We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champa Lao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Champa Lao
Ranked #14 of 96 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap but just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in September 2012. Very basic, but about what I would expect for the price. Even so, the bed linen did need replacing. As mentioned in other posts there is no in room safe and the room is not overly secure. Breakfast was ok, not great. The main positive was the hammock on the balcony which was a nice spot to read a book with a nice view. Overall good for the price, but next time I would pay a bit extra for somewhere else - it just depends that you are after!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ITravelWithMyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    30
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
9
32
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

I have just stayed at the Champa Lao Villa for 6 nights. Rooms are really reasonable with a double with shared bathroom at 60,000kip for two people or 50,000 for one person. There are two showers, one hot. It was quiet while I stayed here so no waiting for showers and there's a lovely chill out balcony with a view over the river. Definitely the nicer side of Vang Vieng as the views are great. Also the breakfast is great- large baguette with scrambled/fried eggs or omelette, plate of fresh fruit and tea/coffee. Rooms are basic but The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ya-what-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

The past reviews didn't mention very important things:
1. No in room safe. Your stuff is put in a big safe in another room, but not sealed or anything.
2. You can't flush toilet paper - you have to put toilet paper in the basket next to the toilet otherwise the toilet will get blocked.
3. Room keys are left in a basket on the front desk and operate by a help yourself policy - not overly secure or reassuring.
4. Doors lock with a padlock on the outside which could be easily broken if someone tried.

If we had known the above, we would have gone in a bit more prepared. The room is small and dated, ours had bright pink walls, but in the end it was a place to sleep and shower, no more. Wouldn't want to relax in your room. Also the door didn't close properly to the outside, so bugs got in, and with no mosquito net we felt we needed to wear repellant when we slept.

The woman who manages the place is very friendly and helpful. She remembers who you are. When our minivan was 30 minutes late she called up to inquire for us. She didn't get our booking but then found it and no problem arose, just a few minutes delay checking in. Breakfast is across the road, nothing special. Bread and eggs, either fried scrambled or an omelette. Tea or coffee and fresh fruit. But free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it.

The room was fairly small but the bed was comfortable with nice linen and the airconditioner was good and very quiet. The bathroom was adequate.

Nice garden setting with hammock and chairs outside the door.

Breakfast was across the road in their other propery and considering the price you pay for the room, was very good. A lovely fruit plate to start and then eggs cooked to order any style with warm baguette.

The staff were friendly and very honest. We had in fact prepaid our accommodation but I had thought I had only paid a deposit. The young man on the front desk was quick to point that out rather than accept another payment which I'm sure some places would do.

Also on the morning we left, we were sitting just down the road in our transfer vehicle when a staff member ran down the road with another guest's charger that they had left in their room. Very nice.

The location is great, far away from the noise but restaurants and shops right outside the door and only 5 minutes to the main area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooks1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

The rooms are nice and clean, no tv which isn't great for a $20 but very clean, great air on, clean towels etc. Owners were nice people, kept to themselves though. Views at the breakfast were stunning but food was average. Got nothing to complain about would happily come back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This gueshouse is very quiet, in a peaceful hidden garden. The main buidling is a wooden house of two levels. Each room has a terrace, some have hammocks. The owner is very nice and helpful. Rooms are very clean, and when you stay in the garden, the crazy city, drunk / drugged and naked tourist, seem very far from you... On the other hand, the location is good, since restaurants, bike locations, travel agencies, is a short walk distance. For the price, yes it's a bit more expensive than other places, but at least you are sure to find a quiet place, and some other guesthouses and hotels are more expensive.

Breakfast (served in another guesthouse on the other sied of the road) is simple but ok, and the view is just wonderfull.

Regarding the city, we hated VV for the people we met there... but we loved the countryside around and Champa Lao guesthouse.

Just one point, which is probably not the fault of the hotel owner : we booked a "private" transfer with another familly, to Luang Prabang in a minivan. We paid the 10 seats when we were 9 people travelling. Since the departure, and during the whole transfer (around 6 hours) we had to fight with the driver who wanted to put additional bags or people in the different villages we drove through.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAlex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

A lot of people who dont want to spend their time getting wasted and rubbing shoulders with the crowd you'd see out on a Friday night in Croydon won't want to come to Vang Vieng. Stay here. I promise you, you can go kayaking, see the caves, go tubing without drinking lao lao at every bar on the course and staying at this place will give you GREAT memories of VV. It's a cute set up just off the main road of Vang Vieng but in no way isolated. There's a choice of huts or 'villas'. I got a simple bamboo hut upstairs with just a bed which suited me fine for 50,000 kip. It is basic, do not expect more. But its clean and the shower is hot. You get a padlock for your room and there's a great communal area where you can drink as much tea and coffee as you like. There's also hammocks and breakfast overlooking the river. I dont think I would have appreciated my stay in Vang Vieng quite as much if I hadn't stayed here with the fantastic owner and the cute puppies.

Room Tip: You can still hear party music drifting across from the island but it's fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieDoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.4 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 20 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#6 of 20 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
Bountang Hotel & Guesthouse
#50 of 96 in Vang Vieng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vang Vieng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champa Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champa Lao

Property: Champa Lao
Address: By Song River, Vang Vieng, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champa Lao 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Champa Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing