atmosphere, the sights are ok, nothing special (there are much better limestone karsts in Ao Nang, Thailand, or Halong Bay, Vietnam) and the whole place just felt like it needed a deep clean. We regretted wasting two nights there if I'm honest.

All in all, the guesthouse was ok, no "wow" factor, and lacked any sort of ambience (it was a little too quiet for our liking-we hardly even noticed any other guests)-it was just cheap and semi-cheerful....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyleakin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Just outside the noise of the centre of vang vieng , this was a great base point for our stay , great breakfast included in stay near turn of for blue lagoon , tubing and the caves definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This guesthouse is a gem in Vang Vieng, it's about a 10 minute walk from then tourist area and you can have an absolutely peaceful time in this place.

Their website is not updated, the cheapest room is now actually 80.000 kip per night (aprox 10 usd) for a double room with an extra bed, a ceiling fan, mosquito net, a small terrace and attached bathroom - still very cheap, though. The rooms and bathroom are cleaned everyday and the beds are huge and comfortable. Breakfast is included and is good too, but you can only order one item from the menu (tea, coffee, water and bananas are complimentary).

The only con is that during my stay the cleaning ladies wouldn't wash the used cups and glasses very well, some of them were quite dirty when I would get me a cup of coffee. They should pay more attention to that, but overall this is a fantastic place and I would definitely recommend it.

If you're coming to Vang Vieng for the party scene and plan on spending your days drinking beer, eating happy pizza and watching endless episodes of Friends, do us all a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vd1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you don't want to be in the middle of the tourist party in Vang Vieng, Jammee Guesthouse is a good recommendation! It's very peaceful and quiet there (except for the cows, geckos and roosters ^^), and the walk from the town center is not far (though a bit creepy at night). A river, some mountains and a cave are very close by and nice for walks. There's a nice terrasse where you can have the fantastic breakfast - not very cheap but worth every kip! The pancakes and fruit salads are incredible. Good service and spacious room, clean beds, bathroom average.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laney0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I'm so glad we trusted our instinct and told the tuk-tuk to bring us straight to Jammee, and didn't bother checking out places in town first. Jammee was a total haven from the moment we were warmly greeted, to the delicious breakfasts prepared each morning, to the peaceful, easy-breezey atmosphere, to the laundry done so well and promptly. Jammee was indeed a home away from home and we were only sad we couldn't have stayed longer. Can't agree with my fellow reviewers more; you will not be disappointed if you stay here!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs get incredibly hot and the aircon + fan aren't strong enough to cool the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pan's Place
Pan's Place
#6 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maylay Guesthouse
Maylay Guesthouse
#9 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jammee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jammee Guest House

Property: Jammee Guest House
Address: Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jammee Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jammee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing