We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Laos Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laos Haven Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Vang Vieng B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

As a frequent traveler, it's not just the place that makes you come back but also the people that you meet. I have travelled to Vang Vieng last February. As I arrive in the reception area, Su (one of the owner) inform me that I've been upgraded from the Deluxe Room to a Superior Room.

After walking to their newly acquired hotel (it's just adjacent to Laos Haven), the superior room is just amazing. It has a great view of the village and mountain.
(You can refer to the attach pictures)

I'm looking forward to see the changes/upgrade/innovation in their newly acquired hotel. The hotel has a current feeling of oldness and a bit souless. Nevertheless, there are exciting changes to be done (",)

I think that the most awesome experience is the genuine hospitality of the owners. I've had a great time chatting with Michael and Su. From my travels, it is seldom to meet and to interact with the owners. Kudos for the family for being friendly and hospitable.

I highly recommend this place in Vang Vieng.


Regards,

Andy

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Andy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Michael: Thank you for your endorsement and it was also our pleasure to have made your acquaintance and we sincerely look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    211
    65
    21
    15
See reviews for
28
268
91
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Well, the room is good. But the very good part about this place is; the couple who runs it! Theygave tips how to go around Vang Vieng, and also best advice on how to get back to Bangkok by road? Thank's Mike & wife..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekicotngesot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely hope to be of service to you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We looked at several of the hotels in town and found this one to be the best value for money: $25.
First there was Mike (manager): extremely friendly, always smiling and very helpful with local info.
Our room was spotless and quite spacious albeit furnished a bit sparsely. An extra chair and bed side table would have been nice (but for the price we weren't complaining). A/C, TV, wifi in room.
Decent breakfast included.
Centrally located in town; off-street parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Michael: Thank you for your endorsement and will surely work towards your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I've travelled every country between Myanmar and Malaysia and Laos Haven is one of the best places I've come across. My superior room was spotlessly clean, had a huge bed with crisp white sheets, decent wifi and a new tv. Defineteley more of an "Hotel" feel of european standards than you'd get in most places - and for less than 20 Euros. Unfortunately the Spa was closed for Lao New Years, the treatments (papaya/coffee scrub) sounded amazing. Next time :) thank you so much for a lovely stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank resiresi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and I sincerely hope to be of service to you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family and I have been traveling around Thailand and decided spur of the moment to take a trip to Vang Vieng. We had no reservations, but we met a nice couple who said they were staying here. When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk staff showed us the room which was a good size, though it would have been nicer with some additional wall motifs. The entire property is very clean and the staff have been very friendly. The restaurant is very good as well. With your room you received breakfast and it's very good. Michael, the owner, was the perfect host, helping us plan day trips and navigate the area. We were only going to stay 2 nights, but extended our stay to 4 nights mostly due to the awesome service we experienced at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmania557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Michael: Thank you for your endorsement and we sincerely look forward to be of service to you and your family again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my two friends planned to stay for two nights originally, however two nights quickly turned into 6 nights! It was a mixture of us loving Vang Vieng and us loving the Lao Haven Hotel. The breakfasts every morning were delicious; the usual egg and baguette combo you'd expect but it was all lovely and fresh.
The staff were all so friendly and made us feel at home. On our last day our bus was at 3pm and they had no problem with us checking out of our room at 2pm.

Highly recommended :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we sincerely look forward to have all of you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Located less than a 5-10 minute walk south of where most restaurants/party places are, Lao Haven Hotel & Spa is fairly quiet for the most part (the house behind likes to play loud music, but you can't hear it inside the room). Even though you can find accommodation in Vang Vieng for much cheaper, Singaporean-run Lao Haven is extremely clean, spacious, with a stunning view of shadowy karsts from the 3rd floor outdoor seating area. It doesn't have an elevator though.

The bright air conditioned room has simple furniture plus a big TV, a fridge, and a safe. The bed is a bit on the hard side but still comfortable. We paid a little extra for a bigger room that includes daily breakfast of rice porridge with Chinese donuts or 2 fried/scrambled eggs, 2 hotdog sausages, fruit, juice, tea/coffee, and baguette with butter/jam. Our shower head doesn't stay in its holder sometimes, but other than that, it's been a very pleasant stay despite the fact that there are many house rules.

They also have some massage and body treatment services - I opted for a 30-minute Hom Ya (30,000 kip), a traditional herbal sauna, followed by an hour-long deep tissue massage (80,000 kip). The herbal sauna was in a small tiled room with narrow wooden benches along the walls - not the most comfortable but the menthol-smelling herbal mist wasn't too hot and cleared my sinuses. The deep tissue massage turned out to be surprisingly good - when we left after 3 days here, I came back for another 2 hour deep tissue massage.

Room Tip: 3rd floor outdoor seating area has an amazing view of karsts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redeyeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laoshaven, Owner at Laos Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Michael: Thank you for your positive review and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vang Vieng hotels
0.1 mi away
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
Vang Vieng Boutique Hotel
#2 of 23 in Vang Vieng
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieng Tara Villa
Vieng Tara Villa
#3 of 23 in Vang Vieng
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
The Elephant Crossing Hotel
#6 of 23 in Vang Vieng
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Riverside Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
Villa Nam Song Vang Vieng
#5 of 23 in Vang Vieng
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Boutique Resort
Riverside Boutique Resort
#1 of 23 in Vang Vieng
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laos Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laos Haven Hotel

Property: Laos Haven Hotel
Address: 047 Viengkeo Village, Main Road, Vang Vieng 0011, Laos
Phone Number:
Region: Laos > Vientiane Province > Vang Vieng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Vang Vieng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laos Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 story hotel with 27 well appointed rooms. Strategically located on the quiet end of the main street easily accessible to the Nam Song river and a stone throw away from the happenings in the town. The 7 Haven Restaurant on site provide Lunch & Dinner with a selection of Asian Cuisine from 11am to 2pm & 6pm to 9pm Daily. The Management & Staff are totally committed to provide a home away from home experience for all. A perfect choice for those seeking a mixed holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laos Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing