We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 100 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, the staff had missed our online booking. We then stayed one night in a Standard room, before being upgraded and spending the remaining two nights of our stay in the Deluxe room. The Standard room was ok. Bed was comfy, room a bit small, and the bathroom a little cramped. The Deluxe room however, fantastic! Well worth the extra cash if you're deciding. The views were amazing, the bed excellent, room spacious, and quiet. Also thrown in due to the missed room were a massage for the pair of us, thank you Marcus!

The hotel itself is a little away from the main area, but only a 10 minute walk away. The staff were all VERY friendly and did everything to make our stay more enjoyable. Would absolutely stay here again if travelling to Vang Vieng. Also, make sure to grab a beer and watch the sunset from the third floor balcony, stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownThongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for sharing your positive experience while staying with us and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice room and great food. But the best was the staff. They were super friendly, reliable and very helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

By the way: I recommend Vang Vieng as well; even when you dont like party stuff like tubing for example. The area around the town is very beautiful and easy to reach by a rental motorbike or bicycle.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ymbtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for your kind words and your endorsement and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The room: Our bed was very squeaky and also a little too hard. Bedlamps would have been nice.
The hotel: Has a nice balcony you can see the sunset from, they accept credit cards and can also help you with booking trips/activities (such as the $80 balloon ride). Their internet connection was terrible during our stay so we ended up going to cafe's just to be able to check our email.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Michael: I apologize for the beds made in LAO and also the poor internet signal during your stay which happen to be provided by a state own company LAO TELECOM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Regarding value for money this is a great place to stay overall. Rooms are basic but very clean and quiet. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Owner (?) speaks english as mother tongue.

Breakfast is limited but good. We only stayed one night and had dinner which was great (bbq chicken and laap chicken). If you do not want to pay more than 20 Euro this should be the right place for you in Vang Vieng.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for taking time to review our establishment and we hope to have you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I can only reiterate what all the other great reviews of is place say. The hotel is clean, has an amazing breakfast, has even better service and is fantastic value for money. It's definitely not in the "budget" range of places to stay, but I'd argue for travellers to shell out just that little bit more money to get a vastly superior stay. I'd happily stay at this place again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_daley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for your positive review & endorsement. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we sincerely look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We were staying elsewhere and were walking to town when we passed by this place. The posh look of the place got our curiosity and we headed in to check out the place. That's when we met Michael and ended up staying almost a week.

First about the place. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious with ensuite toilets. There's a rack for clothes and a table. I believe this place is considered luxury in Vang Vieng. Prices are reasonable.

Second it's about the people. Almost all the reviews here talk about the father and son team, Michael and Marcus. You have to be there to experience the hospitality! There was a day when my rental motorcycle broke down at night some 20kms off VV. A call to Michael and he immediately said he could arrange a vehicle to transport me and the bike back. Although I didn't take it up eventually, I was very impressed by his willingness to help beyond his duty. Thank you guys!!

We went during the low season and the massage and kitchen (only served breakfast) was closed at that time. The hotel is a short walk away from town and there are two minimarts opposite if you want snacks at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for sharing your positive experiences while staying with us and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Probably our best tripadvisor find to date. Service was impeccable with great English speaking. Rooms were functional rather than beautiful. The bed was extremely firm, which may put off a few. The hotel, though on the main street and short walk to bars restaurants was extremely quiet at night. Breakfast was fine. We paid four times the rate in luang prabang for somewhere no better. I gather some rooms have been renovated, ask for one.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 25 in Vang Vieng
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#4 of 25 in Vang Vieng
199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#9 of 25 in Vang Vieng
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 25 in Vang Vieng
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maylyn Guest House
Maylyn Guest House
#5 of 100 in Vang Vieng
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range: £17 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing