We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and budget guesthouse”
Review of Champa Lao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Champa Lao
Ranked #14 of 101 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at Champa Lao Bungalow (2 place are same owner) . 3 night at single room (shared bathroom) and 1 night at bungalow. Here has beautiful river view.

At the main building,room is simple and budget. But I thought bathroom was not comfortable,because their wall were made from bamboo so I could see people in the next room. I didn't sure that now they fix them or not.

At night it had some noisy from next bar(good music but people's talking loudly)

I moved to stay at bungalow for last night. It has 2 bed and bathroom. There had a big crack between bedroom and bathroom. (about 4-5 inch) So I could see ground floor. If you have small children,this may be dangerous.

I think bungalow side is more quiet then the main land. Here has beautiful river view.
Breakfast is simple, staffs was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bismo080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stay only one night in vang vieng, with $30/night i only have the ambience of the rustic place here. but the staff did not quite understand what they need to do, because i have misunderstanding confirmation, i booked via booking.com, when i arrived there, the staff already brought my booking paper so i said yes its my booking, but the next day when i want to check out the owner said that the staff reported him that I came but I did not stay there, otherwise they will charge my credit card because they must pay the commission to Booking .com. So you have to ask the staff clearly and email the owner that you really stayed there and make sure that i already pay 240.000kip ($30)
ordinary breakfast, you can make your own coffee and tea at the lobby.
have great area in front of the room with hammock and gazebo.
just okay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cenilhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This offers the best of travelling: idyllic location, basic room, friendly staff and value for money.

It's not for the feint hearted - expect geckos etc in your room - but if you want the real travelling experience and don't mind rustic, stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent three nights in the Champa Lao Villa (not the bungalows), and enjoyed our stay in the double room with garden view. The room is spacious with fan and aircon, but we just used the fan as it was cool at night. The bathroom was large and we had warm to cold water. Its in a great, quite location, and set in really nice gardens, very shaded and cool. Breakfast was average, choice of four things. Staff were pretty unfriendly, and not welcoming, but so were most of the local people in Vang Vieng (everyone just seemed really put off by tourists except for a few lovely people). We didnt leave our key with the staff, we took it everyday with us (its not the hotels policy to leave the key, its your choice - butt that does mean you wont have your room cleaned). Overall, a good quality stay for the budget traveller and recommended to all spending a few nights in Vang Vieng.

Room Tip: Close to the reception so you get wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I'm sad to have to write this review. We actually enjoyed the rustic comfortable character of this guesthouse and it's convenient yet quiet location. However, we had $400 USD stolen out of our room while the we were gone for the day. It is the hotel's policy to have guests leave the room key at the front desk when you leave the building. We took our primary money with us, but had a reserve amount deeply hidden in a passport inside bag within another backpack.

It is our policy to double check all our critical documents and money at the beginning of every day, which is why we know it was in the room that morning. When we returned, we noticed the trash in our room was taken out, which was odd because we didn't select a room with turnover service. The next morning, sure enough, when we did our daily checks, the money was missing and the hotel staff simply repeated that it wasn't their responsibility and brushed the incident aside.

It is a terrible feeling to loose two weeks of living expenses (in this case we were on a budget honeymoon). Don't let this happen to you.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisDickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved Vang Vieng, but not so much our stay at Champa Lao. The rooms were ok, but the service was very poor. No one spoke English, which made it hard to communicate about anything. The 'office' didn't open till 8 am and closed at 8 pm. The guy looking after the guesthouse was on Facebook the whole day and after 3 nights I had to go and ask if they could please clean our (bath)room. The set-up of the place is very nice, with hammocks and plants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenSouthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a good stay in Champ Lao. The room was very clean and extremely good value for money. The fan was a bit noisy and the hotel is in a noisy part of town, but our room was towards the back and we heard no noise from inside.

The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing as the bread was stale, but that was the only problem we had with the place.

Room Tip: Choose a room towards the back for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.5 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 24 in Vang Vieng
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 24 in Vang Vieng
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 24 in Vang Vieng
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laos Haven Hotel
Laos Haven Hotel
#5 of 101 in Vang Vieng
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#4 of 101 in Vang Vieng
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champa Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champa Lao

Address: By Song River, Vang Vieng 1003, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £11 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champa Lao 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Champa Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing