We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lao BBQ - Fun way to spend the night and have dinner. Try the BBQ!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant

Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 79 Restaurants in Vang Vieng
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Lao BBQ - Fun way to spend the night and have dinner. Try the BBQ!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

BBQ was fun! It was my first time and a little confusing to figure out. Wish the staff were a little more helpful explaining the process but they were friendly enough. Once we for it figured it was delicious. Very reasonably priced

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoeRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Korean Lao BBQ = different and YUM!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Something new for me, but very tasty. Great selection of meets and fresh vegetables, quick service and Som is a great character.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank out n about a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy loa basil pasta”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Good twist on the asian kitchen -lao basil spaghetti! Nice cold beers and friendly staff, bit away from the crazy party crowds too!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D51054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Like the previous reviewer, I must have visited this place on a bad night.
I decided to splash out and ordered pepper steak medium rare.
To be fair the pepper sauce was to die for and the steak tasted great. However, The steak was so tough and full of gristle that my plate at the end consisted of no fewer than 20 lumps of partially chewed bits of meat that I was not physically able to chew through and swallow.
The waiter looked very surprised when he collected my plate and obviously knew there was a big problem, but did not ask or pass any comment.
The restaurant was quite busy at the time, so I adopted the British stiff upper lip, didn't cause a scene, paid the bill (no tip) and left.
I will certainly not be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The WORST!!! Le PIRE restaurant !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

We have travelled in Asia for months and we are sad to announce we have had at peeping soms the worst food ever!

We didn't go for the BBQ but for the traditional Lao dinner set with 3 different plates. Hard to say what was the worst: the infamous lap with pork gelly, the pork soup with only the fatty part and no meat, or the vegetables... I'll send two pictures attached so you can see by yourself.

Don't eat there, pass your way!

Le pire restaurant que l'on ait fait en Asie du sud est... Nous n'avons pas choisi le bbq mais les traditionnels menus avec trois plats, tous infâmes. Du Lao avec de la gélatine de porc a la soupe de porc ne contenant que du gras c'était vraiment horrible....

N'y allez pas!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonodelbosque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Peeping Som's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing