We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunrise!”

Balloons Over Vang Vieng
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing sunrise!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We took the sunrise flight starting at 6:30a with an easy pickup from the hotel. What started as a foggy morning on the ground turned into beautiful views of sunrise up in the air. We even got there early enough to see them inflating the balloons.
No safety issues at all!
Overall amazing experience and a must-do!

Helpful?
Thank eeepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    40
    8
    3
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Brilliant Flight”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We took the 6.30am flight to watch the sun rise. Transfer from the hotel was straight forward and the driver was brilliant, very good sense of humour. The flight itself was great, we had no problems at all and the staff were great. The views are so good we nearly forgot about the sunrise. It is a great trip and when you compare prices to similar experiences in the UK it is great value.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge.”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Absolutely brilliant. We went up at Sunset and, even though it was a little cloudy, the views were amazing. Expensive ($80) but a real lasting memory.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Giving it an average, but it was anything but!!!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

How do I rate this:
For the crash landing in a tree part way up a mountain the trip has to be marked down, but to all the guys who rescued us, thanks very much!!
Decided to go on the sunset trip, had read the reviews about flying low etc, but we are not health and safety freaks and thought what the hell.
We were picked up at 5pm and arrived (just behind our hotel) in time to see the balloons being inflated. 2 balloons were going up a group of 5 got into the first and headed off. A few minutes later it was our turn, 2 couples and a single guy. We could see the other balloon in the distance heading toward a karst and sure enough we followed it.
I guess the other balloon had been up for around 15-20 minutes when we saw them descended rapidly to avoid going over the mountain, as far as we could tell they landed safely, but after only a very short flight.
Our flight wasn't to be so short, or so safe!
For whatever reason our pilot didn't descend in time and we ended up drifting into the side of the mountain, we ducked down inside the basket as we bounced off a couple of times, at one point the balloon caught in a tree a got a bit of a hole.
At this point the pilot was involved in some fairly frantic conversation with base, but told us everything was fine.
I guess he was told the only way was up, because that was where we went.
By this time it was pouring with rain and visibility was poor, at one point we were in the clouds with no idea where we were (or what we might be about to hit).
We ended up going up and over the mountains and when we dropped out of the clouds saw the valley below that we would have to try and land in. Each time we came down lower we hit trees and got dragged through them. I guess with a hole in the balloon it was a lot more difficult to control.
On the 3rd or 4th hit the basket got trapped in a tree and the balloon just couldn't pull us out any more. The pilot turned off the burners and the balloon started to deflate, without its lift the basket started to tilt in the tree and we all had to clamber out. 'Luckily' we had become wedged in the tree between the tree and the mountain so were able to reach the rocks without too much danger.
Obviously since this was a sunset trip it was starting to get dark, the rain hadn't stopped and we were sat waiting to be rescued about 1000 feet up a mountain. After about an hour the search party found us (not mountain rescue UK style, just a group of guys with torches) who escorted us down the mountain by torchlight, not easy when shorts and wearing sandals when every tree you touch has thorns. At this point I would like to thank the guys again, as far as I am aware very few of them were actually employed by the balloon company.
We then had a four wheel drive adventure back to Vang Vieng including crossing two rivers swollen by the rain, the guys wading in front to check how deep it got.
Anyway we arrived back safe and alive, if more than a little bedraggled.

On the up side, not only did we get a balloon trip for our money, we got to do some trekking and had a jeep safari thrown in. We also have a story that has entertained so many and will be with me forever.
Would I recommend it, well I guess that depends on your outlook in life. It can't happen that often, they would never replace the basket and burner quick enough!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I would love to do it again!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If not for the price, i'd do it all over again. There were no safety or security issues for us. Our hotel owner gave us good comments with this company. They're managed by a chinese team who are very professional. The view over VV is absolutely gorgeous.

We didnt feel unsafe or whatsoever. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balloons Over Vang Vieng also viewed

Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
Vang Vieng, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Balloons Over Vang Vieng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing