We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommended”
Review of Pan's Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pan's Place
Ranked #6 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very recommended”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Staff is friendly, helpful
The rooms are clean and cheaper than the average
They serve very good meals as well
Situated in the quiet area of vang vieng but still very close to the bars and riverside (200m)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank didiyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    116
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
4
93
82
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 5 nights - Chris the owner went out of his way everyday to make sure we got the best deals and saw the sites. Food was brilliant and so cheap. Wifi in the guesthouse and the showers are really powerful! Would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcandrews87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for 3 nights with a friend. The owner is extremely helpful and made us feel right at home. Good location and super cheap accommodation. Rooms aren't anything special but do the trick. Would stay here again for sure and would recommend to all on a tight budget.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location only about 5mins walk too main strip of pubs and food. When being shown to our cabin we thought we were in for a shock but no, cabin was spotless and clean sheets and mosquito net, outdoor shares shower toilet which not ideal but the cabin was so cheap. But the main plus was the owner, a gentleman gave us an absolute Trojan amount of tips advice in everything in laos highly advice staying here just for his help alone.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dagoon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I took the private room for 70000 kip. We stayed there for 4 nights. For this price it's ok but no more. The room wasn't the cleanest I've seen. The shower was bellow average and there is no wifi in your rooms. The staff was really nice but the reason for the grade is that when I arrived Chris asked me how many nights do I plan to stay. I told him 4. After 2 nights I came and said that I will leave after 4 nights(just to make sure ). Then he surprised me and said that I have to leave because someone booked the room before me and come early. Eventually I stayed in my room after I asked him why and said that it's not fair

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for the review. It is true our rooms are average , but the extras are what keeps the customers coming. As we are a popular place, that is at capacity for much of the time , it is all ways a balancing act to keep everyone happy.The booking that took your room emailed to see if they could come a day early. So I asked if you would mind moving to another double room as you were 2 people in a triple room. You said that was not fair , so I let you keep the room. The way we operate this guest house is cheap and cheerful , which suits most of our guests. On reflection I would say that you probably should have checked out other options, in one of the many near empty guest houses in this town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms had everything you need for a fair price, beds are good, fans, attached bathroom. The TV room with pre-loaded movies is a nice touch although the actual room smells a bit grim. Free wifi, water and access to 2 computers is great. There's a cafe and space to sit downstairs and you can book almost anything through them. I liked the place and found the owner very helpful, his local knowledge was much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thirteene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review. I will talk to the cleaning staff about the tv room, thanks for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling Laos. The hostel is the cheapest accommodation we've had, ever, But the £4.50 a night price is represented in the cleanliness and decor of the place.
The room we had, 306, was OK. Dodgy looking bed linen and a bathroom that has a mind of its own with regards to noises and water pressure. The internet connection is quite poor, and you can only get it in reception.
To be fair to the owner, Chris, he is very helpful and eager to give advice whenever he can. Although, he did ask 4 of us who were talking at a reasonable decibel to be quiet so he could Skype, even though we were sitting in the computer/dining/reception area, which I found quite rude in all honesty.
If your a budget traveller then pans place is a great option, anything other than that you'll probably do 1 night and find something 10times better for not too much more per night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris p, Owner at Pan's Place, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Adam
Thank you for your review, and honest comment. I also like to give honest feedback, so hear is my observation of you. Yes I did ask your group to be a little quieter as the communication was really important and you were being louder than you realize. If the room and bed was as bad as you say , and other options were available to you, then why did you stay 3 days? You also failed to mention the incident out side the guest house, at 1 am when you and a dozen other guests’ woke up the whole Naborhood, and I had to literally scream at you to stop. Pan’s is packed out almost every day, even at this time of the year so I am happy if people want to stay else where, (they could do with the business).
Frankly Adam I wish you had decided to stay elsewhere.

So if you don't want basic facilities at a basic price, but with lots of extras,then please go elsewhere. As Adam said there is plenty to choose from..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.0 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 98 in Vang Vieng
590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chilllao Youth Hostel Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan's Place

Property: Pan's Place
Address: Main Street, Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pan's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing